We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality amid wonderful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oberland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oberland to your Saves list
Hotel Oberland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT=BEST RATES!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality amid wonderful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

As a frequent visitor to the beautiful Bernese Oberland over many years, this gets our vote as the ideal place to stay. We've been to other places in the area but this one beats them all. Our first visit to the Oberland was for skiing and this time's was to enjoy the magnificence of the mountains covered in fresh alpine flora as well as get away from life's daily challenges! Its valley location is a great place to start from each day to savour what must be one of the most beautiful areas on earth. Interlaken is a short train journey away. It's equally good just to stay around, to relax and chill. The Oberland is handy for the station and a warm welcome awaits on arrival. Ursula, Mark and all the great and friendly staff go to great lengths to ensure you enjoy your stay. The room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. Eating great food or having a drink on the terrace restaurant at the front of the hotel is a pure joy and it's a good place to people watch. Our next visit should not be too far in the future as the scenery is inspirational and time is easily filled with walking, relaxing and all the attractions of the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    86
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
95
130
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
W. Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed at the oberland this May and had a beautiful time. Ecconomical too. Mark and Ursula Nolan, the owners, are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. The rooms are neat and clean. The balconies all have great views of the village and the Staubach Falls. Happy hour with a bottle of wine on our balcony after a day of hiking was always great. The hotel is located right in the middle of the village so getting around is always easy.
The sidewalk resturant terrace is a great spot for people watching and the menu of Swiss specialties is fabulous.
All in all another great stay at the Oberland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Six of us stayed at the Hotel Oberland for 4 nights. The service was excellent. From the pre trip information given to us on how to get there to the excellent food and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. Mark and Ursula were very helpful in providing maps and information on the area.We had a wonderful apartment with a balcony that allowed to wake up to views of the snow capped Jungfrau and to watch the bell- wearing cows being driven through the village. Lauterbrunnen was looking its best with the sun shining and the meadows filled with wildflowers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

During a recent family emergency, I had to travel unexpectedly to Lauterbrunnen. Several family members rushed into town without time to prepare for a trip so far from home. The owners, Mark and Ursula, made many special efforts to help us during our time of need. I cannot say enough about these kind people. They run a nice hotel, serve good food and employ friendly staff. If I ever return to Lauterbrunnen, the Hotel Oberland would definitely be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This little hotel is such a wonderful place to stay.
The owners are friendly and so helpful and Lauterbrunnen is such a spectacular and beautiful area!

The town is very small, but the places to explore are amazing. We took the cable car up the mountain to take a walking track that followed along the valley at the top of the cliffs. We are not experienced hikers but found the track to be very enjoyable and visited several small villages along the way.

We visited the Trummelbach on the way back (a suggestion from the owners of the hotel) and it was definitely a worthwhile sight. These amazing waterfalls inside the mountains!

The restaurant was exceptional! We ate there both nights that we stayed.

From what we could see this hotel was the most lively place in the village. A must if you are headed to this area of switzerland!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed 3 nites @ Hotel Oberland. Glad we chose this over hotels in Interlaken. While there's hardly any shops to walk around, the setting is beautiful in the valley, with great serene scenery around. Very relaxing.
Convenient location as train leaves here for Jungfraujoch and the other villages.
We had a clean, big room with balcony.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I don't think it really matters where you stay in Lauterbrunnen. Purely because there are the most amazing mountains and valleys to explore, i imagine you will spend very little time in your room. However, Hotel Oberland proved to be a good choice. The Hotel is conveniently located within a couple of minutes walk from the station (yet no noise i might add) in one of the most beautiful places in the world. The South African lady working at reception was lovely, the owner not so friendly, but it wasn't an issue.
Our room was basic, but it was clean, had a comfortable bed and a small, but adequate bathroom. Mind you, if you were tall, your head would hit the roof in the bathroom of our particular room. Oh, and its also worth a mention that the shower head is not on a rail, its one of those ones you have to hold, so it was a bit of a struggle. Our room on the first floor had a shared balcony overlooking the main street and restaurant below and then up across the valley to the mountains. Such an amazing view to wake up to.
We ate a lunch and two evening meals at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good (obviously, or we wouldn't have gone back for more) Skip the ice cream menu and go for the homemade desserts if you have a sweet tooth, they were sssoooo good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberland

Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oberland 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, family run hotel is in the centre of Lauterbrunnen, only a 5 minute walk from the train station, not far from the famous "Staubbach" waterfall. Lauterbrunnen itself is situated in one of the most awe-inspiring settings in the world. Ideal for summer and winter vacations. We also have a popular restaurant serving typical Swiss dishes and other tasty things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberland Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oberland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.