We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 21 Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our baby and were very impressed with the attention to detail of the staff. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and had a large balcony with water views.
We had breakfast each morning and it was fantastic, the chef cooks your meal fresh and he was also very friendly and was up for a chat each morning.
If we returned to Fremantle we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Barnzie84,

I think the title of your review is one of the best compliments we could receive and was delighted to read that several of our team were so able to impress. It was also pleasing to read that you found your room to be ‘lovely’ and had time to enjoy the amazing water views. Being so close to the city guests are quite often surprised by just how picturesque it is.

Thank you again for sharing your valuable thoughts and I hope that your fond memories will remain until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    69
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
68
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

From the moment I contacted Courtneyby email to ask some questions until we were checked out by Courtney we had excellent service.
We had a fabulous room that opened out onto the bank of the Swan river.Room was beautifully appointed, well equipped kitchen,including Nespresso Coffee machine, meals and ice cream in the freezer if you didn't want to go out,amazing shower room (one tiny, tiny niggle, no shelf for toiletries) and very comfortable bedroom.
We had a package that included free wi fi and breakfast.
Breakfast was cooked to order and of a very high standard.
Probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear sentosa54,

Greeting from the Pier 21 team and thank you for your fabulous review, it was certainly rewarding to share your feedback with the team and Courtney in particular. As a small boutique hotel we endeavour to deliver a premium level of service at every contact and I was delighted to read that this was a highlight of your review . Thank also for your feedback in relation to bathroom storage it will be put to good use when planning future upgrades. Thank you again and I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Western Australia and decided to stay a couple of nights in Fremantle. We were travelling with another couple being my brother and his wife so assumed that a two bedroom apartment would be suitable. The check in and staff were efficient and friendly, the accomodation modern with good facilities, however we were very surprised at the small apartment with only one bathroom, this being a two way bathroom. We estimate the apartment size to be less than 40sqm. Perfect spot for people who have been to Fremantle before, but for first timers I would suggest staying closer to the marina (ie South Fremantle) because all of the restaurants, bars and shops are in close proximity. On a final note though, for those who are staying in Fremantle for a longer stay, the view over the Swan River is lovely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Goldie05,

Thank you for you review, it’s always wonderful to hear from our friends on the East Coast especially from my home state of Queensland. Although it appears that you had slightly mixed feelings about your stay I was delighted to read that you found the team friendly and efficient and enjoyed the lovely view. As you rightly point out our two bedroom apartments share a bathroom and offer approximately 55 sqm of living space although this varies slightly depending on the apartments location and would recommend readers check our website for detailed inclusions and floors plans. Thank you again for your sharing your valuable thoughts and I trust that future travel plans will once again see you return to our beautiful port city.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

There's nothing wrong about the room or location (very near to Fremantle centre), except for around AUD300 we paid, it was slightly steep for a room there. The room itself was spacious, but lack internet connectivity (charges extra), and extremely basic TV Channels. You might argue we shouldn't be watching TV anyway, but sometimes after a long day of chasing the bub around, it's nice to relax a little. Also, the wireless internet is pretty much useless in terms of coverage, and we need to connect to the wire. This itself is a big minus as both my wife and I run businesses that requires us to be online even on vacations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Gilagolf,

Greetings from the team and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the wider Trip Advisor community. I was delighted to read that you found your room spacious and well located.

I also noted your concerns regarding the Wi-Fi service and although the hotel enjoys coverage across most areas of the property you will be delighted to know that we are currently upgrading the network further with the view to maximising signal strength in every corner of the property. Readers may also be interested to know that the service is offered as a complimentary inclusion on many of our rates and packages and would recommend checking the hotels website for the latest deals and best rates guaranteed.

Thank you again for providing your constructive feedback, it was certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a 2 bedroom apartment with river views which was great. Stayed with another couple and found it had plenty of room for all of us. Toiletries were also very nice.
The main problem we had was with credit card charges. 1 night was already paid for prior to our arrival. For the 2nd night we were charged $410 - 1st nights rate + $100 extra for to cover any mini bar use which they said would be credited back if we didnt use. On the Monday following the credit card was charged again for the 2nd nights charge in full and still the original $410 has not been credited. They have said it could take a week to return. Found this to be very unprofessional .

