We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with beautiful views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Hostel to your Saves list
Valley Hostel
Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great hostel with beautiful views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great value hostel. We had a double room which is quite small - room for bags but not much else. Great balcony with a bench and great view of the waterfalls and alps. The street of lauterbrunnen isn't that big so doesn't really matter where you stay. Stefan was great in helping us chose activities and recommended which mountain to go up and see. He also provide us with discount vouchers to use which was great. Free parking and wifi. Only negative is no tv in the common area. As it was quite rainy while we were there this would have been great. Not really a big deal though. Would def stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
73
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Switzerland can be eye shatteringly expensive and so The Valley Hostel represents remarkable value for money.

This is a pleasant hostel, in a superb location. It is clean, safe, relatively quiet and friendly. Our room had a shared balcony with a view which justified the price on its own. Free wifi is also a bonus.

It's not perfect - the kitchens are small and our room lacked a window we could keep open at night, but these are minor details. In a country where you can pay 12 Chf for a quarter pounder meal at McDonalds, The Valley hostel is superb value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Lauterbrunnen is a wonderful place in the middle of the Oberland. I stayed here 3 nights; spending Day 1 in Interlaken coming from Lausanne, Day 2 exploring the Schilton and Day 3 exploring Jungfrau and Mannlichen. Lauterbrunnen is fantastic as it has the Staubbach falls up close (next to the cemetery), rustic feel of a small town (in contrast to Grindlewald) and great views every morning!
When I was staying there, there is a problem with the ceiling room light, which was not rectified even on the day I left. This can cause the light to automatically switch itself off after a certain time and very annoying. This is a blemish to an otherwise fantastic experience in Lauterbrunnen

Pros:-
1. As the train station is at the north end of the village, the tourist information centre and COOP is nearby so that you can stock up on your supplies before checking in.
2. Budget friendy. Get a private room for just CHF33 per person per night
3. A small kitchen, but just enough for 2 cooks. Good for cooking your meals in the expensive country

Cons:-
1. A stiff walk 10 minutes from the train station. If you are as unfortunate as me to lug a
huge bag around. that uphill stretch from the train station will be memorable
2. No shoes policy indoors
3. Private room for 2 is very small. There is also no wash basin in the room; which can be found in hostels in Geneva, Lausanne and Bern.
4. Lack of toilets on the private room floor - this is a hassle as most visitors get up early in the morning and come back late in the day to experience the mountains. Thus everyone seems to clash at the same time period
5. Only 2 plug points in the room. One next to the door and another right on the floor near the exit window. With mobile phones, cameras and camcorders to take this all in, it is insufficient.
6. The above mentioned room light...

Room Tip: Get a private room for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Valley Hostel in mid-June, and it was great! As expensive as Switzerland is, this hostel is a great value. Our room was nice, clean, and spacious. We had a little balcony that looked out into the valley - it was beautiful. We shared a bathroom with 2 other rooms on our floor, but we knew that going in. There is also a shared kitchen, which is nice if you want to make your own dinners once in a while. The hostel also has free wifi, which was great. The owner of the hostel was also very nice and helpful.

The location was awesome! It's right on the main road in Lauterbrunnen, and no more than a 3 minute walk to the train station, Coop market, ATM, lift station, and several good restaurants and shops.

Lauterbrunnen itself is a nice little town, and is very convenient for taking day trips and hikes farther up in the Alps.

Also, I would highly recommend eating at Hotel Oberland across the street. We had two dinners there, and they were both fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My friend and I spent three nights at the Valley Hostel. Firstly, we noticed a lot of hidden costs. For instance, when we arrived a couple leaving 30minutes after the 10am check out were being charged an extra 5 francs. There is a cost to use internet if you do not own your own computer which was extremely expensive. Also, staff only recommend pricey activities and keep information about free activities withheld. Staff also have discount coupons for activities which they only give you should you inquire with them.
The second issue we had was with the kitchen. There is no oven available to guests however the staff have their own that they can use. They shut the kitchen off to guests between 10am and 12am and then turn the stoves off from 10pm to 8am (stoves need to be lit with lighters which only staff members have). You need to read the signs in the kitchen to figure out this information and staff are extremely rude if you are found in the kitchen 2 minutes outside of these times.
On our last night, we began cooking dinner at 9.40pm after enjoying a free concert the people of Lauterbrunnen put on to thank tourists for visiting their town which finished at 9:30pm. The staff member who was working that night came into the kitchen at 9:55pm and we told her that we would eat our meal and then clean up and she told us that that was okay. We returned to the kitchen 15 minutes later to find she had piled our pots into the middle of the kitchen and placed on them a sign with a sad face that she had drawn. This was completely unnecessary and unprofessional.
Note that shoes are not allowed in this hostel. When entering you must take your shoes off and put the hostel slippers on which are communal and very old (seemed unhygienic).
The staffs rudeness and hostility was a damper on our stay in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Valley Hostel is close to the train station and reasonably priced. I stayed in an 8-bed dorm on the first floor for 3 nights. The free wi-fi was accessible outside in the corridor and bathroom and occasionally in the room.

Unfortunately the hostel has no lockers at all, which means luggage is often strewed messily across the floor (could just be my roommates, but lockers would have helped). Any important belongings should be handed into the office to be put in the safety deposit box, but this means you can only collect them when the office is open (until 10pm) and they never even asked for my name or anything to match me with my valuables.

The communal area is the kitchen and a few chairs outside (if it's not raining). Nice enough, but no area to really relax. It is a nice, generally clean building. The showers are automatic and need to be re-turned on every minute or so. Don't take too long with the shower either, because the automatic light in the bathroom switches off too!

One more little issue was that the stoves need to be lit by the hotel staff, so they're either kept on all evening or you need to go and harass them to light it - a little inconvenient.

Overall, the location and views were amazing and it was a very worthwhile experience. It's a nice hostel, just be aware of these issues in advance - hopefully they get fixed soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Perfect location close to railway station. Room had a great view and shared bathroom and kitchen didn't pose any problems. Staff could have been more helpful but we did get a chocolate bar, which obviously scores some brownie points.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen CH-3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.