We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fothergills- beyond expectation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fothergills of Fremantle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fothergills of Fremantle to your Saves list
Fothergills of Fremantle
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fothergills- beyond expectation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

More than a B&B. Fothergills is like staying in a friend's home. The rooms and buildings are superbly decorated so that you feel both comfortable and aesthetically pleased!
The uniqueness of Fothergills is beyond description. My wife and I have traveled Asia and the US extensively and we know there will never be another stay quite to the level of Fothergills. We will be back!
D&M

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Clothes washing time limited
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    32
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
73
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Fothergills for one night in December 2007 as we were travelling to Rottnest Island the next day.
What a great find this place was – it was immaculately clean and Suzy was so welcoming. We stayed in the English room which was beautiful with a large four-poster bed. While not en-suite, we did have a private bathroom complete with both bath and shower.
We had a beautiful terrace on the first floor overlooking the town where we were able to sit and sip our wine while watching the sunset.
Breakfast next day was just as pleasing – an amazing array of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries and full cooked breakfast. The atmosphere was lovely and as we all sat at one large table it meant you were able to meet lots off different people – in our case visitors ranged from 40 minutes up the road to Americans.
I would whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone – it does seem on paper a little pricier than others but is so far superior it is worth every penny. We had a total contrast the next night with our stay in the Quokka Arms on Rottnest (which incidentally was 20% more expensive that Fothergills) – but that’s another story!!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Set back a bit from the coast, this well-run B&B is something quite special and, if you stay in the Endeavour Room, pretty luxurious too. Much nicer than staying in some anonymous hotel and they serve very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

This is a terrific place to stay - lovely colonial style property and architecture. All the furnishings were tip top quality including a Bose stereo in the room.
Exceedingly clean and tidy, lovely comfy bed, good shower etc. We were in the Endeavour room which includes a lovely little balcony out the back. At the front of the building is a communal veranda where you can sit and watch the lovely sunset in comfort.
Breakfast was excellent, and they were very accomodating of our extra requests.
If I really had to put a downside to it, I would say it would be better if it were a little closer to the town. But its only a 15 minute walk to the centre, so I'm being extremely fussy here.
The other rooms didn't look quite to the standard of the Endeavour room (the room I sneaked a peek at had the shower in a cubicle in the same room), although they are cheaper. If you have a choice, go for the Endeavour room though.

  • Liked — Architecture
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything !
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick the Endeavour room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
1.4 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.0 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hamptons Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Port Mill B&B
Port Mill B&B
#8 of 23 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#6 of 23 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fothergills of Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills of Fremantle

Address: 18 - 22 Ord St., Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fothergills of Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning heritage 19C houses with spacious rooms all comfortably furnished and decorated with paintings and sculpture. Feast on our generous cooked and continental breakfast at modest cost. Watch the sunset over the ocean from our verandas. Enjoy the outdoor art in our peaceful flower-filled courtyards. A short walk from the centre of town, trains, ferries and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Fothergills of Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fothergills of Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.