We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping to your Saves list
Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Schutzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a Topdeck trip. The location was absolutely beautiful (and so is all of Lauterbrunnen!) The cabins were nice but basic and facilities clean. There was a bar which was lots of fun. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a lovely place to spend a few days. Stunning surroundings and free bus to the train station from outside the backpackers. Double rooms in the main building were very clean, and sink in room was useful. There seem to be quite a few additional costs outlined on the website (car-parking/showers/cooking facilities) but even if you paid all these additional costs this would still work out MUCH cheaper than most of the other accommodation in the area. Friendly staff on arrival upgraded us (without us asking) to two double rooms in the main building rather than a quad room which meant we didn't have to pay for showers and we were never charged for parking as stipulated on the website either, so it all seemed very relaxed. Staff were very firendly and kept bar open late as a big group of backpackers arrived on the saturday night. And it's a very cool bar!! They were happy to recommend places to visit the next day too. My two (tiny) niggles would be that the hairdryer in the ladies toilet block wasn't working, but as it wasn't busy I just the one in the men's instead, so no real problem. Also the cookers in the kitchen were very slow to heat up (seemed to be pot luck depending on which one you used), but again this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the trip. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have fond memories of this establishment mostly due to the beauty of Lauterbrunnen.

The facilities themselves are adequate. The rooms were clean though got rather cold at night. The cabins are small. No keys for the door so your room is unsecured when you are out and about. This was concerning.

The bathroom block is not attached to the cabins which is unpleasant in the cold, dark night. Showers are coin operated but warm. Laundry facilities were greatly appreciated.

Wifi available, but they required you to purchase something from the shop in order to get a wifi code.

Lauterbrunnen valley was stunning and I greatly enjoyed wandering the village and hiking the waterfalls. Would return to this establishment simply to enjoy the beauty of the community.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Although cheap, arrogant unconcern is the problem. We were late getting out of Italy (duh), so they sold our two night booking. We had tried to call (seems no answer or messaging if they are not at the desk) then got a chance to e-mail (used booking.com link). Owner admitted not reading that email address. Took all our money and left us without a room for the second night. Not only did she sell our room and also take our money, she wouldn't help us find another or allow internet. We had waited for them to show up, so it quickly got dark and cold in this winter mountain village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauterbrunnen hotels

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Really, as long as the rooms are clean and warm, the location makes this place worth staying at. It's completely stunning, a charming little town, and the bar made for a fun night. Stayed here as part of a Topdeck tour and it was perfect for us. The only downfall is that the toilet block is not attached to the rooms so be prepared to rug up in winter for trips to the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our room had an fantastic view out the window, which alone was worth staying here. We stayed in a double room which was good value for money and quite spacious (though very basic). The bar and shop were ok but there wasn't a lot of choice.
There is a supermarket around 10 mins walk away and there's a communal kitchen which is better to use than the expensive restuarants nearby.
Probably the cheapest option in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Simon the guy in charge was exceptionally rude to most of the group I stayed with. He refused to give people change for the showers which cost 50 Swiss francs. They were largely clean but smelly and most toilets had broken seats. The rooms were tiny and you couldn't turn the hearing up. They advertise free wifi but he will only give it to a couple of people and it only lasts half an hour. Breakfast was good and the location is gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping

Address: Schutzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.