Room Tip: A river view room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica J, Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Liz B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our riverside location allows for most of our apartments to have water views so it was nice to read you and your guests were able to enjoy the beautiful Swan River.

I was surprised to read that your pre-authorization on departure was not finalized correctly and I apologize for this oversight. Although it was disappointing to read, we have been able to use this as an opportunity to refocus the reception team on the procedure and ensure that all accounts are managed professionally and accurately.

Thanks again Liz B and I trust we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your guests back to Pier 21 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Jackson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay here for our anniversary, with specific booking of a river view suite. Room 22 was perfect - spacious, airy, comfortable and well-equipped for self-catering (if desired) and relaxing. High quality is apparent in all fittings and in complementary toiletries, robes & scuffs, as well as the 2 television sets (a large-screen in the lounge room & slightly smaller in the bedroom), large refrigerator, iPod dock and coffee maker. I noted the little extras such as gourmet frozen meals & ice cream in the freezer, and a varied mini-bar selection.

Whilst the bathroom looks very classy and has a lovely shower, the design fails with the open plan, as it's impossible not to flood the floor and water doesn't flow toward the drain but spreads in a puddle across to the toilet. We used pool towels (which we'd fortunately taken up with us) to sop it up. There is also only 1 towel rail and virtually nowhere to stand toiletries for use.

The other lack which we mentioned in our feedback to them is shelving or drawers in the ample walk-in robe, so for a longer stay everything would need to go into the plentiful but somewhat superfluous living room drawers. A small annoyance which could be easily fixed.

This is a beautiful, comfy place to relax, with pleasant, helpful staff and good facilities. Breakfast is comparable to many much larger establishments we've enjoyed. Highly recommended for a "staycation" or for anyone visiting our fair city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica J, Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Kerryinoz,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. Our team is very much appreciative of your comments and it's nice to know that we played a small part in ensuring your anniversary was a memorable one.

It sounds as though your husband made a good choice in booking you into our luxurious Riverside suite. We appreciate your feedback and have taken your comments to the management team for review. We take pride in the these apartments and continue to look for areas of improvement to ensure the highest level of quality in both amenities and conveniences.

It would be great to welcome you back on your next anniversary and I would be more than happy to assist with any booking request you may have (fom@pier21.com.au).

Thank you again for choosing Pier 21 for your accommodation requirements, we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Jackson
Rooms Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had booked very short term 6 nights with river view. When we arrived we had received a room without river view no 27. The person at the reception promissed to look for the following day for a river view room which then also was the case. They moved our luggage from room 27 to room 23.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious. We had booked the breakfast incl cooked food.
My parnter said that this was one of the best omelettes he had ever eaten.
A very nice Apartment with a romantic view of the Swan River. As there was no climatisation in the sleeping room we opened the window during the night. The only negative thing was that in this case you hear the motors of the boats and the noise of people walking or running in front of the Apartment.
Around the Apartment, there is a small Palm Garden with a little beach. The Swimming pool outside is small as well the the Swimming pool inside. The Fitness Center is quite nice.
There is a laundry where you can wash. 3 ADollars for one machine and 2 ADollars for drying.
To buy food there are various supermarkets about 5-10 minutes by car. Also to reach the restaurants, beaches etc you should ideally have a car.
The staff were very nice and helpful. The whole atmosphaere was easy and relaxing.
We strongly can recommend the Pier 21.

Room Tip: Book a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica J, Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Power20,

It's wonderful to hear from you all the way from Switzerland! I extend a sincere thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pier 21. It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable time and was great to read our receptionist was able to arrange you a river view apartment.

Thank you also for your feedback on the breakfast lounge. Our chef takes pride in his creations and it's always nice to read his efforts do not go unnoticed.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and I trust if you travel back to Fremantle you will again consider Pier 21 as your accommodation choice.

Kind Regards,
Jessica Jackson

Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Address: 7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivalled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Morrissey amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle and was recently awarded “Best Deluxe Accommodation” at the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.