We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seniors from down south” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
1 review
“Seniors from down south”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for two days over Easter.This hotel supports the Fremantle Street Arts Festival, so the place was pumping, with lots of performers staying here. Whilst the establishment is showing signs of its age, our suite was comfortable, with a great bed and hot shower. From the moment we arrived at the front door and booked in our car, to the moment we said our goodbye to the concierge two days later, the entire staff were fantastic. Reception, bar, restaurants and room attendants did a magnificent job in making our stay a wonderful experience. 10 out of 10 to the chefs and kitchen staff. The food at both the Atrium and Harbour Master Restaurants was fantastic. The location of this hotel is perfect for just about everything in Fremantle and only a 5 minute stroll to the fishing boat harbour . We wish the Rydges Group all the best with this Fremantle Icon. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So nice to read your review and how much you enjoyed the experience at the hotel and Fremantle over the festive weekend. The hotel product was showing signs of needing urgent TLC and we have been onto this since takeover early last year, the ground floor and exterior looks 100% better than when first arriving, the rooms are on the list and we have started with 70 rooms with new Rydges Dream beds, will be doing more as we progress to make them far more appealing and comfortable. Look forward to having you back with us again on your next trip up from down south.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    325
    147
    60
    15
See reviews for
98
367
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I spent 4 nights in april 2014 at this hotel. All in all it was an enjoyable stay.
The rooms are large, clean, and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is very good.
I needed a "real" 24 reception as I did not know when I would arrive - which this hotel has.
Barely any traffic noise (or any other noise) in the room.
The hotel is pricey - even for Fremantle.
The one issue I had was that the guest laundry was out of order due to renovation - so I had to go to a laundromat instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Pleasing your stay was generally okay, the hotel has recently replaced the old machines that must have been 10 years plus old that were inherited with brand new units, I understand there are a few tweaks need to get these commissioned and should be up and running very soon. Sorry this caused you inconvenience during your stay.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What a disappointment - not your typical Rydges standard. We went out at 8.30am and returned at 2.30 for a nap to find our room hadn't been serviced. When we told reception they did chase it up. very tired we decided to sit in the lobby bar to kill some time, only to have to clear a table so we could sit down - the dirty dishes are still here 20 minutes later!
The rooms are ok - pretty tired decor and look in need of a refurb, particularly the bathroom. the shower is very poor with low water pressure so you have to stand right at the end of the bath to get under it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
With a title like that I was expecting to be disappointed that the reviewer has had a poor experience with the hotel. I apologise that you encountered these service issues, in way of explanation the room cleaning for guests already staying do generally occur after 2pm unless a special request due to cleaning vacant rooms for guests arriving at 2pm being check in time. We would love to be able to clean all 300 rooms prior to 2pm but resources need to be spread unfortunately to ensure guests arriving have their rooms ready for check in. The tables being unclean in the bar is unacceptable and normal practice is for the bar personnel to wipe these down when they can during service, unfortunately not knowing when or what time this was is difficult to gauge how busy the bar may have been but will pass on your comments for them to review.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waite Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was a member of an expedition team of 14 who stayed at the Esplanade before and after our sea voyage. Our rooms were fine. We had no difficulty with noise and everything was clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location is ideal, being close to seaside restaurants and the shopping strip. Like everything else we found in Perth and Fremantle, it was expensive. I guess that's the price of an economic boom (mining). For us it was a good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Glad to hear you had a relaxing stay before your sea trip, the location is great for these types of activities and hopefully you were able to enjoy being near the cafe strip and the mariner areas. The costs are reviewed in the hotel regularly and we do try to keep them reasonable within the market. Appreciate you pointing this out however and we will constantly be looking at these items, the mining boom is over and I believe rates in hotels amongst other areas are showing signs of coming down in the WA area.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were staying at hotel as part of a wedding party & reception being held at Rydges. There was a boxing tournament on so the place was packed. We found check in long and only 1 person attending to task. Although the room had been booked 6 months earlier and was part of a wedding deal when we arrived at our room it was not as booked. The bride had gone to great lengths to arrange it perfectly-the hotel had got more than 1 of the party's booking incorrect. The room was ok but for 4 star raring not so. The food and drinks, as all establishments in Western Australia, was expensive . Breakfast was good. Our biggest shock was parking fee $29 per night-which is way over the top!! We therefore had to park our hire car in a car park opposite. Hotel was clean & pleasant but we all felt it too expensive for what they offered.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool or esplanade-we ended up overlooking a roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So sorry to hear that we messed up your reservation on the special occasion, it certainly can be frustrating when these small items can occur in a professional business that make such a big impact to the guest! Will definitely share this with the front office team to ensure they realise the importance of checking bookings more thoroughly. The secure valet parking rates are reasonable when in comparison to the inconvenience and restrictions of nearby parking to the hotel. We do try to keep these costs down however. Hopefully we will have you back with us again in the future, we are always doing our best to improve the product and experience for our valued guests in Fremantle!

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a well positioned hotel, great spot. Had an early check in and the lady said we had a nice quiet room.

Our troubles started when the people in the room next door started using their spa. Sounded like someone was drilling through the adjoining wall. Reception did not seem surprised. They rang the people and the noise stopped shortly thereafter, only to start again later on. We did not complain again, if there is a spa in your room, you should be able to use it.

The room was tired, hotel looks tired.

Was very noisy, we will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, the noise is like a building site when the spa starts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for raising the issue with what is thought to be the spa jet noise from next door, will investigate this phenomenon with the housekeeping and maintenance team as this has not come to my attention before. Sorry to see you wont be back with us again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I travel quite a bit for work and every time our team flys to Perth, the Esplanade is our choice of property to stay at.

The rooms are large and always clean, location wise you can't go wrong with everything just mins walk away.

Buffet breakfast of a morning is great and I love that they have a juicer where you can make your own fresh vegetable juice.

Great hotel and staff have always been very accommodating. Look forward to our next return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Nice - was really good to see the hotel location is ideal for your needs and the team and facilities bring you back as a welcome regular to the property...ensure you let us know if you need anything when here to make your stay more comfortable.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 7 in Fremantle
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#5 of 60 in Perth
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.