We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very convenient location walking distance to restaurants and cafes

The staff at reception were very helpful and my room on the fourth floor overlooked the park and Ferris wheel

The conceige was really helpful for directions and gaining a cab
My only complaint would be the price of a steak coming from the East Coast I'm not acustome to paying $50 plus sides it seems to be a Perth issue

Room Tip: Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good to see you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The meat quality of the steaks depending on which cut you are referring to ie porterhouse on the bone and Wagu are not cheap cuts and personally having come from Melbourne I would expect to pay over $50 for these in any of the well know venues there - ie Rockpool and the Steak and Wine Grill.. Perth Restaurant prices again vary as they do in Melbourne, it would depend both on the venue and the cut you are ordering..good quality beef is not cheap. That being said we are revising the menu, although steaks and grill section will not differ to much degree, other tapas and cheaper variety meals will be available for patrons as well.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    295
    135
    57
    14
See reviews for
83
343
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Owner and management have changed recently and upgrades to the rooms seem to have been made, however as it looks not all the rooms. We have been fortunate enough to be allocated a newly furbished room on the 4th floor with partial view to the park. The lower floors however go just to an internal wall. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean, however for a 4 1/2 star hotel as they mention to be, the value for money is not given. You hear bathroom noises, voices and water running from the upper floor as well as from the room next door and one of our rooms had a door not fitting and noise from the hallway came through rather loud. The hotel has fast and good complimentary WiFi, howevever extremly expensive extras as e.g. valet parking (they deny there is another option, however there are enough parking fields in the area, but you find that out only after accepting the valet). This was the only hotel in the whole three weeks of our journey charching for mineral water. They have a nice breakfast buffet, however (perhaps on purpose) a rather ugly coffee and next to it they offer to prepare you a freshly made espresso at a horrendous prize - well, as most of their guests seem to be there for conventions, they can probably spoil themselves and charge it to their company.
The hotel is ideally located, close to the restaurants on Fisherman Harbour, several breweries and the Espresso Strip, so we did not use their restaurant and bar services.
Reservation, check-in and check-out have been friendly and efficient, however days later we had to ask by mail to get our tax invoice - something even 3-star hotels delivered within minutes after check-out.
There are not a lot of hotel options in beautiful Fremantle and I think this hotels profits from this situation.

Room Tip: The newly furbished rooms on the upper levels are your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Appreciate the frank review of our hotel, we have been working on the improvements around the hotel since taking over 18 months ago, it was nice to see you appreciated the new WiFi, free to house guests and it's speed which is also equally important. The porters woudl normally advise of other options if asked, ie the car park across the road in the open is cheaper than our valet at $29, there is also Wilson's around the corner from the hotel that can be more expensive for 24hrs.. the issues faced with these are security and flexibility of access and the convenience of having your car parked and delivered to the front door. In the general gist of hotels with Valet, the price is quite reasonable and unfortunately due to the nature of the parking facility, self parking is unable to be offered in our carpark. As you note, mineral water is charged, we are looking at including espresso with customers paying the full buffet breakfast and may roll this out shortly.. There are a number of accommodation venues in and around Fremantle, particularly serviced style apartments we compete with, we certainly do not take if for granted about our size or location in the city and do our best to offer good value to our guests as well as superior service and facilities for them to enjoy.

Glad you enjoyed Fremantle and the restaurants etc nearby

Kind regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at the Esplanade hotel last week and had a very good experience. Dasni on reception checked us in and she was absolutely delightful. Got a room overlooking the park which was a good size with a very comfortable king bed. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to the restaurants and shops. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Dasni and the service experience, she is one of the team that gets commented on frequently due to her unique friendly and sincere nature, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the time in Fremantle.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has obviously been fairly recently renovated and they have retained a nice small hotel feel to it while modernising well. Bed and bedding very comfortable, really great breakfast and a lovely location. I was here for a conference and the meeting spaces were good but I would also love to stay here if I came back to Fremantle with my family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Was nice to see you enjoyed your experience whilst here for a conference and your valued feedback as a Top Contributor in taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers, be great to have you back with your family so you can enjoy some of the other beautiful aspects of Fremantle you may have missed.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, and would recommend it highly. We stayed in a suite on the 5th floor, and loved its sense of space and privacy, far away from the public areas and any traffic noise. The bed was large and very comfortable, the bathroom spacious with twin basins and separate bath and shower. The breakfast buffet was exceptionally good, and we enjoyed many cappucinos and drinks in the bar area. All the attractions in Fremantle are within walking distance of the hotel, and the town itself is really friendly and interesting with its strong sense of history. If we find ourselves in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Esplanade Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Sounds like you had a fantastic time in Fremantle and why not? It's such a treasure of things to see and do you can certainly spend a weekend here and not do it all! Another good reason to return and take advantage of the specials, packages and other options we extend to our valued clients, keep your eyes out for a new package we are launching for winter, good for school holidays that will include a tram transfer and entry to the Fremantle Prison...

I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hedland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After having travelled across the World it has always been dissapointing to come back to Australia and find hostels charging huge rates for Wi Fi, while anywhere else in our globe, even the parks, there is FREE Wi Fi.

So it was refreshing that on my fourth or fifth stay in Fremantle WA (which has EVERTHING to offer) I was very pleasantly surprised that the Wi Fi was FREE at the Esplanade Hostel - along with its normal five-star services of great food and friendly welcoming staff along with a warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: Book the King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your favorable comments on the Rydges brand standard launched recently of offering not only free WiFi, but also good speed as well! We certainly support your comments and I am sure other hotels will follow suit as it is now an expectation that WiFi is part of the stay, not an additional service guests should pay for. Complimented by the service you have noted, sounds like you are happy with what we are doing, which is our aim and hope we see you back with us again!

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited perth and we found Fremantle and decided we wanted to have a weekend there so we booked into the esplanade we had a room with a view over the park the room was very spacious had a spar bath and large walk in shower the bed was very comfortable the only downside was the pricey snacks in the room the hotel has two swimming pools one in doors one out the place is spotless clean and all the staff were very friendly the prices are very reasonable as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good to see you enjoyed the views over the park, they are a popular room choice from our guests, the higher floor rooms also can see the mariner! Just to clarify for other travelers, we have to pools, both are outdoors - both heated to a comfortable temperature, the smaller of the two has recently being upgraded as many reviews commented on, the larger resort pool also has three spas, sauna and gym nearby...plenty of options to choose from! Hope we see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.