We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RIALTO APARTMENTS - Award winning accommodation

Rialto as seen from High Street
Rialto as seen from High Street
Rialto as seen from High Street
High Street views looking east towards the town hall
Living room area
Master bedroom with northern light
Bathroom with bidet
Fremantle
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Narelle27...
Riverstone, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“EXCELLENT LOCATION - EXCELLENT DECOR/VERY CLEAN - GREAT HOSTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Excellent location, excellent building (will be amazing when completed), very clean, beautiful & modern Decor. We were on the top floor with a baby - which Steve kindly provided a new Folding Cot (greatly appreciated). Steve & his wife were very available & friendly. The stairs were a bit tiresome when carrying our suitcases etc (although they were small steps) I would expect it could be hard for older travellers. Security was excellent & we had off-street parking around the corner! Unfortunately there was only one toilet located in the Bathroom which both Bedrooms had access to (we were sharing with our daughter & her husband) so we had to remember to lock the other door so that there weren't any interrupted surprises!!There was some noise (Saturday night) but generally not too bad. Overall we were very happy with this accommodation & I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone - hoping to go back again soon!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location - Decor - Security - Hosts
Liked least: One Toilet - Stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Fletch101
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation - handy to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a week end in Fremantle for a wedding and Rialto apartments were perfect. We had the top floor apartment and it was large, modern, comfortable and well decorated. It has a great use of timber. The location is perfect...walking distance to the Rottnest Island ferries, restaurants, shops, the esplanade, even where the cruise ships depart from.

Compared to other similar accommodation, it is excellent value for 3-4 people to stay together.

Booking was easy and we were welcomed and shown how everything worked by Maria.

I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Only one set of keys provided.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JaneTucke...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed in the Rialto appartments for 8 nights over new year 2012 and into January 2013. The booking process was very simple and organised. The owner met me 10 minutes after I called to say we had arrived so very easy to get access. The apartment was very clean and tidy with a high quality finish. Fantastic location on the high street in Fremantle - very close to the action but not in too busy a location so not too noisy. All the furniture you could need inside and great air conditioning in both the bedrooms and living areas. The kitchen equipment provided was adequate for me and my partner to prepare breakfasts and have drinks etc, but a bit light on if you wanted to prepare a proper meal. I have family living in Perth and it would have been nice to have been able to cook a meal for them while we were there but the equipment was not really up to it. I understand that it probably not what most people are looking for mind you. It also would have been nice to have a bit more furniture on the balcony for sitting out and enjoying the outlook, however there are plenty of chairs inside that can be taken out if required. And the balcony is very nice to sit on with a nice view of the historical buildings in Freo.

If you want swimming Bathers Beach in Freo is within walking distance basically at the end of the high street, you've got South Beach which is on the free CAT bus route and you can hop in the train to get up to Cottesloe beach. All very convenient.

Plenty of good restaurants and cafes within walking distance suitable for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

These days all travellers are likely to want wifi access so I was surprised it took us a bit of time to get the wifi sorted. I'd prefer to see the wifi up and running as soon as we arrived with the access codes available in the apartment rather than having to wait for the shop to open to get access.

Overall we had a lovely experence - we would consider staying here again if in the same area and I will also recommend to other family members visiting Perth / Freo.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Excellent location
Liked least: Wifi did not have very good reception and was difficult to get the wifi access key
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SarahR7
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, old world charm with all the mod cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic central location - only a couple of minutes to the railway and buses, wharf, prison, markets, shops, etc. It is only a couple of minutes walk to either get to the attraction you want or to get to the transport to take you there. (Steve told us not to bother hiring a car, and he was right. You really wouldn't need one unless you want to venture north of Perth or south of Fremantle.)
My husband, daughter, her boyfriend and myself stayed for 8 nights in the large apartment which had a queen bed and a double. Very comfortable and attractive apartment (bed was not as comfortable as home though), also, the dishwasher had broken the day before we arrived, but was replaced a couple of days later. This really didn't matter though as it was great to just sit and relax on the balcony watching the passing traffic, lie on the day bed reading a book, or be a couch potato in front of the TV watching the Grand Final when not out exploring all the attractions. There is also a good sized dining table on which we played games of a night.
We walked to a variety of nearby restaurants for lunch or dinner, but also stayed in and cooked dinner a couple of times as well as breakfast each morning - the kitchen had all the basics to get the job done. (Microwave, oven, dishwasher, etc.)
A bonus was that the front of the apartment has electric shutters which is great to keep the light and sound out of a night.
Maria and Margaretta we lovely to chat to whenever I needed any information - they were to be found in the shop on the ground floor which has some beautiful clothes and exotic furnishings.
All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend Rialto.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Right in the centre of old world Fremantle charm
Liked least: Having to remember to unlock both bathroom doors when finished (each bedroom has direct access).
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dragonboy...
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Beautifully appointed, comfortable, and lots of space.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The size
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
essanna77
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Pleasant Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had arrived later than expected and the staff has gone back. However they promptly returned to let us into the apartments and spent time explaining to us how all the things work. Very pleasant people!

The location was fantastic - less than 15 minutes walk to Fremantle Market, a great beach (through the tunnel underneath the Round House), supermaket (Coles) and ample shopping (Myers, etc) and pierside restaurants (fish and chips ahoy!). Several cafes/ restaurants can be found opposite the apartments, so eating out is a breeze. It is also right next to the Notre Dame University; it was school holidays when we were there, so the place was quite quiet at night when all the shops has closed.

The apartment has laundry and drying services (bring your own detergent though), cooking facilities (basic pots/ pans/ plates available). If you do intend to cook though, ventilation in the apartment is not that great. The cooking smell tends to fill up the apartment even though we opened the door to the balcony. Parking facilities are available at the back of the building; need to check before booking to ensure availability.

The apartment is accessible only by stairs, NO LIFTS. So if you are packing large suitcases, beware! The air con controller did not work in our apartment so the air con is permanently turned on. However as we rented two apartments, we were able to use the air con remote controller from the other apartment to change the air con setting in our apartments. Oh yea, free wifi was offered but after the first night, I have not been able to get onto the wifi network. So that was a bummer.

All in all, I liked the place. Would definitely stay again at Rialto should I visit Fremantle again in future!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Creditcar...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Great first experience booking a vacation rental.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This is the first time we have ever booked a vacation rental and we were very pleased with the experience. The Gormans were accomadating, the apartment was well furnished, clean and in a great location. Downtown Fremantle is very walkable and we took advantage of the all that it has to offer. We have two teenage daughters and they gave the apartment and the whole Fremantle visit high marks. We are planning a return visit.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$182
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Steve G
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing