We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping to your Saves list
Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Schutzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our room had an fantastic view out the window, which alone was worth staying here. We stayed in a double room which was good value for money and quite spacious (though very basic). The bar and shop were ok but there wasn't a lot of choice.
There is a supermarket around 10 mins walk away and there's a communal kitchen which is better to use than the expensive restuarants nearby.
Probably the cheapest option in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Simon the guy in charge was exceptionally rude to most of the group I stayed with. He refused to give people change for the showers which cost 50 Swiss francs. They were largely clean but smelly and most toilets had broken seats. The rooms were tiny and you couldn't turn the hearing up. They advertise free wifi but he will only give it to a couple of people and it only lasts half an hour. Breakfast was good and the location is gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauterbrunnen hotels

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at Schutzenbach for 2 nights on a coach tour. The rooms are well organised with enough room for 4 to share in 2 bunks. The chalet adds to the experience of staying in the Swiss Alps. The staff are friendly and understand English very well. There is a little shop which sells gifts, drink, snacks etc for good prices (the village isn't far).

At night, the rooms do get cold, but the heating in our chalet worked a treat however some other friends struggled with theirs.

There are no locks on the doors as the crime rate is NIL in this photographic little retreat. With mountains all around, it is an ideal little venue if you are touring the Alps and want a bed for the night. There is also a bar!

Room Tip: The road is not noisy at night so it doesn't really matter where you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in a 4 bedded room with three others whilst on a topdeck tour. The room was very tiny for 4 people and 4 luggages. The rooms had no locks, as it was apparently a safe place to be (This doesn't mean that other tourists are as trustworthy as the locals though, does it?).

This place had a communal shower and toilet area. You also need to pay for your (warm) showers here. This is pretty decent though.

Don't forget that the Swiss have different adaptors to other European countries! They will lend you blowdryer and adaptors at the reception.

Wifi is free with purchases from reception or the bar. Wifi reception only works close to those two locations though.

Was in a good location, not too far from the train station and a few stores.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed there for two nights during a Topdeck tour.
I stayed in a 4-bed cabin that was pretty small but comfortable.
I went in September and at that time they do not turn on the heating so I was frozen during both nights. You need to go outside to access the shared showers so the cold really hits you. And to take showers you need to have change (in Francs) with you. DO NOT PUT ALL YOUR CHANGE AT ONCE, wait until the water runs out before putting more money, or you will loose it all!
Despite this, you are in Switzerland so the cold is to be expected. The sceneries and the quietness of the area makes it all worth it. And I had so much fun at the bar on site. You'll have a good time, guaranteed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lauterbrunnen is just too nice of a place to not enjoy, even if the accommodation isn't the best.
Gorgeous little cabins, with no locks as there's no crime in Lauterbrunnen! The only thing was having to walk to the toilet & shower block when needing to use the toilet which got quite filthy with lots of people staying.
Was in a cabin of 4, with 2 bunk beds, small desk & small wardrobe, they supplied blankets & pillows.
Great location with just being away from the main strip & great staff.
The only thing was the reception being flooded with mobile phones, cameras being charged as they kept all their adapters behind the counter, these could've been given out or hidden in more secure places, regardless of their no crime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in August 2012 on a three night trip to Lauterbrunnen and its surrounding villages. We had heard Lauterbrunnen was a quiet, scenic place so we decided to make it our base for our exploration.

The Schutzenbach is more of a hostel and campground (not sure why it is referred to us a 'retreat' on here) which offers basic accommodation at a low price (especially in comparison to other options in the area!). You can camp or stay in standard dorm cabins (with bathroom facilities shared by all), or there is a building with a few private rooms and a shared bathroom for these rooms only - which we opted for. The room was very basic, with a desk, a wardrobe and two small single beds, but with a view out the window of the amazing cliffs on either side of the valley. The room also had a jug and coffee/tea.

This place caters to TopDeck youth tours, so it does get a bit loud at night (they have a decent sized bar) but we didn't find it too bad. One thing you DO have to watch out for, though, is that the registration office is only open for a few hours in the morning, and then it closes until 4pm, when it opens again. We arrived at midday and by chance happened to bump into a guy with keys to the bar so we could put our luggage away while we explored the town. Also, the WiFi is free but it only works around the registration office.

With that said, the staff are really friendly and helpful, offering advice on what to do and what to see, and the place is perfect for getting to other little Swiss villages, too. I'd definitely recommend this place for its price, location and staff.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the rowdy drunk TopDeck crowd then ask to be placed away from them, or get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping

Address: Schutzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schutzenbach Backpacker & Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.