We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had stayed at the Esplanade on previous occasions, some years ago, and found it worthy of its four star rating. Stayed there last week, the staff were great, friendly and efficient; however we found a significant deterioration in the general ambience. The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. We had booked an executive king room, the initial room allocated was a fetid, colourless cell overlooking metal roofs at the back of the hotel. However it did have a somewhat aged king bed, so while some may class it a king room there was nothing executive about it. A call to reception had them allocate us a king spa suite. While a big improvement it was a basic suite with a sitting area , a bedroom with king bed the bathroom did have a spa bath. The mini-bar fridge was in the wardrobe in the bedroom along with the ironing board etc, leaving little room to hang clothes. Not what I would call executive. Both rooms could do with major refurbishment. The foyer, dining area etc does not appear to have been changed since the place was build and could also do with a lick of paint.

Despite the aged appearance to give credit where it is due I could not fault the staff, they were all friendly, helpful and very efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with views over the esplanade are the best. Rooms in the "new" section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    325
    147
    60
    15
See reviews for
98
367
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

18 of us went to Fremantle for our annual July get together. 8 couples stayed at The Esplanade for Friday and Saturday night. Enjoyed an organised meal in a private venue on Saturday night which was very good. Katherine was our host and looked after us very well. Sorry to learn that she is leaving Rydges for greener pastures.
The hotel was busy (cruise ship was in) however that did not detract from the service we received. The rooms were comfortable and we liked the $10 reduction on accommodation costs if we didn't get the room serviced!
Try the prawn pizza for lunch - it was very very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our recent overnight stay at the Fremantle Esplanade Hotel, the staff were all friendly and helpful, the room and facilites were perfect and the breakfast was oustanding. The breakfast had lots of variety to choose from and as my daughter is vegan there was also plenty of good fresh food for her to enjoy too (which is not usaully the case). We also enjoyed being able to make our own healthy juices. We will definately return for another so visit please keep up the good work. The only negative was being charged a percentage of the fee if you wished to pay by credit card.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived at the esplanade for a three day stay in Fremantle - travelling with my husband. Have to say the outside looks even better in real life than in the photos. On arrival we asked the concierge if we could leave our car for the valet parking as we hadn't checked in yet, they were so easy going. On checking in we had our room changed at the receptionist's suggestion to get a better view. There were no hassles. Room was great and was large with a king sized bed. Balcony was furnished and great. WiFi is free and you get 1000 mb for 24 hours and then you have to re log in. You can have more than one device using it at the same time. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we found it too expensive but the area is not short on eateries, the choices are amazing. For smokers there is a stand up area on one side of the establishment and on the other side, near the alfresco area there are three tables with ashtrays where you can have a drink and smoke. The area was great and the place was fantastic. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Park View is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Fremantle with us. We pride ourselves on our customers service so it's great to read that your experience was fantastic from start to finish. I'm disappointed to note that you didn't try our restaurant as we try to keep our menu pricing in line with the local market.

It's great that you took advantage of the free WI-FI and I hope that it's not too long before you and your husband return.

Kind Regards,
Abby McDowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a long walk in the corridor to get to our room, we were met with a spacious room with a decent spa, perfect for a weekend away. At midnight, there was a lot of noise when a nearby room ran a spa, It sounded like a submarine and lasted for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I'm sorry to read that the noise from other rooms affected your stay and have passed this information onto management. However, it sounds like overall you had a great stay and I hope that we can welcome you back to Fremantle again soon.

Kind Regards,
Abby McDowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed. Noise from the hallway like being in a nightclub. Room fit out below average but clean. Grease on curtain and you can hear everything through the walls... Even the water pipes are noisy. Surely there must be somewhere in Fremantle to stay that is half decent.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mr Gentner,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, we strive to provide a very high level of service for our guests. I’m disappointed to read your stay was less than satisfactory and surprised that we received a low rated score especially after we had assisted you when you booked the wrong dates through a third party website and you didn't let us know of any issues during your stay or upon checking out.

We feel that we have gone above and beyond in our attempt to help you rectify your booking error; I'm sorry to read that you will not be returning.

Kind Regards,
Abby McDowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay at the Rydges Fremantle, will stay again. Was value for Monday. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Great location right in the heart of Fremantle, close to beach, park, cafes and restaurants. Concierge was knowledgeable about the city and attractions for first time visitors. Would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast and our great location. Thank you for your offer to recommend our hotel to your friends and family, this is fantastic!

I hope that we will see you back in Fremantle again soon.

Kind Regards,
Abby McDowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 7 in Fremantle
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#5 of 60 in Perth
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.