We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Place on Earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Hotel Staubbach
Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Place on Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lauterbrunnen is so amazingly beautiful and Hotel Staubbach was the perfect place to stay. The hotel staff was very helpful in assisting us on figuring out which hikes to do based on weather and snow levels. They were the most friendly staff I've ever had the pleasure of witnessing. The view out our balcony facing Staubbach Falls was gorgeous and we found the perfect way to end a day of hiking was by enjoying a bottle of wine on the deck facing the valley. The room was basic but fairly spacious and had a full tub/shower, which was nice. Our trip was in April and we lucked out on the weather! Sunny days and a light snow fall season meant there were plenty of good hiking trails that weren't muddy or snow covered. We even took the train one day to the Jungfraujoch "Top of Europe". The facility at the top of the mountains is a bit touristy and the indoor sights were cheesy, but you couldn't beat the views. If you go, be sure to pick a sunny day. Also, plan to walk the ~1 mile trek up to the Monchsjoch Hut (Monk's Hut) for lunch. The trail is packed snow, so hiking shoes will suffice. You'll be at 12,000 feet, so the air is thin and may take some extra time, but most tourists don't do it, so you'll be able to get away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing Staubbach Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    161
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
171
372
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is our second time at Hotel Staubbach, the previous stay being May, 2013. We traveled with another couple and happened to stay at the beginning of the "official" hotel season in late March. Everything good I remembered from the previous visit still exists. Angie at the front desk was outstanding, recognizing our return with a glass of champagne and great service. Nothing was too much to ask whether it was help with dinner reservations, weather conditions or peculiarities of the area in this season. Unfortunately, we were a month too early to see the waterfall in full flow, but that's not a knock on the hotel. It seemed to me that there had been a little updating of the windows from our last visit. They seemed new and easier to operate. We had the room next to the room we had previously, facing the street and the waterfall. Since Angie was training staff, she was on site practically 24 hours/day and took care of us extremely well from check in to check out. The location of this hotel is a little bit of a hike from the train station, so be prepared for that. But, it puts you closer to the waterfall and to Camping Jungfrau, which is the most reasonable place to eat out. Breakfast at Hotel Staubbach is similar to a lot of Swiss hotels (scrambled eggs, assorted meats, rolls and pastries, etc.), but the breakfast room has big bay windows for looking out on the mountains, valley and waterfalls. Hotel Staubbach is a rustic chalet-like hotel. So, you have old hallways, some creaking steps, a small but quick lift, and basic but well-equipped rooms. You have room to put things away, hangs things and sit sown. There is also the balcony, where you can also sit (a little cold in March). Of course you want a view of the waterfall, so ask for a room facing the falls or at least facing the front of the hotel. There's no TV, but there are better things to see out the windows. The reason I give this older, not-exactly-fancy hotel a 5 star rating is partly because of its location but primarily because of its staff, especially Angie, who are committed to providing the best service possible. They really make you feel welcome and try their best to help you enjoy you stay in Lauterbrunnen. We certainly enjoyed ours, once again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful backdrop. Loved our stay there. Staff are amazing. Very friendly. Felt like home. We were celebrating my husband's 60th Birthday. They arranged cake and champagne as instructed by my son from NZ. One morning we missed breakfast as we both over slept and Nayal (hope I got the spelling right) waited and kept our food for us. Extremely touched by the gesture. All the staff- Adam and Dani and others were just too good. Free tea and Coffee was a lovely touch as well. Room 34 was amazing. Could see the waterfall and the mountain from our bed. Had an amazing time in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to go for room 34 if possible. If not -ask for the room with good view and I am sure they will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms facing the water falls, there was a wrap around shared terrace that opens from the room so guests can hang out and just take in the Alps. Waking up to that view at the morning was priceless. The staff was very friendly: Brandi, Adam and especially Angie. They made sure to talk to the guests and answer all questions as much as they can.
There was an indoor "picnic area" where guests can bring in their own food and reheat it, also coffee and tea in the lobby was offered. It had a homey atmosphere. I'm glad we booked here.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the waterfalls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed staying at Hotel Staubbach. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us plenty of advice about surrounding walks and transport links. Very clean, nice touches like the free tea and coffee all day. Tasty and varied breakfast. The highlight was the room (34) with dual aspect views of the valley and the best view of the main waterfall. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I researched Switzerland for months since we knew we wanted to go to Jungfraujoch and decided to stop in Lauderbrunnen. This hotel was rated one of the highest out of all of them so we opted for this. They didn't take payments online but they were able to arrange that with us ahead of time since we didn't want to carry so much cash with us while traveling. Angie was very helpful and we felt at ease that we didn't have to carry so many euros to pay them.

We opted for the room with the balcony and view of the waterfall and we got exactly that! The room inside wasn't much to care for, but we got our own bathroom and we were on the family floor so that's all I can ask for. However, once we open the blinds every morning, we were greeted with the beautiful waterfall, it was nice.

Breakfast was nice and lots of options to feed the kids. They even dyed the eggs which made it a lot more fun for the kids to eat hard boiled eggs.

On our last day, Angie realized we were in room 33, and she apologized that they ever put us in that room with 4 people, but we told them it was fine. I guess the worker that night that checked us in only saw one of our kids so he figured that room was fine. It was more than fine with us, we enjoyed the free tea and coffee everyday on our balcony, it's more than we can ask for. I love it. I would stay at this exact place again if we ever come back, which, knowing my husband, we will.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

One of my best hotel experience ever! Cozy bedrooms, Staubbach Falls right outside your balcony, church bells ringing, the valley and quaint houses outside your window, and breakfast set out for the early risers.

It was raining when we arrived and left but all is good when the staff are so friendly to greet you with a dry towel when you arrive and send you off with rain ponchos when leaving.

Definitely a recommended place to stay while in the valley. You wouldn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a Bed & Breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.