We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute reception buiding with luxurious apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 21 Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A cute reception buiding with luxurious apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After our trip to Margaret River, we stayed at Pier 21 . With three young kids.

Check in was easy, no hassle, and very friendly reception, she has a big friendly smile.

We booked a two room apartment, i was given a key for the entry of a private pool and gym. My kids enjoyed a swim in the indoor private pool.

The apartment has two bed room, one toilet with bath tub. one full equipped kitchen. It is very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay there. Love the complimentary little black swan toy (confirmed with the reception that it is complimentary) on my queen size bed, so we took it home.

The living room open up to a marina with very nice view , we took a walk at the little beach, the sea water is crystal clear. Very clean and relaxing.

Overall it is a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Travelaholic,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel on your recent visit to Western Australia. I can see from your profile you have travelled extensively and stayed in some of the worlds most beautiful hotels and resorts including St.Regis and Intercontinental so it was with great pleasure to read such lovely feedback regarding Pier 21 and the team.

Its great to read you enjoyed the Black Swan that we place in every room as a complimentary gift for all of our guests, it is a little momento of your stay and something uniquely Western Australian. We are shortly going to launch a photo competition for the most unique place a Pier 21 Swan has travelled and will be having some great prizes for winning entries, no doubt with your love of travel you will be able to find some exciting locations and I would encourage you to enter. Please check our Facebook page in the near future for details.

Thank you again and I trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    69
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
68
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Pier 21 after some time down at Margaret River. Good base to explore Freo, although you will need a car as Pier 21 s in North Fremantle. Pier 21 was excellent. Our room had a large living area and separate bedroom, all with great views over the river. Ground floor rooms have less / no views, but good for kids as they can go straight out onto the lawns to play. Breakfast was great, staff were helpful. Recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sydney2031,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Pier 21 with the Trip Advisor community. It looks like you had a great trip visiting some of the iconic regions of Western Australia and it's great to know that you found Pier 21 to be " excellent" whilst also being a "good" place to explore Fremantle. As you mention the views of the Marina and Swan River from the rooms are great and I wanted to let you know that some of the ground floor apartments have the best views in the resort, you can almost touch the boats from the terrace, whilst others open onto lawns adjacent the water.

I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A compact but comfortable two bed room family apartment, with a good size balcony with great views of the marina looking out to the Swan River. The rooms are clean and serviced daily, ideal location for young children. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are sightseeing you will need a car to get around as the city center is a good 45 minute walk from the apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear JennyH116,

Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel. It's wonderful to read that your family enjoyed their stay and found the location ideal. Being a short distance from the centre of Fremantle its certainly convienient to have the use of a car for sight seeing, I can also recommend one of the many tours and train service that runs between Perth and Fremantle which is just a short walk from reception.

Thank you again for your lovely review and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Saying here for a few weeks on Business at the moment. Can't say anything bad about the place. The rooms are modern, views excellent. The staff are 'relaxed' as is WA but they are OK.

They upgraded me to a 2 bed unit the first week and have offered an upgrade next week also. Kudos for that, I never understand why more hotels don't do that.....It make you feel wanted as a guest!

Keep up the good work and I look forwad to seeing you again Monday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Johnnycjay,

Thank you for your lovely review of Pier 21, its always one of the highlights of the day sharing feedback with the team especially when its from one of our valued returned guests. As a regular traveller you maybe interested to know that we will be launching our 'Corporate Advantage' program early next year which will entitle the member to receive a range of benefits including special rates and complimentary inclusions, I would be delighted to send you further information on the program if you were interested.

Thank you again and on behalf of myself and the team I wish you a wonderful Christmas and look forward to welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the new year.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Pier 21 in October for a Sunday night as we live down south and had an early morning appointment in Subiaco on the Monday - way less stressful to stay somewhere rather than fight the freeway traffic for 3.5 hrs! Originally we were thinking about staying in the CBD of Perth but decided against it due to some recent disappointments (and the added pain of parking costs) so I looked through Wotif for something nice around Freo. I now always check the venue's website to compare prices and after doing so decided to book direct with Pier 21 (North Fremantle) - same deals but better cancellation policy if required. Pier 21 has been there for as long as I can remember but it seems has had an extensive makeover earlier this year - money well spent I say! We stayed in a Poolside Suite and wow, what an awesome room - absolutely loved it, the only problem was we couldn't stay longer to enjoy it more (this time) - but we will be back, most definitely!
We've found our new 'regular' place to stay when going to the city for business or pleasure.
Do give it a go - can thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear TKB_66,

Its always a pleasure to receive such a great review especially from a senior reviewer such as yourself. As you pointed out in your review Pier 21 recently underwent a complete refurbishment with the Suites receiving special attention so I was delighted to read that you "Ábsolutley loved it", the Poolside Suite is certainly one of my favourites too.

It's also great to read that you made use of the hotels website to book your stay with us, we always have the best rates and booking conditons on our website so you can be confident of always receiving the best deal. From early next year we will be launching our new website and look forward to bringing our guests an exciting new user experience thats easier to use whilst also being more visually exciting and informative.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the near future and from myself and the team I would like to wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and properous New Year.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment on the ground floor which literally opens up to the waterfront!
Location of the hotel was excellent too. Not that you could walk to fremantle (your probably could, maybe 45mins??) but it was a short drive away.

Room was very well equipped and clean with individual air conditioning unit.
Space planning of the studio was also very well thought out.
Kitchenette was modern and inviting to use.
Which actually made us decide against having the hotel's breakfast and we cooked instead!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Gimsin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pier 21. It was great to read that you enjoyed the wonderful views from your studio apartment. As you mention the centre of Fremantle is a short drive away and for those without a car there is a train service a short walk from the hotel that services both Fremantle and Perth. Thank you again Gimsin and I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and prosperous New Year.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in late August this year and the class of accomodation and service was very good( and we are hard to thrill!). Staff were very obliging and the location and general environment, looking out over a marina on the Swan River, was great. Breakfast, with the chef basically cooking up ( almost in front of you ) almost anything you wanted, was a real treat.
Want a nice break? Give this place a try.

Room Tip: Use the "wedding anniversary" quote for a likely upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Geoff,

It was a great pleasure reading your review and I thank you for taking the time to let the Trip Advisor community know about your experience at Pier 21. As a seasoned traveller no doubt you have stayed at many excellent establishments so to be rated so highly is a great honour. I have shared your review with the team in particular our breakfast Chef Deo who was delighted that you enjoyed his breakfast and asked that I pass on his thanks to you.

Thank you again for your review and I and trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the near future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Address: 7-9 John Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivalled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Morrissey amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle and was recently awarded “Best Deluxe Accommodation” at the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.