We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Hotel de Nymph

Save Saved
You added Brasserie Hotel de Nymph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brasserie Hotel de Nymph
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorstraat 45, 3231 Brielle, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Brielle
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived on our bikes and were quickly ushered into the back garden to park our bikes by Sven, and promptly taken care of by his spouse, Esther - both of them personable, warm, energetic, extremely likable and attentive hosts. It clear to us that they care about their guests’ well-being and comfort.

There is a comfortable bar and restaurant on the main floor where delicious, reasonably-priced fare is served. The owners are security-conscious, with state-of-the-art key cards to gain access into the areas where the guest rooms are located.

I had asked for a room with a bathtub and separate shower, and De Mare (2nd floor room) did not disappoint. Stylish, beautifully refurbished and designed room with windows facing onto the main street at the front of De Nymph. Spacious, modern bathroom. Largest tub ever.

Mattress topper to turn twin matressed into a comfortable king bed. High quality bed linens. Large flat screen TV close enough to the bed to comfortably watch. Stylish, and functional fixtures throughout, eg, full length mirror and a glass top table that has an adjustment lever to raise and lower height - a very clever design. Large, comfortable armchairs and reading light, also a desk and chair.

Despite the fresh, contemporary design, the owners have preserved the original ceiling beams and an antique oval above the entrance door - classy and attractive.

It poured rain in the evening, despite which we and others ate outside under the green-striped awnings. The friendly waitress ran in and out to serve us with a smile, and the food was well-presented, generously portioned, and delicious. 10 out of 5 for dinner. The breakfast in the morning was quite modest - adequate.

This is an exceedingly comfortable and appealing hotel, situated on the prettiest main road in Brielle. It garners high recommendations from both of us and 5 stars for effort and results. We have some improvement suggestions. To take it to the next level, we suggest to you, Esther and Sven, the following:

1. De Mare needs drawers or shelves for clothes. It had many places for hanging but only a top wardrobe shelf for all folded clothes, hats, bags etc. The full length mirror piece is great, but the space behind which is a bar for hanging more clothes, could be better turned into shelves for underwear etc. Alternatively, add a small chest of drawers where the full length mirror piece is, and affix the mirror to the inside of the wardrobe door. Easiest/least expensive option might be to build more shelves into the wardrobe to provide better storage options.

2. Would be great to have a floor fan for hot weather in case guests don't want to leave windows open at night due to noise concerns.

3. Coffee-tea making facilities - with the downstairs bar, this is not necessary, but on my wishlist.

4. Water bottle with glasses were provided - a nice touch. Include a "with our compliments" card so guests know they are not being charged for it as they would be in most NA hotels.

5. Respond to all emails queries - this one may be out of character but I never did receive a reply to my email about rooms.

6. Introduce yourself by name. You are both lovely, so tell your guests who you are and don’t wait for them to ask your names. It speaks to a warmer, more personal welcome.

I would not hesitate to stay at this appealing, well-cared for hotel again, and strongly urge you to look no further.

Room Tip: De Mare on the 2nd floor overlooking the street was great - with large soaker tub and separate showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here about 25 nights whilst on a project at Europort. Excellent service is provided by very good humoured staff, managed by Sven and Esther. All the rooms are different and mine, was clean, had character, was certainly roomy and had the broadband connections I needed. Wi-fi works well in the bar / restaurant area. Menu is excellent as is the food quality. In fact the restaurant quality is hard to beat in the whole town.

There is no parking associated with the hotel, but there is plenty in the streets close by

I love Brielle and if I ever have to return, De Nymph would be my first choice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at de Nymph. We had a very tasty dinner in the brasserie and also lingered over our breakfasts overlooking a well-tended garden. We were very impressed with the modern and very clean facilities in our bathroom. The high quality toiletries were by RITUALS. The bed had a delicious mattress and the room was large with high ceilings and big windows. The staff was helpful when we asked for an iron and friendly during our encounters. Esther and Sven are the hardworking owners who saw to each guests needs with a smile. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to our return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night during our cycling tour of the West of Netherlands. It was the best hotel of our trip!! The building was beautiful and the rooms very tastefully decorated and with all details such as Rituals toiletries. Service was very attentive and the food in the restaurant great. The breakfast was simple but very nice. There were not scramble eggs out but they made them for us on request and they were delicious. They also let us park safely our bikes in the back garden. I will really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel was a welcome haven after a journey from Amsterdam. We'd originally booked a 2-night stay, but booked an extra night after the dump we'd left behind!
It was clean, cosy and very, very welcoming. The staff were so very friendly; the room was wonderful with a large picture window overlooking the garden at the rear, which although over the kitchen (pots of herbs under the kitchen window used in the cooking... mmm), was extremely relaxing and peaceful.
Breakfast was tasty although a choice of hot chocolate at breakfast as well as tea or coffee would have been nice.
Fresh toiletries on each of the days we stayed would have been nice but this again is very minor in the grand scheme of things.
I hope I'm lucky to return to this hotel in the future - bargain hotel, great service, great staff... what more can I say?

Room Tip: Garden view rooms were quiet - worth booking a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel de Nymph is a great example of a small hotel with great, personal service. We stayed here for a weekend in June 2012 and we will stay here again when we visit Brielle in the future. The hotel is located in de main street in the city centre in a wonderful historical building that dates from 1585. It only has 9 rooms, all suites or junior suites, so it feels personal and cosy. The staff is helpful and the service is great. We had dinner in Brasserie de Nymph, also part of the hotel, on our first night. The menu was good and original, the food tasteful and of good quality and the service warm and welcoming. We booked breakfast for both days and we were glad we did. What a nice and relaxed way to have breakfast in a hotel. Since there are only 9 rooms, there weren't a lot of guests. So no lines for the buffet and a lot of attention from the staff for all guests.
We stayed in Brielle before (we just love Rockanje beach), but that time we stayed in Fletcher hotel de Zalm. We liked that hotel far less, compared to the Nymph. So if you have the chance, try this hotel and restaurant out for yourself. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Nymph is located in the shopping street of Brielle. No cars, just walking people and bikers.
The hotel and restaurant are nice and comfortable. Very nice rooms, good beds.
Staff is very friendly and helps you with anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brasserie Hotel de Nymph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasserie Hotel de Nymph

Address: Voorstraat 45, 3231 Brielle, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Brielle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Brielle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brasserie Hotel de Nymph 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Brasserie Hotel de Nymph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasserie Hotel De Nymph Brielle, The Netherlands - South Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Hotel de Nymph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.