We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that understands good customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silberhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Silberhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hotel that understands good customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished we'd stayed more. The hotel staff were so friendly and professional. At check-in the lady on reception helped us with our bags to our room - there is no lift. Our room was a fair size, a little basic but comfortable and impeccably clean which was really refrreshing.

We had the set menu at dinner but changed our minds and wanted to order from their dinner menu, which they were only too happy to arrange for us.

If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay with great views and helpful staff, this is the place to stay. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    91
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
62
167
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Champaign IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Wengen. They were gracious enough to feed us something though we’d arrived after their dining room had closed (~9:30 p.m.). They gave us the choice of two rooms, and we had slightly tighter quarters, because we chose the room with a nicer view and shared terrace. The bathroom was small with a tiny window that was blocked by another wall. If you think of camping, you’ll be fine. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was adequate with a lovely view from the dining area. Free car parking—not a problem as long as you can do stairs. Incredible location with views

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at this hotel last month. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a large delicious spread. Very conveniently located, just a short walk from the Lauterbrunnen train station. Also close to the Coop and the bus stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked a superior room for 3 nights directly with the hotel. We were given an upper floor room with a balcony and the most beautiful view over the valley. With no lift this might be a problem for some people, but it didn't affect us. The hotel is well situated close to the train station. We loved our stay in Lauterbrunnen and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors with bacony have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I agree with other reviews of the basic rooms. Small, basic furnishings, small bathroom, spareness with pillows, towels, toiletries, etc. the location in itself is what make the hotel wonderful with the balconies that overlook the valley. I spent a bit of time on a rainy day just reading in bed with the windows open and that was quite nice. Noise does travel and you can view into rooms across the corner. Breakfast was hearty with eggs, bread, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereal and a self making espresso machine. We loved the restaurant for dinner on the patio (make a reservation for these seats). Did not however like the incongruous 80's pop music coming in the speakers above our table. The staff were helpful and live cam tv station in the lobby helped us decide our daily plans.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuaim da Gualin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is just a beautiful place.The hotel is just a short walk from the railway station.The staff were great.The views from the hotel are beautiful.The grounds at the hotel are lovely.The breakfast and breakfast room just great.A grand peaceful place to stay.The railway station is very convenient for trips up to the Alps.Its just great.Would love to come back to this hotel.
.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a small balcony on 2nd floor at the front of the hotel and the view was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the hotel and had a lovely time. The hotel is well situated for hiking and atractions in the area. We stayed half board (breakfast and evening meal) which included a fixed 5 course dinner which we found varied, tastey and satisfying. The only (quite serious) problem we had was that despite specificlly booking a superior room 6 months in advance and confirming by telephone just before we left for Switzerland, our first night was spent in what I could only describe as a 'Very Standard Self Catering apartment' in a seperate building opposite the hotel. That said, we were moved to a lovely (Superior) room with balcony in the main hotel once I raised the issue. Shame we didn't get what we booked straight away really as if it wasn't for this I would have reviewed the hotel as excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm that you have a room (Superior or otherwise) in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Alten Isenfluhstrasse, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.