We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 21 Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy 10% off
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfort and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location is beautiful and quiet. The view from my apartment was stunning and it was nice to walk along the river in the morning.

The location was lovely, a nice quiet suburb with pretty houses and tree-lined streets, however it was a good 20 minutes walk away from the nearest train station/cafe/shops. Add to this the fact that one of the two times I ordered a taxi it didn't arrive after 20 minutes. Although the hotel can't be blamed for this it should be a consideration for those who are traveling without a car. If you do have a car, though, there was plenty of parking.

I liked the small, homely feel of this place. The staff were lovely, efficient and helpful. The room was well-appointed and the mini-bar well stocked and quite reasonably priced (for mini-bar, that is). The bed was comfortable and I slept both nights straight through. I took the key for the gym/spa with the best intentions but never actually used the facilities but from what I saw they looked good.

Ok let's get to my gripe and it's such a big one that it has cost this review one star. Wifi was extortionate. I didn't pay for it out of my own pocket traveling for business and all but I still saw the cost for the three days wifi ($45ish). Plus it's the principle, wifi/internet should be free, or at the very least cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Ashreign,

Greetings from team and a sincere thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay. As someone that travels so frequently you no doubt have some great experience to base your feedback and I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of most aspects of your stay. Additionally I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the price of the hotels internet service and agree that most guests would like to minimise these extra charges, with this is mind we have recently made the decision to include complimentary internet access with most of our rates and packages and would encourage readers to check the hotels website for a range of high value options. To assist guests that have chosen a room only rate or perhaps already have a reservation we are delighted to provide several cost effective options including a completely free service in the hotel lobby. Although on this occasion you left us with slightly mixed feelings I hope that the next time you stay we are able to ensure that you leave with only find memories and look forward to welcoming you back then.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    96
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
89
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom as we have kids.
Walking in gave us mixed feelings. Although the room is absolutely beautiful, it is EXTREMLY small and not suited at all for families. The TV in the kids room did help a little as the kids had to watch tv in another room as lounge area was too small ( the couch is literally 1.3m from the TV screen)
They have done amazing things with the small amount of room that's given.
Was very impressed with the Audio/Visual Multi System provided. Never seen that in any Hotel in Perth... Well Done for that Pier 21
Could not fault the Breakfast. Absolutely wonderful and the Chef was always so happy, friendly and ready for a chat. Made our morning :-)
Would definitely recommended Pier 21 and we would go back.... Without the Kids

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Lisa J,

Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and taking the time to share your recent experience. I was delighted to read that you thought your room was beautiful even though you found it a little small. It is difficult to know exactly which room you stayed in but could perhaps recommend one of our ground floor apartments for future stays, they are a little larger and offer direct access to either the pool or riverbank . Thank you also for your kind feedback regarding Darryl our Breakfast Chef, he was really thrilled to learn of your comments and looks forward to the next time he can welcome you back.

Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here on a 3 night stopover and wished it could have been longer. We had a one bedroom Suite which was huge. It had superb modern furniture, a 50 inch flat screen TV in the main lounge and a 40 inch flat screen in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom also acts as an en-suite. Shower is good.

We also had a balcony with some decent outside furniture.

The breakfast was great and the Chef cooked our breakfast to order, and the waitress brought it to our room for us.

The fridge is well stocked with Drinks and meals (which you pay for over and above) so should you arrive late you will not starve. All the staff are courteous and helpful, and I would not hesitate to recommend Pier 21.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear yorkshirebhoy,

Greetings from the team and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. With an impressive 24 hotel reviews to your name you no doubt have a wealth of experience to guide your feedback and I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of our staff and hotel in general. Although it appears that you live some distance away I hope that future travel will once again see you return to Fremantle and look forward to welcoming you back then.




Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Staying here for a week while working in Fremantle and love the place. Nice and close to the river (about 2 metres from my balcony). Beautifully appointed bathrooms and clean, modern and spacious living areas. The staff are friendly and helpful too. I will definitely be back for a holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Angela R,

Its not often we receive reviews from our corporate guests and I thank you for taking the time to write one. Quite often business travellers have slightly different requirements to other guests and I was delighted to read that Pier 21 and the team in general were so able to impress. No doubt the title of your review is high praise indeed and I feel honoured that you feel it warranted do describe your recent stay. As you mention in your last point I do hope that holidays will see you return to Fremantle shortly and look forward to welcoming you back then.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've stayed here 10 years ago and remember that the facilities were somewhat oldish. Returning this week to a 2 bedroom apartment, we find that the unit has been renovated and is modern, comfortable, and well equipped. Addition of a gym in the squash court was very welcome, but the indoor pool and jacuzzi looked the same. Only comment was with the one aircon in the living room, the 2 bedrooms might be warm in summer? Highly recommended, but only if you have your own transport arranged.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear U C,

Greeting from the team and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Pier 21. As you kindly point out there have been a lot of changes at the hotel since your last stay and I was delighted to read of your enthusiasm for our new product. Although the indoor pool and spa have had minor upgrades this area continues to be a priority for us and I hope that on your next visit we will be able to present fresh and modern facility for your enjoyment. Thank you again U C and I wish you safe future travels until we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice over a week, on our first one night stay the room while well appointed was a bit small but comfortable, however on our second two night visit we were given a ground floor unit which was larger had a great view and was very comfortable .
The staff were very helpful giving advice on where to dine and what to see and do.
Lots of great cafés and restaurants all within a 5-10 min drive away the only downside being there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance
Would definatley come back to stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
DearGlentc,

It’s always wonderful to receive such a positive review especially when written by an experienced traveller such as yourself. With 27 hotel reviews to your credit I believe it certainly puts you in a knowledgeable position to provide feedback and was delighted to learn that you thought highly of the team and found our rooms well-appointed and comfortable. As you also noted there are many great café’s and eateries within a short distance of the hotel and you will be pleased to learn of the fabulous new restaurant “Habitué” which recently opened just a short stroll from the property. Thankyou again for your positive feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when you next return to Fremantle.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Pier 21 for a special occasion, the staff were excellent the room the same and the views of the swan river were awesome. I think we enjoyed our stay here more than any other hotel we have ever stayed in. Can highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Mark H,

Thank you so much for your 5 circle review, its always a pleasure to share such positive feedback with my team and thank you sincerely for your valuable endorsement.

As a local Perth resident I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and shall remain at your service until then.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#5 of 60 in Perth
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#6 of 7 in Fremantle
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Address: 7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivalled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Morrissey amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle and was recently awarded “Best Deluxe Accommodation” at the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.