We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Fremantle Harbor from here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roundhouse

The Roundhouse
Captains Lane, Arthur Head | Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
(0)8 9336 6897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Fremantle
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great views of Fremantle Harbor from here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Roundhouse is by the harbor in Fremantle, just across from the E Sheds Market. after Climbing the steps to the top, wow what views you have, you can see Rottness Island from here and the wonderful beach area and eateries. When looking back towards the town you can get a great picture of the streets. There is a museum underneath the roundhouse but we didnt go in during this visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    96
    31
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In the nick of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A sightseeing day in Freo with visitors from interstate took us to many sights. The Roundhouse was on our list but we weren't aware of the closing time. Arrived 10 mins before closing and were allowed to still come in. The staff were still willing to give us information and history.
We were rushed, but that was by our own choice so these wonderful employees could get home. Next time we'll arrive earlier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Constructed by convict labour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Roundhouse was constructed by convict labour but not used for long for housing convicts, who had nowhere to escape to! The cells are small and life there must have been ghastly!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Early days of Fremantle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Round House is quite a small site and does not take too long to look around but, having said that, it is worth including as it is a real cornerstone of the local history. Staff are helpful and friendly and will happily put volunteers into the pillory. Worryingly plenty of people seem to want to be pilloried!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Photo shoot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter arranged a photo shoot for Mother's Day and it was at the roundhouse, we managed to get some great shots with the family, I would recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundhouse also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Roundhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roundhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.