We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights here, attending conference held in the same hotel.
heritage looking hotel (or maybe it is listed as a heritage site?).
room was standard, bit pricey. additional 2% for creditcard payment.

would i stay here again? Yes, for the location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I hope moving forward we can improve your impression to be better than just the location and convenience! We certainly are doing our best to improve the facilities and service of the hotel, including the multi-milion dollar renovations of the entry, bar and restaurant recently completed.

I hope we see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    325
    147
    60
    15
See reviews for
98
367
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On my copious amounts of stays here, I haven't had a bad one yet. From being in the heart of freo to having all the awesome ammenties of the hotel at ur feet, rooms are fantastic, we tend to stay in the newer part as the older ones are due for an up grade.. this hotels service is always impeccable.. thanks for all the smiles an great stays. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us and thank you also for your ongoing loyalty as an Esplanade regular! I hope we can continue to welcome you back to enjoy our location and the many improvements we are achieving since taking over the hotel in Jan, we are aware of the hotel rooms and we are going to be onto those in the future...

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had 2 nights in Fremantle and stayed at the Esplanade, great room on 4th floor overlooking pool. Balcony was good but it was raining so we could not use it too much. Staff were so helpful, they even rang the bus/train station to find out how we could get to our next destination as we had handed back our hire car. Travis at reception was also so helpful. Food was great but we wish we had of had time for the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
What a shame it was raining when you were here, you would have enjoyed sitting on the balcony sipping wine as the sun set in the west! I am glad the team looked after you and Travis is a great asset in the front office with our guests.. Hope to see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent 2 nights in a Superior Room early September and was very pleased with the quality of the room and its bathroom. Shower was one of the best hotel showers I've experienced. Room comfortable and spacious, and balcony was good to have, even though wet weather limited our use.

The highlight, however, was the newly-renovated Marine Lounge Bar and the Harbour Master Restaurant. Having stayed in this hotel many years ago, I was most surprised to see how brilliantly the bar and restaurant had been updated. Pre and post-dinner drinks in the bar were a delight, with some great high-end choices in spirits, wines and beers. The bar staff were professional and friendly, making you feel welcome. The choice of furniture and decor in the restaurant, bar and foyer space is excellent. The seating is extremely comfortable and inviting, while the decor makes you feel like you're in a modern yet warm environment.

The Harbour Master Restaurant provided us with such a good meal and experience the first night of our stay that we opted to skip eating out in Fremantle the second night, and dined again in the Harbour Master restaurant. The food was excellent. The choice of wines was impressive - especially with the "visitable" cellar right there in the restaurant, proudly displaying its large choice of quality wines. The evenings in the restaurant were made special, though, by the engaging and welcoming restaurant manager, Evan. Evan's professionalism and enthusiasm toward us (even when the GM of the hotel, with a large group of fellow diners, was dining in his restaurant the same night) was outstanding. We were made to feel like special guests at all time. As well, our relatively-new waitress (Jenna) did a superb job in looking after us throughout both evenings. To top off the great bar and restaurant experience, Shelwyn (the Food and Beverage Manager) made a point of speaking genuinely with us each evening, making us feel like VIPs - even though we were nobodies.

I whole-heartedly recommend a visit to the hotel even if it's just to spend time in the upmarket bar and restaurant: they should be a destination in themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I was so pleased to read of your experience at the hotel and how much you enjoyed the new Harbour Master Restaurant and that the team looked after you so well! It certainly was a project of love for the property to reinstate some of its history at the same time reinstating some beautiful local produce from the WA snapper to the South West WA Black Angus steaks...this complimented as you have so nicely pointed out with a photo, with the walk in wine cellar showcasing some perfect reds from Margaret River and the Swann Valley...hope we have you back again, I am sure Evan the manager, Grant our chef and Shelwyn the F&B manager will treat you like Rock stars again!

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here early September for 5 days. Had a Park View room on 4th floor, which was great with large balcony overlooking park. The room was a good size with high ceilings. Bathroom very roomey with separate shower and bath. The ground floor has just been fully renovated and the new bar was great with comfortable new furniture. Meals in the buffet market place were very good with plenty of variety of food at breakfast and dinner. Also was lucky enough to be one of the first to eat in the brand new Harbour Master restaurant where the food was outstanding. Special mention must be made of the restaurant manager and his staff who were very efficient. Can fully recommend this Rydges hotel.

Room Tip: Park View rooms very good and not far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Fantastic to read of your experience in our new Restaurant The Harbour Master, it has been very popular so far and we hope this will momentum will continue to grow with our regulars and travellers coming through Freo.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's in a great location, and despite being so big the staff are friendly. It's not cheap, but nothing in Perth/Freo is.

I never eat in hotel breakfasts - expensive and poor quality - so there are some good options
nearby.

Advertised as 'free internet' - which is a bit of a lend - it gave 20mb over 24 hours - which if you are on a laptop is bugger all. Ok perhaps if checking mail on a phone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am glad the team were sincere and the service was warm and friendly, it is a shame you have the impression hotel breakfasts are not that good, we have made some big efforts to ensure that guests can have a good selection and fresh cooked eggs or omelettes to order with an espresso is one area which has had good feedback from our hotel guests. The internet is free up to 20MB, I agree if you are planning on downloading large files etc this will go quickly, we did this so it is fair on all guests that may want to just read emails or browse the internet. For those guests who are using the internet for large use of the system then they pay a small fee to do so. This way it seems to keep the overall system fair for all guests. To date the option has been well received where most hotels still charge for signing onto their systems.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for one night to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We got the do not disturb package which included the room, champagne and strawberries on arrival, dinner in the restaurant, breakfast in the morning and late check out to 1pm the next day.

Room was lovely but the balcony overlooked the car park which isn't very romantic. There was no champagne and strawberries in the room when we arrived. We called reception and they told us that you have to ring and request them and then they bring them. That kind of ruined the excitement of walking into the room and them being there.

Dinner in the restaurant was good. Main course of pork was extremely salty and I noticed that the table next to us complained about the same thing and they didn't do anything to rectify it so I didn't bother saying anything.

We went out that night and decided to sleep through breakfast and wake up about midday to check out at 1pm however housekeeping were knocking on the door constantly at 10:30 am even though the do no disturb sign was on the door.
The package was good value for money and obviously a good option for couples but needed some work to make it a little more romantic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sorry you had an unfortunate experience at the hotel recently, we do have procedures in place to ensure items such as delivery of package inclusions etc happens seamlessly, however it would appear this didn’t happen for your stay, which I am sure was very disappointing. Been woken up on a lazy sleep in would very frustrating and I have passed on this note to housekeeping, they should know the procedures in this situation and it is obviously a training need to ensure this does not happen. I am so glad you selected our DND package for your stay, and I only wish it was a much better experience than what you actually experienced. I hope we can accommodate you again in the future to show how nice it is staying with us.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#6 of 7 in Fremantle
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#5 of 60 in Perth
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. The Esplanade has two Restaurants to choose from, the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master features local seafood, South WA grill dishes and tapas to share as well as a walk-in wine room and alfresco dining area. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel - 2014 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Excellence in Hospitality - 2014 Fremantle Business Awards Best Marketed Hotel - 2013 Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.