We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked one night here as a break and it was just what we were looking for. We arrived at 1pm and were initially disappointed that we were unable to check into our room as it was not ready. We went and had lunch and came back at 2pm and we were extremely happy with the room we were given which was much larger than we had expected. It was a corner room and therefore had oceans of space and the balcony was massive.

We joined the loyalty program which was free to join and it gave us 20% off all food and drinks. The best part of it though was that it also gave us a late check-out of 1pm the following day instead of the standard 10am which was fantastic. I would recommend anybody who stays to do this.

The disappointing parts of the stay was the cost of parking as it was around $29 for the night on top of the cost of the hotel. The only other option was a public car park for $1.70 an hour. We also ate in the hotel for the evening meal and had the buffet and whilst it was nice, $45 per person was excessive for the food you got so we would eat out instead in future.

The pool area was very nice and designed well but the spas were cool, dirty and a bit shabby with headrests missing or broken. A shame really as we were looking forward to giving them some use but decided against after seeing them.

Overall a pleasant stay and we will definitely return for another nights break sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Park views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Was great to see you generally enjoyed the stay and took advantage of the great benefit of joining the PGR program and get the discounts this offers..the pricing around the hotel is always reviewed and we do our best to be competitive and will take on board your comments int his area as well.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    295
    135
    57
    14
See reviews for
83
343
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was disappointed with my stay at this hotel. I booked a special from the website and it sounded like a great deal. First off we got put in the wrong room then had to wait around while our right room became available. The room was boring, the shower leaked water so the tiles were all moldy. The main thing though, was that open check in the girl at reception told us specifically where to park and said it was $22 the next day when we left, we were told it was actually $75. What a rip off all because the girl told us the wrong place. This hotel is just way over priced.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Was disappointing to read of your experience at the hotel and that there was a misunderstanding with the parking at the public carpark, not knowing what was asked, the receptionist probably provided information on a min rate at the public carpark. The hotel offers valet parking for guests in a secure carpark for $29. The parking you may have been advised on, which is possibly Wilsons has varying rates depending on the length of use and its published on signage at the entrance of the carpark as per most public carparks. I am not sure how long you stayed there for, but would probably have been better to use the hotel valet as it is more cost effective.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel was in a great location and within walking distance to attractions and restaurants. The room was a good size and had everything we needed.
We spent some time looking for the pools asked some staff for directions. When that didn't work we went to reception and eventually got the right directions. One pool was out of order but the other was nice. Some of the outdoor areas were a bit run down but generally fine.
We didn't eat at the hotel but the restaurants and atrium area looked well presented and the menus were impressive.
Overall a nice stay and would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your time to review the stay at the hotel, sorry one of our pools has been getting work done to it, thankfully it is the small pool and the large resort pool gets far more use over summer. The location is popular for leisure travellers as everything is in walking distance to the hotel to enjoy.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in Fremantle. The hotel is very well kept and clean. The staff friendly, helpful and courteous. We stayed in a superior room, which had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The room size was good, and the bathroom fine. We didn't have the $30 breakfast (recommend Moore and Moore 2 mins round the corner) and I felt $18 for 24 hours internet was steep, those points aside, we would visit again. If it wasn't for the above 2 points I probably would have scored it 5 out of 5.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greta you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of the local culture, Moore and Moore is a popular Uni cafe not fer from the hotel that is patronised for cheap eats. Plenty of other options also nearby for travellers wanting to eat out and experience some great venues around the hotel.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect location. Walking distance to the cappuccino strip in Fremantle & fisherman's wharf.
Large room with spa. Super comfy bed and pillows.
Good food in the hotel restaurant, cosy bar. Didn't really need to leave the hotel for anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
How nice to get such a positive review from a senior reviewer! I am very glad you felt at home with us and we had everything available to meet your needs! The location is excellent and getting better with all the new venues and options of activity around us, including the park over the road that generally always has some great festivals or events happening...The next big on is the Chilli Festival, it has an amazing collection of chilli, food and drinks that people rave about.. Hope we see you back with us soon.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Esplanade for the best part of a week not including a few days break visiting Margaret River. We are feeling very at home here - the staff are very friendly and helpful particularly the concierge staff. Our park view room is a good size as is the bathroom. It's all spotlessly clean. We have only had one breakfast here so can't comment on the food. There are numerous restaurants and coffee shops all very close. Fremantle is a very buzzy place and we have loved it here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Was very pleased to read you enjoyed your extended stay at the hotel and that the concierge making a good impression when here with us. How lucky to also have visited the amazing Margaret River region, best wines in Australia in my opinion! Particularly the reds.. Hope we see you back with us again..

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife had to attend a three day conference hosted at this hotel and we decided to make a holiday of it. Firstly the conference was expertly organised and my wife was extremely impressed with the facilities. The accommodation itself was also first class. The rooms were clean and the bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature and the food in the Atrium restaurant was amazing. The breakfast choices were brilliant and the bank of real toasters was a much better system than the painfully slow conveyor toasters which usual deliver burnt offerings! But the greatest asset is the staff of this hotel. Never have I encountered such friendly, helpful yet down-to-earth staff at a hotel. The Concierge especially were top notch. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and the concierge team in particular made such a great contribution to your enjoyment. Have passed this note onto them to ensure they understand that they do get recognised for good service as much as we may get critical feedback if a guest doesn't enjoy something! Glad to also see your wife enjoyed the conference here, the conference team do an amazing job in a busy environment and I get such good feedback on their work and that of the kitchen.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.