We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for history nerds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shipwreck Galleries

The Shipwreck Galleries
Cliff Street | Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
(08) 9431 8444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Fremantle
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for history nerds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

You might have a hard time keeping kids or a potential girlfriend entertained here, but I thought it was pretty good and the stories behind some of the wrecks are interesting and well displayed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    84
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Depends on your interests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I thought the museum was very well done. It displayed a mix of artifacts, large segments of the Batavia ship remains, audio/visual presentations, and more. However, I do think you need to have some interest in this field, or you might find the exhibits to be a bit on the dull side. If this is the case, I would highly recommend taking one of the free tours. Also, I think the museum does not cater to young children. They do have a kind of scavenger hunt for kids, but it does require reading reasoning skills and still fails not incorporate any hands on activities. I enjoyed it (especially since it was free), but I don't think it will suit the taste of every visitor.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to this museum a little sceptical in regards to it being of much interest to me and I was wrong!!!!
The artefacts and relics on display were simply amazing - all recovered from the numerous ships (predominantly Dutch) that were wrecked off the W.A. Coastline over several hundred years. There were cannon, coins, charts and hundreds of other items to ponder over.
The restored timbers from the Batavia is a highlight and if you don't know the story, it is recorded on display panels in the museum.
The other thing that really struck me was the recovery of all these relics from the past and it was only when talking to staff that I understood that Australia is a world leader in maritime archaeology.
This museum is a "must see" when visiting Fremantle.
Unbelievably, entry is by donation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

On the outside you'd think there wouldn't be much in the place but one inside you'll be stunned at all the things they've collected off of boats and even large ships!

Inside they have show cased some very famous ships and their stories. And there is much to see and hear. Children will enjoy this just as much as the adults!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So many displays so little time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved this place and the displays. Can easily spend a few hours here. Wish we had more time to spend here to look in detail at all the displays. Very interesting especially if you are interested in ships and history. They do a great job here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shipwreck Galleries also viewed

 

Been to The Shipwreck Galleries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shipwreck Galleries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.