We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Silberhorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CHF179 (CHF)
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Despite the rainy weather we enjoyed our stay here. The town is breathtaking and the hotel is VERY convenient to the train and cable car. Taking the train and cable car to Wengen and Murren is a must. As stated before the noise from the public transportation is not a problem. The breakfast is very nice and the staff couldn't be more accommodating.
To find the hotel you need to go up a slight hill across from the train station. The pizza restaurant down the street was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    82
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
144
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a walking holiday. Standard rooms are small(ish) but clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food (2 dinners) was excellent and good value. The hotel is near a cable car but don't let that put you off, it's so quiet. The hotel is reasonably central, handy for the train station, and everything is easily walkable. Lauterbrunnen is a lovely little town in the valley bottom, nicer than Wengen and cheaper. Visit Murren up the valley. A short ride up the cable car, then a lovely walk to Murren and up the Schilterhorn if you fancy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved the place. The location is all that makes it special. It is about half an hour train journey from Interlaken so you can easily go to Interlaken. The location is also ideal for trekking or exploration by walk. There are two waterfalls nearby. To sum it up, if you want to stay at a peaceful place away from the main city this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruisbroek, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We already stayed several times in Hotel Silberhorn and every year we had a excellent period. Very friendly staff, pleasant rooms, lovely food! We 're always looking forward to go back to one of the nicest places in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is literally right beside the train station and cable car station. Makes it really convenient to get to the surrounding areas. Short walk to the waterfall nearby.
We used this hotel as a base to go Jungfraujoch, Murren, Wengen and other areas.
Very clean and reasonably priced for a Swiss Hotel.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned to the UK after 4 weeks touring France, Italy and Switzerland. We have stayed in fantastic places and excellent hotels, but our 8 nights at the Silberhorn at the start of August was, without question, the highlight of our trip.
From making the initial booking right through to leaving the hotel, every aspect of the service was just outstanding. The welcome offered was second to none and the hotel is literally picture perfect. We stayed in a superior room which was worth it for the extra space (it effectively was a one bedroom apartment but without a kitchen) and balcony. Our stay in Lauterbrunnen at the Silberhorn was one of the best and most memorable experiences of our lives (and given our ages, that's a lot of experiences!!!)

At some stage, we will return to the Bernese Oberland and when we do, there is only one place we will choose to stay - the fantastic Silberhorn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel Silberhorn is located right off of the main street in Lauterbrunnen. An easy walk from the train station, the hotel is situated next to a "Wanderweg" trail head which we used both days we were here to explore the valley. Nice breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable room with a view of the falls, in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.