We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Australian Maritime Museum

Western Australian Maritime Museum
Victoria Quay/Peter Hughes Drive | Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
(0)8 9431 8334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 things to do in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent the afternoon at the museum with my 11 yr old niece. Did the 1 hr submarine tour for an extra $8 and was well worth it! Our tour guide was friendly and informative and it was great to be inside the submarine and imagine just how it would of felt. We both had such a great time, she keeps telling me how much fun she had! Would thoroughly recommned it for a cheap family day out.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    137
    30
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great architecture and building

Lots and lots to see, it is packed full of exhibits and I like the way it includes contemporary (surf) and older history.

The submarine visit was very good too with an enthusiastic young submariner showing us round and explaining in great detail

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great place to visit in Fremantle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We visited the museum in January and it was just wonderful with the HMS Ovens tour and seeing the interactive things for kids justs shows what an amazing place this is right in an accessible location a must see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great submarine tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I enjoyed the museum but found the most interesting part was the submarine tour. Slated for an hour to an hour and a quarter the guide took over an hour and a half to take us round and tell us fascinating information, well worth it. As an extra the food and drink on offer was really nice and great value for money. The setting on the harbour side is very impressive. Well worth a trip if you are anywhere near.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Submarine was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This is well worth a visit and the submarine tour is a must. Our guide had been part of the crew and was very informative about life on board illustrating it with lots of extra stories.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Australian Maritime Museum also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Western Australian Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Australian Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.