We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel in the Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silberhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Silberhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a great hotel in the Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We recently spent several day athe Hotel Silberhorn. There were three adults in our party. We had two rooms sharing a bath. The main bedroom had a kingsize bed and a skylight with an amazing view of the Alps. The second room had a twin bed and a set of bunkbeds. There was also a sink in that room. The staff was very helpful, the included breakfast was filling, the hotel beautifully landscaped and the rooms clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. The hotel is a wonderful homebase for an Alpine vacation.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    107
    28
    12
    2
See reviews for
70
199
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

The desk staff at the Silberhorn Hotel is very nice and speaks English. The funicular construction immediately adjacent to the hotel is noisy, but is expected to be completed by December, 2006, according to the sign on the site. I had a room at the back, next to the construction, without a balcony or view, but I only paid $72 US a night for the room, so it wasn't a bad deal. If I had it to do over, I think I would change to a more expensive room at the front or side of the hotel (or the building in back) to have a better experience. I also had a run-in with the restaurant staff, who were reluctant to give me ice to take to my room. I absolutely loved Lauterbrunnen. I do believe my heart is still there, although the rest of my body flew back to the states earlier this week.

  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The place needs a full revamp. It is very dated , although clean, and had the feeling of a retirement home.

Had one meal in the hotel, very expensive and the contents not fully explained. I ended up having the worst meal of my life, terrible. To top it off the music was so annoying.

The rooms were dated, but clean, and the views wonderful.

We did some great trekking from the hotel, so location is great.

Wisey and Sue
Victoria
Australia

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

An OK hotel, but not the best. They are building a new funicular directly next to the hotel right now, so there is a LOT of construction noise that begins at around 7AM in the morning and continues as late as 6-7PM at night. If you are unlucky enough to be on the back of the hotel, this will be a significant issue, esp. if you want a little rest or nap later in the afternoon after a long day of hiking, etc. Bathrooms VERY tiny and there is only a thin sliding glass door (not optimal for privacy). No fridge or minibar in the room. No air conditioning in the rooms. Only 2 very thin feather pillows on the beds and no extra pillows in the closets. Staff only moderately friendly, and English skills are not the best. Breakfast is very good and all-you-can-eat, but I personally could have done without the threatening sign on the buffet which tells you not to make a sandwhich for later out of the breakfast. I mean honestly, who cares?

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed at the Silberhorn in June, 2006; 2 adults and a 13 year old. We had a corner room with windows on two walls with a spectacuar view of the mountains and several water falls. From our deck we could hear and see a very large waterfall. Our room was fine by European standards; certainly not modern but very nice looking and very clean. The Inn has beautiful flowers outdoors and a little green area where we watched and listened to birds sing as we had our morning coffee. Included breakfast was nice. They have two dining options at dinner, a fixed price dinner or al la carte. Also dining inside or on a glassed in patio. We found the food to be excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. It felt more like staying in a B&B. We will return to Lauterbrunnen and we will book at the Silberhorn.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

We enjoyed our 5 nights at the Silberhorn in June. We arrived from Italy which unfortunately was a nightmare journey so we were tired and grumpy when we got there. They efficiently installed us in our room, which was in a separate building to the main chalet. We had an upgraded room with magnificent views up the valley. For thenext few days we spent very little time at the hotel but what time we did spend there was enjoyable. Only ate one meal at the hotel which was very nice. If I was returning to Lauterbrunnen I would definately stay again, although our travels around Europe lead us to believe that the Bernese Oberland is grossly overpriced for food, accommodation, activities etc, compared to equally beautiful areas of Italy, Austria and Germany. For that reason only we would not return in a hurry

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

You get a good first impression from the Hotel Silberhorn. It is a good looking place, located almost next to the train station, being a mere two minute walk up a small driveway from the main road of the village.

We had booked one of their ‘plus’ rooms via the hotel’s web site. Normal rooms were 160 CHF a night, and we paid an extra 30 CHF per night for our room. We are very glad we did, although nearly regretted it on first impressions!

