We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fothergills of Fremantle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fremantle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fothergills of Fremantle
Save
You added Fothergills of Fremantle to your Saves list
18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose Fothergills of Fremantle due to the close proximity to the Fremantle Prison. We had an evening corporate function at the Old Prison and it was just a short stroll back to our accommodation. We reserved the Holdsworth Room.... however we had a problem with our TV reception in the room. Without any fuss, we were upgraded to a gorgeous room called the English Suite. Breakfast was another highlight of our stay. Without going into any detail, it was very generous and yummy! The attraction for us to stay in a B&B is the affordabiliy, but it is also an opportunity to meet and converse with other guests. Fothergills has on display, everywhere, an amazing collection of fine art work and sculptures. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
72
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I came down to Fremantle from Perth for the weekend for a break. What a beautiful setting and a lovely house. Our rooms were wonderful and had every little extra you could think of. I felt right at home in the Endeavour room with ensuite and my friend had the English Room which she thoroughly enjoyed too. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was great and our choices were remembered each morning. The owner was a lovely man giving us lots of suggestions for doing things in and around Fremantle. The history of the houses is a very interesting read. Instead of eating out, we chose to get some nibbles and wine on our last evening and sit outside on the balcony which overlooks the back garden. What a great idea. The weather was lovely and the back garden was lit up showing us the beautiful trees and statues etc. that have been collected over the years. We lit the candles that were provided and the owner gave us some sparkling water and mossie spray. There was lovely music playing from the house next door (which belongs to the the same person) and this made for a very enjoyable last evening. Suzy the Manager runs the B&B like clockwork and is a great character. Can't wait to organise another break so we can go back. Really felt like we were on holiday. We were able to explore Fremantle in a way that you can't if just coming down for the day. What a great place Fremantle is and thanks to Fothergills.

Room Tip: The Endeavour room has a lovely balcony at the back and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Rooms are available to suit all tastes except for those craving modern boutique accommodation. Fothergills retains a vintage charm and feels less like a B&B than a town house. The Artwork was interesting. In the Samson room we felt that we had the run of the place what with the outside balcony and our own adjacent library. The ensuite was quite small but apparently bigger than in some of the other rooms - a point to bear in mind, perhaps. Breakfast was convivial with a fair selection. But why the margarine and no butter?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent only one night here but would have liked to stay a bit longer. We were in Samson room, which is upstairs on the balcony at the front with views over Fremantle and out to sea. Arrived just in time for sunset.
The room had a real period feel, but was very comfortable.
The breakfast spread was really impressive. The manager and owner were very friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk downhill into the centre. I would highly recommend Fothergills to friends as a place to stay in Fremantle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

MY husband and I spent one night prior to a Feb. cruise. Thoroughly enjoyed this unique Band B. Both the 2nd storey front covered porch and the wonderful outdoor patio with its huge super-comfortable sofa made this a perfect place to relax. It is within walking distance of downtown Fremantle, even for this couple in their 70s. Suzy, the manager, made us feel very welcome. The only drawback is the fact luggage must be lifted upstairs.
I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property would avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in the English room. I will definitely return. The service was fantastic, the room was great, and the breakfast was tasty. I look forward to my next trip to Fremantle so I can stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were recommended this place by a close friend so our expectations were naturally high. From the moment we made our booking over the phone to when we left, we found ourselves trying to 'make it ok' with the manager. We own and operate accommodation ourselves, and we both felt like we were dealing with a difficult guest who we needed to especially look after and make sure she wasn't upset - except WE were the guests, and it was the manager we were trying to look after.

It wasn't so much what was said and done, but how it was said and done. In short, we were not welcome.

The place looks great, very interesting but not quite up to par. We didn't meet the owner, although he was having a private function downstairs on one of the nights of our stay.

This place gets great reviews, so something is obviously going on with the person we met and the way it was being run. It would be hard to return, because there was really nothing to be excited about, the mood was really down in the place.

We ended up booking with Wotif for convenience, then were told to pay up another 10 each for breakfast and that we needed to read the small print on Wotif.

Room Tip: We chose the English Room, which was nice and overlooked the road, a little busy. We had the whole t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fothergills of Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills of Fremantle

Address: 18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning heritage 19C houses with spacious rooms all comfortably furnished and decorated with paintings and sculpture. Feast on our generous cooked and continental breakfast at modest cost. Watch the sunset over the ocean from our verandas. Enjoy the outdoor art in our peaceful flower-filled courtyards. A short walk from the centre of town, trains, ferries and attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fothergills of Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.