We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fothergills of Fremantle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fremantle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fothergills of Fremantle
Save
You added Fothergills of Fremantle to your Saves list
18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking & free Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Interesting accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Rooms are available to suit all tastes except for those craving modern boutique accommodation. Fothergills retains a vintage charm and feels less like a B&B than a town house. The Artwork was interesting. In the Samson room we felt that we had the run of the place what with the outside balcony and our own adjacent library. The ensuite was quite small but apparently bigger than in some of the other rooms - a point to bear in mind, perhaps. Breakfast was convivial with a fair selection. But why the margarine and no butter?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
68
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent only one night here but would have liked to stay a bit longer. We were in Samson room, which is upstairs on the balcony at the front with views over Fremantle and out to sea. Arrived just in time for sunset.
The room had a real period feel, but was very comfortable.
The breakfast spread was really impressive. The manager and owner were very friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk downhill into the centre. I would highly recommend Fothergills to friends as a place to stay in Fremantle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

MY husband and I spent one night prior to a Feb. cruise. Thoroughly enjoyed this unique Band B. Both the 2nd storey front covered porch and the wonderful outdoor patio with its huge super-comfortable sofa made this a perfect place to relax. It is within walking distance of downtown Fremantle, even for this couple in their 70s. Suzy, the manager, made us feel very welcome. The only drawback is the fact luggage must be lifted upstairs.
I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property would avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in the English room. I will definitely return. The service was fantastic, the room was great, and the breakfast was tasty. I look forward to my next trip to Fremantle so I can stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were recommended this place by a close friend so our expectations were naturally high. From the moment we made our booking over the phone to when we left, we found ourselves trying to 'make it ok' with the manager. We own and operate accommodation ourselves, and we both felt like we were dealing with a difficult guest who we needed to especially look after and make sure she wasn't upset - except WE were the guests, and it was the manager we were trying to look after.

It wasn't so much what was said and done, but how it was said and done. In short, we were not welcome.

The place looks great, very interesting but not quite up to par. We didn't meet the owner, although he was having a private function downstairs on one of the nights of our stay.

This place gets great reviews, so something is obviously going on with the person we met and the way it was being run. It would be hard to return, because there was really nothing to be excited about, the mood was really down in the place.

We ended up booking with Wotif for convenience, then were told to pay up another 10 each for breakfast and that we needed to read the small print on Wotif.

Room Tip: We chose the English Room, which was nice and overlooked the road, a little busy. We had the whole t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

To base your decision on the last review is to potentially miss out on experiencing the hospitality, creativity and diversity that a stay in Fremantle offers. We are from the Peel region in W.A. and have stayed at Fothergill's 3 times now and each visit has been enjoyable and memorable. During our recent visit we stayed in the Endeavour Room and found it to be of a very comfortable, clean and cool given the very hot weather Perth at the moment, and had none of the issues the previous reviewer has reported. If you appreciate heritage and art and good conversation with interesting people over a delicious breakfast then a stay at Fothergills's would be the perfect start to a visit to Fremantle. Thanks David and Suzy for another memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We planned a night in Fremantle and wanted a more intimate individualistic experience. Fothergills seemed the perfect choice. First impressions were not good. We were told to check in at 2pm which we did only to be left waiting outside in the sweltering heat as the reception door was locked and a note told us to ring a number for assistance. We did this and when a door opened next door the manageress shouted What name are you under ? Slammed the door and reappeared to let us into the rception. She then showed us around and to our room which we chose because it is advertised as having a private balcony to enjoy or perhaps entertain on- If you like dead leaves piled up on the 3 chairs or to entertain in the dark because the light hadn't been checked to see if it worked. When I discovered the light didnt work I was told to go and sit downstairs instead or get some candles- sadly nothing to light them with !!!
Our room was nice and had some lovely pictures relating to the endeavour but also numerous pointless and dusty trinkets poor lighting also meant the room looked rather dull which is a shame beacause the furniture was lovely. The luxury egyptian cotton sheets were exactly that- perhsome years ago- but now the sheets had holes in them. We were not told where to get additional pillows or blankets and as there are no staff in the place after 1pm we felt rather abandoned trying to track down candles in the middle of the night.
Breakfast was a delight however and David , the owner very charming and knowledgeable. The gardens are interesting but sadly again lack of attention to detail and heaps of dead plants in pots spoiled what could quite easily look a much more cared for space. In short we felt rather let down which is all the more frustrating because a little keener attention by the staff could make an enormous amount of difference. Will visit Port Mill B & B next time. They have a bit more of an eye to the smaller things that make a heap of difference toi the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FothergillsFremantle, Owner at Fothergills of Fremantle, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for writing about Fothergills and, naturally, it is disappointing to have such a negative review but there is always something to learn.
We have three adjacent houses and it is natural that the manager should enquire of your name to know in which house your had booked.
The Endeavour Room has a balcony with table and chairs and overlooks the garden. There is a glorious 80ft Carob tree shading the space and it is year round deciduous. We brush the leaves from the chairs and balcony each day but by the evening more have fallen. In response to your concerns we have made two improvements... Firstly provided a small brush so that guests can clear these few leaves from the seats and secondly placed on the balcony a small weather proof container with candles and matches.
I searched assiduously and found four pots with dead plants among the 150 or so in our gardens. We look after some 2000 sq metres (and thus a little unfair to compare us to the beautiful Port Mill heritage property which only has about 20 sq metres of courtyard and no trees at all!) One part of our gardens is given over to variegated foliage; another to scented plants. The garden outside the Endeavour Room is lit at night to allow enjoyment of a dozen bronze sculptures and other art works which complements the major art collection indoors. These features are unique to Fothergills and I believe run counter to the claim of inattention to detail.
I am pleased you appreciated the room and the furniture therein which is a suite which includes hand made copies of Captain Cook's desk and Joseph Banks' collecting cabinet made for the Endeavour replica when it was built in Fremantle in the 1990s. There is also a large brass bound mahogany blanket box at the foot of the bed in which extra blankets and pillows are kept
I am perplexed about your criticism of "numerous pointless trinkets" as there are absolutely none in the room. In our quest for attention to detail we have provided a digital flat screen TV, a Bose hi-fi system with a small supply of CDs, a carefully selected library of books on Fremantle and Australia, tea and coffee equipment. and lastly a clock/radio. I am at a loss to know which is pointless and should be removed.
We provide a fridge stocked on arrival with complimentary soft drinks, mineral water, snacks and a plate of complimentary fruit. Guests staying more than a few days are also given a complimentary bottle of wine. I know of no other B&B or hotel in Fremantle that gives all this free and I believe that this shows we do have an eye to the smaller things.
Thank you for writing - we will continue to strive to improve and even negative reviews can challenge us to find new solutions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fothergills of Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills of Fremantle

Address: 18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning heritage 19C houses with spacious rooms all comfortably furnished and decorated with paintings and sculpture. Feast on our generous cooked and continental breakfast at modest cost. Watch the sunset over the ocean from our verandas. Enjoy the outdoor art in our peaceful flower-filled courtyards. A short walk from the centre of town, trains, ferries and attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fothergills of Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.