We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee east of Suez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore & Moore Cafe

Moore & Moore Cafe
46 Henry Street, Fremantle, Western Australia WA 6160, Australia
+61 8 9335 8825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Organic, Cafe, Vegetarian, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee east of Suez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is really something! The carrot cake is addictive and the coffee is superb. The only problem I now have is that all other coffee I taste from now on will be some cheap watery brown water. A luxury problem though. I will be back tomorrow!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

quality cafe and art gallery in an historic building, i think theres a kids play section in the outdoor bit out the back, its like a beer garden but theres no beer

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are far better cafes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The service and coffee are terrible and you spend half an hour waiting for it. Don't be fooled by the Interior Art Decor and the 'alternative' vibe. Spend your time and money elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious & Interesting - you will enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have been here many a time for breakfast and once for lunch. We had heard about this place through friends and were very impressed by it. We were able to hide away in one of their many sections and enjoy some delicious food.It's funky, interesting and relaxing, a little bit of Melbourne in Perth. The food is fresh and not too badly priced, with menu options and cabinet options available. They are joined with a gallery so there is always something happening. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Atrocious Service! Actually, NO, it can't be called atrocious! Service has to exist for it to be atrocious. There was NO SERVICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We tried to have lunch at this cafe and were really disappointed to have to leave unfed!!

This cafe has a great concept but it sadly & badly let down by a terrible staff attitude which borders on being down right rude and certainly completely disinterested in providing any service.

We admittedly arrived a bit late at 2.20pm, although we had checked online where we found no reference to the kitchen closing at 2.30pm. Regardless we should still have been in time to get lunch had the staff been interested.

Unfortunately they weren’t. Having never been to the cafe before we did not know whether there was table service or we had to go up to order, so we took a table and sat down presuming one of the staff would at least talk to us. After 5 minutes (2.25pm) of being ignored, I got up to find a staff member and ask whether there was any table service. The rather rude and disinterested response I got was “No! Go to the counter”. It wasn’t so much the words, but rather the attitude and delivery of the words that really grated. No welcome. No friendliness. No interest in us as customers.

And importantly no mention of “please place your order quickly, as the kitchen will close shortly”

So I went to the counter and retrieved some menus. and went back to our table. We decided what we wanted and I went to the counter (2.30pm) to place the order only to be told the kitchen was closed and not taking any more orders.

We wanted 2 panini and a steak sandwich. Not complex in culinary terms. The panini appeared to be already prepared in the bay marie.

I have to say I was a little irritated by this stage and just walked off. As I walked off one of the younger staff members did try to point out that the panini were available. However the more senior staff member or chef (not sure which) told him not to bother; and no attempt was made to serve us further.

I did ask to speak to the manager and was met with blank looks as though the concept of management didn’t equate, let alone there being the possibility of a manager in existence. Perhaps thats the problem!

Pity to have had such an unpleasant experience after the first impression was so promising and exciting. And in subsequent conversation with other local Fremantle residents, it seems my experience was unfortunately the rule rather than the exception. Nice place! Terrible service/staff attitude.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, Public Relations Manager at Moore & Moore Cafe, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that your experience at Moore & Moore was not a good one.
We would really like to be able to provide our customers with a full table service, but unfortunately we are not set up to be able to do so at the moment. As soon as we can upgrade our equipment, we would like to implement this, but in the meantime, we have begun taking additional orders at the table. I can assure you that it is always our desire to provide our customers with a friendly and efficient service.
I'm also sorry that your interaction with our floor staff was not pleasant, and that our chefs were not more helpful in their explanations to you. Your experience is not in line with the kind of experience we wish for all of our customers, and your comments have highlighted gaps in our service which we can now bring our attention to.
Thank you and if you are ever in Perth again, please drop back in as I'm sure that on your next visit we will certainly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moore & Moore Cafe also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
East Fremantle, Fremantle
 

Been to Moore & Moore Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore & Moore Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.