We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, wonderful wine, tasty snacks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whisper Wine Bar

Whisper Wine Bar
1/15 Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160 , Australia
+61 8 9335 7632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 227 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, wonderful wine, tasty snacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Fabulous place to go for a good glass of wine and tasty snacks. Good, friendly service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!! I love the Whisper Wine Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Wonderful little place tucked away from the busy and loud streets of Fremantle. Delicious French flavour as the very friendly and funny staff speaks French! The food, O the food! Pure deliciousness from freshly baked baguette to amazing goat cheese!!! Perfect quantity. The owner really makes an effort to bring the best wines at a very reasonable price! All in all, it is by far the most intriguing and friendly wine bars in Freo! Make sure you ask Thierry, the French owner, for his special wines: he keeps his special connections for demanding customers...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great little spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

While wandering Fremantle after not visiting for a couple of months we walked past Wispers.

We had a look at the blackboard and thought that we could sit a while and enjoy the late afternoon.

They had about 10 whites and 10 reds by the glass written on seperate boards. They were all named, priced and even a little info about where they were from. (Most Australian and most of them from WA).

We shared an outside table with a stranger and several others were doing the same. We ordered a glass each. There is also a food menu listing snacks, similar to tapas, olives, baguette and butter etc.

The staff were very friendly and took time to chat etc.

We will be back sooner rather than later.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - friendly people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Having been to Wisper quite a few times now, both with family and different groups of friends, its a great place to start or finish a longer visit to Freo, spend several hours relaxing and watching the world go by on the street... or chatting in the cosy nook upstairs..
We have enjoyed quite a few of the wines available on a pretty good list of local and international choices. Reasonable prices for the type of establishment.
The food is fresh and tasty, and certainly well presented by the great staff.
Love the atmosphere of these small bars... we need more of them!
Roll on the cooler weather, so that we can get back into those reds!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool place, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really nice little wine bar, and the owner is knowledgeable & passionate about his wine. Ask his advice, he's always happy to help. They have a really interesting wine list, Old World as well as New World, and a reasonable selection by the glass. The last we visited, the Zinfandel and Grenache were fabulous, and the rose has always been good.

We can't really comment on the food as we have never eaten there, but ther certainly have been some nice little tapas plates going past our table. You probably wouldn't make it the place for dinner, but sitting outside at one of the benches with a nice glass of wine, and some bread & olives is a winner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisper Wine Bar also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Whisper Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisper Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.