We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle to your Saves list
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
18 Phillimore Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can do better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good points:
-Tons and tons of facilities like free WIFI, computer access, kitchen is huge, free pool table, ping pong, cinema, DVDs, etc, etc. I probably haven't even scratched the surface here, this place has it all!
-Bacpacker/party atmosphere. --If that's what you look for in a hostel-- then this is probably one of the best hostels you'll find!
-There is loads of space everywhere, including the rooms.
-Fremantle! A lovely little spot with plenty to do, some great cafes/bars and a relaxed indie/artsy vibe.

Bad points:
-No BYOB. you can only drink beer bought at reception. I just find that annoying for a hostel.
-Run down and dirty - Sure, it needs a paintjob here and there, what hostel doesnt, but if the place was actually cleaned properly it would be a start.
-Noisy. It's party central. (Solution is to go to bed drunk at 4am but that get's old fast)
-No aircon. Not a real problem since the rooms are surprisingly airy and cool at night with the windows open, but this lets in the noise!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
8
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I hate to write negative reviews but i think feedback's important for improvement, which this hostel needs badly,This place could really be something awesome if it was given some TLC, I expected the history of the place to be the main event but was disappointed to see it well lost.

My fiance and I arrived late at night and checked out after 1 night. Booking a private room, i thought we would at least get a quieter, cleaner (than a dorm) room. We booked a double and were given a double bunk, with one double bed blanket to share, it smelt like an ashtray, there was mud from workers boots traipsed through the hallway to the room, it was damp and freezing and our view was of pipes, and old mops into the common area, noisy workers occupy these areas with nobody telling them to keep it down well after midnight. The night manager was actually really nice but he was involved in the noise which defeats the purpose of his position.

The "carpark" is located on a rat race around the building and you pretty much squeeze your car in wherever it will fit, not secure.

Upon checking out 4 days early, the male receptionist (half asleep) asked me to wait (annoyed) while he got himself together, after checking out, (to his credit) he asked why we were leaving early - i pretty much said the place was revolting but I was so mad I thought i'd leave it at that.

A backpackers hostel should be for true travellers, not people looking for cheap accommodation while they live out their working visas - it make's the guests feel uncomfortable when people act like they own the joint - but I understand that this is just how Perth is.

I understand people will think i'm a prude, but i have done my fairshare of backpacking and i have managed hostels - This is not a good one, trust me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldfirestation, Manager at Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear FoxyCairns,
i am really sorry you didn't enjoy our beloved hostel.
My apologies if you were here during one of our noisy night. We always try to tell guest at the moment of booking that we host some parties sometimes and the place can get a bit noisy. I am really sorry if this message wasn't passed to you.
You are also right on the fact this a really long term stayers hostel (even though we have many short term stayers). This is a management "choice". We love to create a sort of Home away from Home experience to keep our guest as long as we can and having a sort of family vibe.
About the cleanliness of the hostel i am a bit surprised, our cleaners do a very good job and we have rarely complaint about this matter.
I really wish you well and awesome trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

- Friendly and helpful management
- reliable and careful cleaners
- job offers as the day progresses
- Ping pong, pool table, table soccer, free wifi, tv, game consoles, cinema ...
- clean and tidy showers and cooking facilities on all floors
- free jukebox ( rich in music ) and big table in the backyard - get to know lots of new friends, get help to find a job, and have a lot of fun
- cheap and good drinks offered at reception
- moderate prices for accommodation
- parking bays for cars available
- periodic dorm cleanings
- laundry in good conditions

Whenever you have the chance to check-in, do it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this backpacker hostel. Everything was well organised and the managment and staff were everytime very friendly.
But the best thing is the huge table in the backyard of this hostel where you get to know very good people from every country in the world. This is although a good point to get some helpful connections to get a job.
The facileties are always clean and in good conditions.

It was a plasure to checked in there and I would recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Its in a great location, right by the centre of Fremantle town, close to the train station to get to/from Perth, close to supermarket & the general market in weekends.
It has large relaxation/hang out areas. They have kept things to make it hip (like the fireman pole). They have a girl only area, which was where I stayed. Very quiet without the guys stomping by.
Bad factors: its incredibly dirty, dusty, not vac'd. There is paint peeling of walls, walls which have multiple paint colors on them, lack of shelves in the rooms, mold in the bathrooms and general untidiness on the inside of the property. If the owners spent a couple of weeks just going through every room & giving it a coat of paint, adding a few shelves or lockers & cleaning the bathrooms to eliminate mold, this would be an amazing place to stay. So much potential, they just have to put in the work to reap the rewards!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merbein, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is insane. They cater for everything, even done my taxback here. Love the staff and the wifi is freaking fast. Football practice, love it. Best days of the week. Thursday and Sunday. Monthly Ping Pong Tournaments, don't even want to mention the pizza nights on tuesday and curry nights on monday. Great Place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels in the 2 years travelling in Oz, I enjoyed this hostel the least.

There is a few good points, The hostel itself is very large with very spacious common areas with TV.. Free WIFI is available and it is fast.

But it is filthy!! it has taken 'quirky and hippy' to the extreme and its just scabby and dirty and disgusting!!!

Most people staying there are long term residents, so i found there was no space in the dorm to even leave my suitcase anywhere near my bed! and guest not very welcoming to new guests.

Dorms very dark and smelly, very unclean, i think they get "cleaned" once a week. it didn't look like they had been cleaned for a very long time.

Loud music and people walking in and out of the rooms talking very loud throughout the night. So got hardly any sleep.
Very strong smell of weed everywhere.....including the bedrooms!!!

Bathrooms really needing updating or just cleaning would be good! couldn't bring myself to even shower in them!!!!

Perfect place to stay if you are a 'too cool for school, rude hippy, who enjoys living in squalor, doesn't want any sleep or doesn't like to shower.'

I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I was very happy to checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle

Address: 18 Phillimore Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 100m from the train station in a heritage listed building in funky Fremantle. Our hostel caters for international backpackers, particularly those looking to work in Freo. Dorms from $28.00 per night with FREE Internet and FREE WIFI, outdoor cinema, parking, ping pong, playstation and wii and much more. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fire Station Backpackers Hotel Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.