We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fremantle Prison

Fremantle Prison
1 The Terrace | Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
(0)8 9336 9200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$24*
and up
Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Fremantle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fremantle Prison is one of Western Australia’s premier tourist attractions and the only World Heritage listed building in the State.The Prison was built by convicts in the 1850s and was used as a place of incarceration for almost 140 years. With solitary cells and gallows Fremantle Prison is a monument to a system of punishment that is uncomfortably recent. Fremantle Prison now holds the key to history, mystery and fun. Step inside and do time with experienced guides on a fascinating Prison Day Tour. Explore the labyrinth of tunnels 20m beneath the Prison by foot and by boat on a Tunnels Tour adventure. Feeling brave? Delve into the darker side of the Prison’s history on an eerie Torchlight Tour.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Take a tour to get the most out of your visit. Cringe at the way we used to treat prisoners. Good history lesson of early WA too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Marketing Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hi Lyn
Great review - very informative and positive - we like it :)
Glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    400
    70
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place, but the tour was a bit lacklustre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We visited Fremantle Prison on a hot December day. The entry/tour price was quite reasonable, with the promise of learning a lot about the history of the prison.

Our tour started promptly. Our guide seemed to know a lot about the prison (never confirmed, but I think he used to be a guard). However, he was a bit doddery and slow, patronising, and generally not funny. He made the children call him 'Sir', selected the women for photographs, and was generally a bit eccentric. Too long was spent dwelling on trivial things (the toilet bucket!) instead of explaining the real bones of the history.

In all we left the prison feeling a little underwhelmed.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Marketing Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Prison.

We are sorry to hear you felt underwhelmed after finishing your tour – we certainly don’t hear that sort of feedback very often (as can be seen from all of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor) but we are glad you took the time to share your experience.

We have more than 30 Tour Guides conducting tours of the Prison and all are uniquely different. While the tour route remains standard and there are certain stories that must be told during each tour, our Tour Guides take pride in making the stories their own and bringing the history of the Prison alive in their own way. This is usually well received by customers but we are very sorry to hear you left feeling the opposite.

We sincerely hope you will return to the Prison again one day and have a much more enjoyable experience than your first time around.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Do the night tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great by day but better by night on the night tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Marketing Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your review - glad you enjoyed seeing the Prison by day and night :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDAMOOKA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very informative and interactive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

When visiting the Freo Prison you will need at least half a day to do a tour and have a good look around. One of the presenters of the tour is actually the son of the doctor that worked at the prison when it was operating until the early 1990s. You will be taken through the chapel, the yards, and most importantly the cells experiencing the loneliness of solitary confinement and of course the hangman's galley. You will be immersed in history and nostalgia.
Food and drinks are available and the entry ticket prices are reasonably priced so a great family day out.
If you are feeling really adventurous there is also a canoe tour in the caverns underneath the prison ....

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Marketing Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Love your review - ' immersed in history and nostalgia' sums it up quite well. The Tour Guide you've mentioned is the delightful Andrew. He is still taking tours of Fremantle Prison for us on an almost daily basis. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Doing time & Great escapes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

On an overcast spring day during the Freo festival we decided to visit the prison. The experience enabled us to make much more of our tour of the south-west. Our guide/gaoler showed us around with stories of its history from a convict gaol to a modern prison and gave us the experience of doing time. I then read the Voyage of the Catulpa about the escape of the irish feenian prisoners and we chose to visit the sites in the story. (I hope they make the film) When visiting many of the heritage buildings later we were amazed at how many characters ended up in Freo prison. A great way to spend some time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Marketing Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
What a great review...! Thank you so much for taking the time to write that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Prison also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremantle Prison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.