We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We are staying here tonight on a recommendation....sadly disappointing - no one to greet as we pulled up outside the hotel - concierge totally ignored us and we had to go to reception to get assistance with valet parking. Check in was uneventful. One tiny lift - slow and clunky. Level 5 very shabby old carpets, uninviting and a bit creepy - desperately in need of renovation. Room ok - amenities minimal and only 1 towel each - to top it off one cant sit in bed and watch the tv because the whopping great gilt edged mirror hanging on the wall above the bed prohibits you sitting up. Pretty much the only thing going for this place that i can see is the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Can appreciate your views on the hotel with your arrival and the lack of attention you received, wiil certainly discuss this with the front office team. the valet guys are generally on the ball when they are down there, not like them not to meet and greet on arrival. The rooms are a work in progress and will be working on this moving forward as we complete other projects that need attention.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    218
    113
    50
    11
See reviews for
66
243
22
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a good room overlooking one of the pools. The room was clean and modern and close to the dining area. The hotel is that big that you could end up being a good couple of hundred metres away from the main foyer. During the stay my colleagues attempted to hire a conference room for a day. The price was that exorbitant that we didn't bother in the end. This was bit of a disappointment in an otherwise great experience with the hotel. The bar is great and has indoor and outdoor facilities. The location of the hotel is second to none. I would highly recommend the location. The breakfast in the dining area is good.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the foyer otherwise you will be doing lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Was disappointing you were not given more options for our function room requirements as I know the conference sales team will do their best to meet budget restraints. I am not sure who it was you spoke with, but I apologise for this inconvenience. I hope we have you back again and please contact conference sales or myself it you have any meeting needs.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodnet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We picked this Hotel whilst planning our trip in the UK. We were visiting Australia to follow the Ashes tour and decided to have a break near the sea between the Perth and Melbourne test. We were not disappointed with the Esplanade. It was in a perfect location for all the attractions of Freemantle and a couple minutes walk from the fishing harbour with all its choice of bars and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool. I agree with other guests comments that the floors do need decorating as look tired, but i did notice that the first floor looked better, so i think they are in the process of redecorating. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and we joined the loyalty scheme, which was free to join and this gave us discount off wifi, food and drink so is really worth doing. On our last night we had the buffet dinner, which was quite expensive but was well worth it, the choice and quality were excellent. We were really pleased we picked this hotel as had a brilliant time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Sorry to see you were over from the UK for the Ashes tour, I am sure the English team will get better in the future to secure this again one day. It was a great season and hope you had time to enjoy your break in Australia. As you have noted the corridors are in the process of being given a facelift, there a number of these type of projects underway and have been so since taking over the hotel last year, it will look very good when finished and hope you return to enjoy it one day.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely looking hotel from the outside and marketing, so I had high expectations. Unfortunately these were not met. The room was nice enough; it was clean and we had a balcony, but the corridor areas were tired and shabby and felt a little institutional. Trays and plates and so on from room service were also outside rooms for a long period of time - two days in the case of one room opposite and another down the corridor. Signs and so on in the hotel were not always clear. From our room we could access the spa and pool area via a fire exit, but the signs stopped mid way between the stairs and the exit!

I would also echo others comments about the attitude of reception staff. On the three occasions I spoke with reception, I felt that all had better things to do with their time than deal with my queries, checking in or out or worse still, asking for a taxi to be booked which although was offered as a service, made me feel rude for asking!

The pool area was nice but one jacuzzi was broken and some gym equipment was not well maintained - one bike didn't work and another was temperamental.

We didn't eat here as seemed rather expensive and we were keen to explore the local area which was lovely and the hotel was well placed for this.

In summary, disappointing. It did not feel like a four star establishment and certainly sells itself as a much higher pitch than the reality. That said I would stay here again, but don't expect the luxury the marketing would lead you to believe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Sorry you were unable to locate the pool at the hotel, there are two pools, the larger resort pool located centrally on the ground floor in the heart of the hotel normally is easy to locate and will review the new signage to ensure it is clear for everyone, It sounds like the gym equipment needs attention and have passed this onto the maintenance manager to ensure it being checked regularly. There have been a few comments regarding the reception personnel as you have noted that have been addressed, I would probably not generalise that this is common however is a concern that you have also needed to make note of this item and will get looked at with some more training with the staff in the area. I also would say the marketing and photos which have been recently taken are not misleading and show exactly how the hotel is currently with further work pending this year.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Clean room, big enough for the three of us. Staff were friendly and obliging.
Huge bar and dining area and although we did not eat at the hotel, the menu was quite impressive. Well patronised for breakfast and dinner.
Leisure facilities within the hotel consist of pools, spas, sauna and gym.
We also used the valet parking at $29.50 a night which is about average. No alternative really, meter parking prohibits parking in the street.
As other reviews have stated - the location can't be beaten. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all the main attractions eg. museums, brewery, beach and market. Within minutes you can also walk to the CBD with its many restaurants, pubs, bars etc.
Our two nights at The Esplanade was well worth the $250 per night (which we thought was reasonable), and particularly at the time of year we were there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Was good to see a top contributor provide such a well articulated review of the hotel and your experience in Fremantle, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the value for money with your experience with us. I hope we see you back again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent a night here midweek on a special deal which included breakfast. We where really happy with our room, which overlooked the pool. Room was clean, and roomy, very happy.
Breakfast buffet was amazing, so many choices. Hotel is in great location, so it was easy for us to walk to everything we wished to do. We would go back for sure !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Great to see you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and the location and breakfast met your expectations! I hope we see you back with us again..

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Im writing about the buffet within the hotel which is doing a superb $30 per head deal during January.The restaurant was busy giving it a vibrant feel,the staff were extremely helpful in fact the maitre`d even asked if he could scoop my ice cream! The selection of food was exceptional from roast beef to fresh seafoods of all varieties,fresh veg and desserts to die for.If you truly enjoy a feast,at a very reasonable price you will not be disappointed..in fact I heard one diner say that she wished she had two mouths.

Room Tip: Note Im commenting on restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
The Atrium $31 special for January for all you can eat goes off with most service periods booked out, it is a great option for holiday makers to enjoy a good feed while spending some time relaxing in Fremantle and enjoying some R&R..glad you enjoyed it.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.