We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like, spend the rest of your life right here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle to your Saves list
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
18 Phillimore Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like, spend the rest of your life right here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

- Friendly and helpful management
- reliable and careful cleaners
- job offers as the day progresses
- Ping pong, pool table, table soccer, free wifi, tv, game consoles, cinema ...
- clean and tidy showers and cooking facilities on all floors
- free jukebox ( rich in music ) and big table in the backyard - get to know lots of new friends, get help to find a job, and have a lot of fun
- cheap and good drinks offered at reception
- moderate prices for accommodation
- parking bays for cars available
- periodic dorm cleanings
- laundry in good conditions

Whenever you have the chance to check-in, do it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
12
72
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this backpacker hostel. Everything was well organised and the managment and staff were everytime very friendly.
But the best thing is the huge table in the backyard of this hostel where you get to know very good people from every country in the world. This is although a good point to get some helpful connections to get a job.
The facileties are always clean and in good conditions.

It was a plasure to checked in there and I would recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Its in a great location, right by the centre of Fremantle town, close to the train station to get to/from Perth, close to supermarket & the general market in weekends.
It has large relaxation/hang out areas. They have kept things to make it hip (like the fireman pole). They have a girl only area, which was where I stayed. Very quiet without the guys stomping by.
Bad factors: its incredibly dirty, dusty, not vac'd. There is paint peeling of walls, walls which have multiple paint colors on them, lack of shelves in the rooms, mold in the bathrooms and general untidiness on the inside of the property. If the owners spent a couple of weeks just going through every room & giving it a coat of paint, adding a few shelves or lockers & cleaning the bathrooms to eliminate mold, this would be an amazing place to stay. So much potential, they just have to put in the work to reap the rewards!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merbein, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is insane. They cater for everything, even done my taxback here. Love the staff and the wifi is freaking fast. Football practice, love it. Best days of the week. Thursday and Sunday. Monthly Ping Pong Tournaments, don't even want to mention the pizza nights on tuesday and curry nights on monday. Great Place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels in the 2 years travelling in Oz, I enjoyed this hostel the least.

There is a few good points, The hostel itself is very large with very spacious common areas with TV.. Free WIFI is available and it is fast.

But it is filthy!! it has taken 'quirky and hippy' to the extreme and its just scabby and dirty and disgusting!!!

Most people staying there are long term residents, so i found there was no space in the dorm to even leave my suitcase anywhere near my bed! and guest not very welcoming to new guests.

Dorms very dark and smelly, very unclean, i think they get "cleaned" once a week. it didn't look like they had been cleaned for a very long time.

Loud music and people walking in and out of the rooms talking very loud throughout the night. So got hardly any sleep.
Very strong smell of weed everywhere.....including the bedrooms!!!

Bathrooms really needing updating or just cleaning would be good! couldn't bring myself to even shower in them!!!!

Perfect place to stay if you are a 'too cool for school, rude hippy, who enjoys living in squalor, doesn't want any sleep or doesn't like to shower.'

I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I was very happy to checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just the best hostel so far !!!
Amazing rooms, lots of space, friendly people and really welcome.
U won't need anything as the sell beer, wine and tobacco, and is not possible to get bored, tennis table, cinema, tv, music, free Internet and football matches.
If u stay in Fremantle that's the best place !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for a week in February 2013 and really liked it, we loved that it had a girls only area with its own tv and kitchen area. It's good cos they have camera's in the kitchen to make sure its fair and everyone cleans up after themselves, we cooked in the kitchen loads. The hostel is in a great location and is close to the beaches and also shops, bars and restaurants. The only thing that I did notice is that everyone goes off in to different groups and don't really mix that much with each other i.e the Italian's will all sit together and so will the French and the British and Irish stick together. I didn't find it quite as friendly as other hostels I've stayed at but saying that I met some great prople there so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
0.1 mi away
Fremantle Hostel
Fremantle Hostel
#3 of 16 in Fremantle
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle

Address: 18 Phillimore Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 100m from the train station in a heritage listed building in funky Fremantle. Our hostel caters for international backpackers, particularly those looking to work in Freo. Dorms from $28.00 per night with FREE Internet and FREE WIFI, outdoor cinema, parking, ping pong, playstation and wii and much more. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fire Station Backpackers Hotel Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.