We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to spend a half hour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fremantle Arts Centre

Fremantle Arts Centre
1 Finnerty Street | Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
(0)8 9432 9555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 54 things to do in Fremantle
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fremantle Arts Centre works to create an environment which brings people together in the active exploration of cultural ideas. With over 150,000 visitors a year, FAC is one of WA’s most dynamic multi-arts organisations, offering a rich cultural program of exhibitions, residencies, art courses, music and events on a historic site. FAC is an ambitious organisation that celebrates quality and the high standard of our programming is recognised on both a national and international level. Contemporary exhibitions, courses & workshops that inspire, a shop filled with the finest WA made wares, an expansive live music program and special events throughout the year. Open daily 10am – 5pm. Free admission.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Good to spend a half hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had a pleasant time looking at the paintings and artworks. Free to get in, but donations accepted.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Based on the other reviews we had high expectations. We were disappointed to only find 4 rooms with any artwork on display. Most of the place appeared to be dedicated to running a school holiday programme.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Cool place - and the cafe is lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

During a visit to Fremantle in May 2014, I discovered the Arts Centre by chance and was fortunate to take part in an opening night with yummy finger food and drinks. I also highly recommend the Cafe associated with the Art Centre.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful adaptive reuse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A beautiful adaptive reuse of the lunatic asylum and former women's prison. We were there on Friday at lunch time and enjoyed the concert and food

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm a bit of a paranormal lover and I also love history and I went to the Fremantle Arts Museum because it used to be the Insane Asylum. I must say i was really disappointed that they didn't have an exhibition about its history! I understand its meant to be an Art Gallery now, but they could've at least had one exhibit on its history.... :(

Restaurant/cafe there is also really expensive!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Arts Centre also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremantle Arts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.