We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Inn Freo

Backpackers Inn Freo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Backpackers Inn Freo to your Saves list
Backpackers Inn Freo
11 Pakenham St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Only for the desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So this is how it is; You get there and very pretty backpackers are working the reception desk. So far so normal. The conversation about your booking and how to do it on their computer system all occurs in German including figuring out how you were to pay for your room (despite the fact I'd already paid). Then you get to your room and find there is no aircon (fair enough, it wasn't advertised as such) but you find your room for four people has a single 'one plug' powerpoint. Luckily someone - heck, perhaps even the hostel - has attached a four powerpoint powerboard into this. Which is great. Alas one runs a fan to try to cool the room and the other three have been appopriated by one Irish bloke to run all the electrical devices with which the modern backpacker can't do without. Oh, and as this hostel is obviously aimed at those wanting to party, it turns out that even though you arrived mid afternoon the room is still kept in darkness so your nocturnal room mates can sleep. So then you go to the facilities.... there is apparently a toilet in the main building but I never found it. Instead I discovered that the gents is situated so that as you avail yourself of the facilities several people are sitting right outside. Oh rapture. Then you wander over to the male showers only to find that there are only two for the whole hostel but hey, everyone is still sleeping off last nights binge so you can at least get one. Though remember to close the door behind you as the lattice work won't necessarily spare your dignity if you - gasp - get undressed/dressed outside of the wet shower well. Reception hours start at 8am on weekdays. So if like me you are outta there but fast on your departure date you'll have the joy of just tossing your keys in the general direction of the reception desk through the barred door that closes it off after hours. Of course doing so blows your $20 key deposit. I was beyond caring at that point. I could continue but you get the vibe by now...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    10
    9
    44
See reviews for
2
19
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in the womens dorm which was cheap but relatively private as a 6 bed dorm goes. The place was cleaned daily but did have a bit of an old threadbare feel to it. I got clean sheets, no suspicious stains on the bed and had a laugh with the staff almost every day.
I stayed here for about 2 weeks and don't regret it at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We decided to get a cheap room (with ensuite bathroom) in Fremantle as we just needed a place to spend the night before a full planned day at Rottnest Island. As backpackers accomodation goes, there was a number of residents lounging around the shared community areas - great if you wish to share stories and plans.
The room itself was nothing to shout about. Our main issue would have to be the hot water (shower) running out at night. other than that. it wasn't as scary as some of the previous reviews make it out to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I arrived at the hostel to be told by the reception staff member that she was expecting a change of shift and asking me to come back in half an hour. I explained I wouldn't be able to and she asked when I would be able to come back; I asked to check in there and then and was refused. I wanted to make it to a movie that I had booked. I explained I could come back later that evening and she agreed that would be fine. Later the evening staff member was equally rude, if not more so. Every question I asked was met with a rolled eye and a sigh before an answer.

The room was small and very noisy, the bathrooms few and far away, the furniture in the common areas is threadbare and falling to bits, the whole place smelled bad and the beds are dirty. On the plus side when I complained about the noise the reception guy did ask the people outside listening to Pink Floyd to turn it down and they did. For the first time in 18 years of backpacking this place made me consider more generic, established hotels or B&Bs; am I getting old or was it really as bad as it seemed?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First of all, i had a great time in Freemantle! Honestly I stayed at the Freo because the other better places were full. But I wanted a cheap place for 2 weekend nights and so set my bar pretty low. Rather than a $30 bunk in a 6 bed room, I upgraded to a private room for $100. Gotta draw the line somewhere. I got clean sheets, a decent double bed and air conditioning - the basics and nothing more. Wifi Internet is available but costs more so I didn't bother, especially since nearby coffee shops offer great food and free wifi. The only strong negative was the unnecessary rudeness of the manager/frontdesk guy. But after i got my room key he was easy to ignore so I didn't make scene. Oh yeah, at 0730 (morning scuba dive) I found people asleep all over the furniture in the common TV room which I thought was kinda sleazy but maybe that's common at backpacker hostels?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked into a twin room with a friend of mine and oh what a shock we got. the world's smallest room.......with bunks!! and just to make the room seem smaller they'd put lockers in there which took up half the floor space. Hilarious. Dirty old sheets, strange stains everywhere in the room, cockroaches wondering under the door, child size beds. And the guy at reception was even funnier than the room....he'd talk to you for less than a minute and then mid sentence say "ok see you later", as in "go away now"!! For $100 you'd expect alot more, at least free wifi and room to swing a cat. Ended up going to a hotel in Perth to escape the tiny room feeling. Believe the reviews......Basil Fawlty would do better!! I think it's time tourism Freo stepped in and had a look at this place. Shame on the owners....you're giving Freo a bad name.

Room Tip: Ask for directions to the nearest exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here no matter how strict your budget is!!! Bed was dirty when I checked in. Room had trouble locking. Unhygienic kitchen and bathroom facilities! Not to mention untidy!! Window overlooking street in our room had been broken- felt as if room wasn't safe. Staff members were rude and unhelpful- although i had to laugh when I first arrived at the man at reception as he had an uncanny resemblance to the comic book man from the Simpsons!! Lol. Floors were dirty like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks. The whole place had a disgusting smell it. If you want to get ripped off, sleep with 1 eye open and risk bed bugs and illness from unhygienic facilities-then the backpackers inn at freo is the right place for you....

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers Inn Freo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Freo

Address: 11 Pakenham St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160 , Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated heritage building situated in the heart of vibrant Fremantle. Backpackers Inn offers quality basic budget accommodation with a friendly relaxed clean atmosphere. We take pride in being a hostel that offers peace and relaxation for travelers that need time to relax and recharge. We cater for the lone traveler to groups. So come on make a booking come join our family. “You won’t want to leave us.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers Inn Freo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Freo Hotel Fremantle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Inn Freo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.