We had room 61, which was in a new-looking chalet building, separate from and just above the main hotel building. Our building was reached either via the car park, or by walking through the pretty rock garden from the front of the hotel, to the top level of the garden. This was the way we walked down to eat each morning and evening.

The room was very nice indeed – extremely large, with 2 beds pushed together to make one big comfortable double, complete with duvets rather than blankets, which we liked. The room included a large television, with numerous stations (although only CNN in English), a table with four or five comfortable chairs around it, a sofa bed, and a huge balcony with a table and garden chairs, and a brilliant view over the village and up the valley. The mountains were on the left, and the waterfall was on the right, and the view was beautiful.

At first, we thought we must be the very first people to use the room (we weren’t, as it turned out). Everything looked brand new, and this opinion was gained by the scaffolding that was all over the building! This was one of the first disappointing impressions, combined with walking out onto our balcony to find two workers standing there, about to start oiling the woodwork. We did complain about this, but were assured that the work would be completed, and the scaffolding removed, the very next day. They were true to their word, and for our second and third evenings we sat out on our balcony with uninterrupted views.

On the second day, the owners were frantically sawing wood, with a noisy power saw, right outside our building. This went on until 6.30pm, and was quite annoying considering we returned from a long day out at around 4pm, and wanted to just sit on our balcony and relax. There were no such distractions on our third day, however, and I’m sure this was just ‘one of those days’.

The bathroom was very clean, with plenty of shelf space. It did, however, have a most peculiar ‘design fault’ with the sliding glass door. The door was generally frosted, to afford some degree of privacy, but there were three areas of clear glass. From certain places in the main room, you could literally be seen sitting on the toilet, which was somewhat disconcerting. By lying on one side of the bed, you could also get a great groin-level view of somebody in the shower, too!

Of course, this won’t matter at all to many couples who are holidaying together, but just in case you’re thinking of going on holiday with the family, you really may not want to watch your Mum on the loo!

The bathroom came only stocked with two tiny sachets of gel/shampoo and a tiny bar of soap. These were not replaced each morning, either, and we had to ask for some more at reception.

The room did not have air conditioning, and it did get hot during our stay in June. There were lots of windows and patio doors to open, however, so a breeze was easy to obtain. It had no refrigerator or even a bin, apart from a tiny one in the bathroom.

The staff are extremely friendly, and make a point of coming round during evening meal and saying hello to everybody. This added a nice personal touch.

For an extra 28 CHF per person, you can have your evening meal at the hotel. We would recommend you consider this option for some, if not all, of your evenings. There are a few other hotels in the village, where you could eat, but we decided to have all three of our meals at the Silberhorn.

The food was excellent. The dining room is a lovely extension to the front of the building, next to the rock garden. The five-course meal started with a visit to the great salad bar, followed by a small appetizer, soup, the main course, and a nice dessert. Drinks were available from the menu, and jugs of water were always offered. The food was excellent quality, and well worth the price paid. The hotel has a different seating area for a-la-carte and visitors to the restaurant.

Breakfast was served in the same dining room. This was fine, with a reasonable choice of cold items including breads, croissants, cereals, yoghurts, preserves, meats, eggs and cheese. Tea and coffee were brought to your table.

We were very pleased with our stay at the Silberhorn. Yes, we had the disappointment of the scaffolding on the first night and the sawing on the second day, but these didn’t alter the fact that the room was great (bathroom door excepted!).

We did note, however, that you might be staying in one of three buildings – ours, the main building, or even another house just over the road. It seems likely, therefore, that that there are many varieties of room size as well as quality of view.

We would very much recommend speaking to somebody before booking a room, rather than just doing it over the Internet. This way you can discuss exactly what you would like.

We would have been very disappointed, for example, to not have the superb view over the valley that we had. Even the other two rooms in our own chalet building would not have our view – they would have looked out the other side of the building, onto the considerable construction works currently going on next door, where the funicular railway is being replaced by a cable car.

Overall, the friendly staff, excellent location, lovely room and wonderful views outweighed the slight problems we encountered, and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.