We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Hostel to your Saves list
Valley Hostel
Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall, good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Valley Hostel is situated very close to the train station and close by to everything you need since it is in a very small town. It is a budget hostel and it saves on cost by getting you to put on your own sheets and taking them off at check out, thereby keeping the rates low. The room has good heating and high speed wifi, however the shared bathroom could have been cleaner. Overall, great value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    63
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
73
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Absolutely loved this place...very homely, wonderful helpful staff! Staff made phone calls for us to organise our skydiving and changing dates etc, and were very patient! Great kitchen facilities and clean bathrooms! Very close to train station and the views from the room windows upstairs are phenomenal. Wifi is awesome too...very fast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our short stay in Lauterbrunnen. It is within walking distance to Lauterbrunnen train station. Room was clean and very secure. The hostel itself was very clean and you are not allowed to use your own shoes inside the house, had to change into a slipper.The room we booked was a double bed room and facing the mountains. Very nice view. Recommended!

Room Tip: Check in was late in the afternoon. If you arrive early,go and have a cup of coffee at the nearby co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked this due to the good reviews it had and upon arrival it did seem like a nice place with clean rooms and friendly receptionist lady. However the next morning we tried to cook breakfast and was told by the guy that kitchen is closed at ten which we didn't know. So I explained that we were both sick with a cold which is why we slept in and that we didn't know there was a sign in the kitchen. He still refused us and called me a liar and that I should have known. I pleaded again to just let us eat something hot cause we were sick then he got right in my face and started yelling saying hes the owner and these are the rules and told us we had 5 min to pack and leave.

I have never been treated so rudely before.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Rude and terribly un-welcoming to our 2 kids (when we checked in she directly asked if our kids "were going to cause a problem?" and our kids were not misbehaving), owner mis-calculated charges for our 2 nights there and had to ask us for more money, we asked for breakfast for 2 mornings, they didn't charge us for breakfast for both mornings so there was no breakfast the second morning, thank goodness I had bought some things to eat... Not much of a loss anyways, "breakfast" was 6CHF/person and consisted of 2 slices of bread, jam and coffee. Wow, for that, do you think you could spring for some fruit??? We've been all over Europe and I used to live in France (so I know rude and small European breakfasts) but this place was terrible. They also couldn't accomodate our family (3 adults, 2kids) in one room together, we had to split up. Clean place and good location, but be prepared for attitude and check your bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We loved our experience at the valley hostel. Our view was simply breathtaking! It overlooked the mountain and waterfall. The bed was comfy. My boyfriend loved the pillows as they are super soft. There are various kitchens at the hostel that are well equiped so you can make your own meals. (a good idea as the area is ++$$. A spaghetti at a restaurant will set you back >$20!). The location is great. It's a 5 minute walk to the train station and cable car to Murren and Coop grocery store. Trummelbach falls are ~20-30 min away by a nice walk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I (we are both 30yrs old) stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and for me, this was my first hostel experience. I kind of hate to admit this, but I love a great hotel. So, I have to admit, I was a little reluctant to try Valley Hostel over another place. However, some friends of ours had stayed here before and said it was great, so why not? First thing first. If you are going to this area, STAY IN LAUTERBRUNNEN! Trust me, do not stay in Interlaken. Lauterbrunnen is about a 15min drive from Interlaken and about a thousands times more incredible. The town itself is what you dream Switzerland will be like. As far as the Valley Hostel, it was everything we wanted it to be. We stayed in a private upstairs room and it was honestly perfect for what we needed. Nothing too fancy, but who needs it when you're in Swiss Alps. For us, it was great and in a perfect location. The staff there gave us all the information we needed about the best hikes and restaurants to eat at. They couldn't have been nicer. You do have to take your shoes off when inside, which is kind of strange, but hey, I wouldn't want to clean up peoples muddy boots after hiking all day. All in all, this place is an amazing hostel to stay in for the price and it provided everything we needed during our stay in Lauterbrunnen. I would recommend it to anyone who isn't looking for the finest hotels. For that, Interlaken is best bet.

Room Tip: I personally would pay a little extra for a private room. You get more private bathrooms and rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.