We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Hostel to your Saves list
Valley Hostel
Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for four nights with two friends during a backpacking trip through Europe. The staff is some of the friendliest I've ever encountered in a hostel. They kept the place spotless, and were always receptive to us. We booked a paragliding trip through them, and I know that there were lots of other activities they could have helped us with as well.
The 6-bed room was lots of fun to stay in, as we had roommates from China, New Zealand, England, and other places over the four days we were there. There is a kitchen that everyone can use, a dining room, and a porch where I spent many hours sitting in the sun and reading.
The location is excellent- the town of Lauterbrunnen is right at your doorstep and the train station is within five minutes of walking, as is a Co-op.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
67
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The location of the hostel is great, in the centre of Lauterbrunnen, and very easy to find, and easy to park. The weather has been around 28-31 the whole trip so the rooms in the hostel have been a tad warm, forcing us to leave windows open later in the day and letting flys in (though this is not the hostels fault). Our double room was rather spacious for a hostel, we had our own balcony, with a drying rack for our clothes and bench seat to take in the views of the mountains.

The cooking facilities are a little cramped, with only 4 burners for all the guests, we chose to cook later as we found it easier than trying to get in when everyone else was cooking. We were on the first floor, which had 1 toilet, where the rest of the bathrooms were located below the ground floor.

The staff were helpful in getting us settled in, and organising us towels and power adapters. Wifi was great throughout the hostel, connecting was easy too.

The location was great, 5 minute walk to pretty much everything you could need, including an internet cafe/bar/booking agent Airtime Cafe. We booked all of our extra activities at Airtime, as well as had our morning coffee.

Room Tip: Couples should definitely book a double room over a dorm if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed there in a private, double room on a long planned vacation, for a few nights, and we regretted it from the first look into our room. it was small, when you got out of the bed, you would almost hit the ceiling, not enough communal bathrooms, staff not too nice, problem with the old slippers that you had to use...and the worst thing, as some other guest pointed out, we took the advice of the staff for the trips and we've done more than planned in a day, got tired, because of that we have not been able to enjoy the places visited the way we would have expected... so... if we will ever go again we will either camp out at the campsite if on a budget, or use a proper hotel for the price that it takes... and use your own judgement for trips and walks... don't listen to the staff over there as there are better options...

Room Tip: if you can go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and sister for three nights in May and would definitely recommend it. It was the cheapest place I found in Lauterbrunnen and we had a triple room of our own.

Shared bathroom but that's normal in a hostel and it was clean. Somebody accidentally flooded it one day (our guess is that they showered with the curtain open) and it wasn't cleaned up til the next morning but aside from that no complaints. Shower had good water pressure which was a nice change from some of the other places we stayed. Beds were very comfortable, only problem was the pillows were a bit rubbish, but we found that virtually everywhere in Europe, even the 3-star hotel we stayed at in Munich. Maybe Europeans just don't care too much for pillows?? But fold the pillow over and it worked fine.

Our room was very spacious, it had its own little table and a wonderful view of the valley and waterfalls. Our room was right by the shared kitchen and dining room which was very convenient. Although the hostel was apparently booked out while we were there, we never saw another person using the shared kitchen/dining facilities. We bought breakfast and picnic items from the supermarket down the road and made our own breakfasts every morning, and also made sandwiches to take with us for the day. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could need and was clean.

We notified reception that we would be arriving after reception closed as we'd had numerous train delays during the day, they said that was fine and left the key out for us. The only odd thing was that you have to remove your shoes when you enter the building. I know this is common in some homes but have never come across it in paid accommodation before. No big deal though.

Location is great, it's about 2 minutes' walk from the train station and Coop supermarket in one direction and 30 seconds' walk from one of the best restaurants in town in the other direction. Lauterbrunnen is so small though that everything is quite close. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our family of three stayed in one of the "3 bed" rooms. It was big (biggest room we've stayed in so far on our trip thru out france and swtizerland) It had a great view. Was very clean. Beds were nice and cozy. Bathroom down the hall was very clean. You need your own towels. Nice kitchen area if you want to use it. Staff (Petra) was very very helpful. Absoluetely a great value. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in May in a private 4 dorm which had 2 bunk beds and a stunning view of the mountains. The hostel is the cleanest one we have ever stayed in. You could eat from the shared bathroom's floor! There is good-sized kitchen with good cooking facilities and a nice dining room to eat or play cards.
The hostel is situated very central and is walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our rooms! We were staying in a dorm of 8! The place is absouletly clean and I loved the shower rooms! It's unlike any other hostel I stayed! Clean and spacious!

We loved the view from our windows and the location is an excellent based to go up the mountains.
Only 2 minutes from the rail station, we can go anywhere! The owners were warm and friendly! Will definately recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.