We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be honest - a bit of a disapointment!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Staubbach
Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT and SAVE 5%
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“To be honest - a bit of a disapointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

I feel like the odd one out here as I don't seem to be sharing the same enthusiasm as everyone else! My husband and I have just come back from our honeymoon touring Europe - one of our stops being The Hotel Staubbach for two nights. This we thought would be one of the highlights of our honeymoon, but unfortunately due to the terrible weather, our stay was a complete wash-out! We felt cheated as Lauterbrunnen was completely shrouded by cloud the whole time we were there! We hoped that Hotel Staubbach would go some way to make up for this unseasonal weather. But when we arrived in the pouring rain and we were taken up to our room, we couldn't help but feel slightly disapointed. I'd ask for a balcony view and that we got (which I must add is worth paying the extra for) but our room was so tiny. You could only go single file into the room and well it was just so basic! It wasn't what I expected at all as their website makes it look so luxurious. For me it was nothing more than a Youth Hostel. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were spotlessy clean and the beds were extremely comfy, but there were no tea making facilities or TV's in the room. There were communial facilities on the ground floor, but again that just added to the Youth Hostel feel. I have nothing against Youth Hostels, but as it's a 'Hotel' and was chosen for its seemingly luxurious ambience (and Trip Advisor reviews) I found the classy website a bit misconceiving. The breakfast buffet was your typical basic continental, served in a very dated canteen/dining room. Nevertheless it had a fantastic view of the impressive Staubbach Waterfall. All that said, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I must admit there was a great buzz to the place!

  • Liked — The view from the balcony
  • Disliked — Too basic and very small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    146
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
154
319
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was friendly and resourceful. They gave good and accurate reccomendations for hikes and restaurants. Our room was in the attick. It was small and quaint with a shared bathroom. Breakfast was generous with cereal, bread, fruit, juice, coffee, meats, cheese, and spreads. The hotel was full of what mostly seemed like American tourists.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

The Hotel Staubbach is located in the town of Lauterbrunnen. It's old but so well kept and clean and each morning you wake to the Staubbach Falls pouring out the MT side. Truly a beautiful Swiss town. We fell in love with the area on our honeymoon in '87 and it took us 20 years and 2 kids later to visit again. Hope it doesn't take another 20 to visit again.

The staff at the Staubbach are wonderful. The rooms vary, we had one updated room and our daughter shared an older room. Both faced the falls and though not fancy, the view made it a superior stay. The breakfast was good, breads, meats, cheese, fruit, etc. The staff really went out of there way to make sure you enjoyed your stay and gave great advice on various towns and spectacular hikes!

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

First off, this hotel is not the poshiest and fanciest hotel that one thinks of as 5 star, but I will upgrade their rating to from 'above average' to ''Excellent' due to the following factors:

- friendly and helpful staff
The staff gave great recommendations on hikes, weather forecasts, and when to visit certain sights (e.g. Top of Europe). They are always friendly, smiling and made sure that we are comfortable.

- great view of Staubbach from the Breakfast area and the public balcony upstairs. You have to see the view to believe it.

We had a suite, which was a double in one room, and another single that's connected with a bathroom (shower and toilet) in the middle. Each room has its own sinks, which was convenient.

The double room was completely renovated, as was the bathroom. The room was decorated simply, with wood paneling accents, and multiple windows that opened inwards. The only nit I have is that when the windows were opened it's difficult to walk around the bed without bumping into them. Even though I booked 7 months in advance I was unable to get a waterfall view room, so I advise booking way ahead for the best selection.

The single room was one of the 2 that remained to be renovated. If you get one of those rooms it may be a bit appalling. The ceiling had cracks, the carpet was threadbare, and the curtains were old. I was told that the last 2 rooms will be done after this winter season.

The breakfast was simple but good, and the Lauterbrennen area was very quiet (even though cars are allowed), and a few good restaurant choices. If you like waterfalls and love Yosemite and don't mind simple accommodations Staubbach is a great option. Wengen seems to have more upscale/resort like hotels.

Lastly, an after dinner stroll of the valley floor with its many waterfalls is an option at Lauterbrennen.

  • Liked — staff and room
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

We had a wonderful 2 day stay. The people at the reception were friendly and helpful. The room was of a good size with a slightly small bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate. There was free coffee and tea available all day which was fantastic. Internet was available for a fee. Would definetly stay again.

  • Liked — location, friendly reception
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a Bed & Breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.