We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Hotel Staubbach
Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT and SAVE!
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Rooms a bit on small size if you have large luggage but clean and comfortable. Staff very attentive and anxious to help. Flexible in arranging checkin and out. Highly recommended.
Camping Jungfrau restaurant up the street is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    158
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
168
364
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were VERY pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great and the location worked perfect to see the area. As a family of 3, the bunk beds in the 'family' room worked for our son and our luggage (not much space other than the bed)! Having the sink in the room made it difficult to keep quiet when others were sleeping though. All in all, we would recommend the hotel. Dinner at the Camp ground restaurant down the road was very good too!

Room Tip: See note about sink in the 'family' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We could not have had a better stay in Lauterbrunnen! We booked a last minute trip here and we were so please we did as it was the HIGHLIGHT of our 2 month time in Europe! We were lucky to find Hotel Staubbach. They were so flexible with us for arrival and departure times and did all they could do to help make the stay enjoyable. We booked the Attic room and it was perfect for us. It was just two of us and we really do not care sharing a shower or toilet with others. We actually liked being up in the attic as it had a lot of personality. The beds were comfortable, it had a sink in the room and was perfect as we were really only there to sleep and prep for our day! They had a great wifi connection and public balconies we could use to watch the sun set or observe the waterfalls! We could also see the waterfall from our window in our room!

Breakfast was served each day and was simple but good. Eggs, breads, bacon, cereals, hot drinks, cheese, and meats. We even took a piece of fruit for our hikes each day. All day long they offer free tea, coffee, and water and they offered free parking for guests! We enjoyed sitting on the couch in the lounge watching the 007 James Bond Movie that was filmed up the mountain! We then took the adventure up to see the restaurant at Schilthorn! That trip is amazing! We only stayed two nights and this was how we spent our time:

Arrived in Lauterbrunnen: 2pm
Walked the Valley (Took a snack) 3:00-5pm
DInner out
Watched James Bond Movie in lounge!

Day 2
Walked to the gondola near the train station and took it up the mountain. We then walked over to Murren! It was a BEAUTIFUL hike! It is fairly flat and is not a tough hike at all. (I never hike and was fine!) We enjoyed lunch at Restaurant Stagerstubli (it was only ok...). We then took the gondola up to Schilthorn (warning: the last gondola coming back down from schilthorn was at 5pm. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy it) We only had an hour and it was fine but we would have liked another hour or so for more photos and possibly enjoy a snack up there. We were able to take a bunch of photos and have a coffee up there with just one hour! We then took the Gondola back down to Murren and walked down to the Gimmelwald town. It was a lovely walk down the mountain and again a easy one! Enjoy this lovely town! The people are SO friendly! We then made out way down to Stechelberg via a gondola and then walked the valley back to the hotel.

When we arrived back at the hotel, we had a free cup of tea, and watched the sun set. We then walked to dinner (2 minute walk) to Restaurant Steinbock where we had the most amazing Tomato soup and then ended the night at Schutzen Restaurant for Beers and live swiss music! It was a magical day!

Day 3
We woke up early and watched base jumpers jump off the mountains! It was amazing! We then ate breakfast, got ready for the day and then checked out of the hotel. They were amazing and let us stay in the lobby and plan the rest of our day! We decided to make a few detours on our way back to Zurich. We first stopped in Grimmelwald (sp?) There was nothing that special there but we went on a hike that was pretty cool! We then went to Giessbach and parked at the Grand Hotel and there is the most AMAZING waterfall there! We spent an hour or so walking up to the waterfall and enjoying some wine and cheese there too!

We were sad that our time to this amazing and beautiful town came to an end so soon and will certainly be back and would not even consider staying somewhere else other than the Hotel Staubbach. Angie (the manager) and her staff were AMAZING! Thanks Angie for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40 which was an attic room! It faced the falls! It was a great one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our visit to Lauterbrunnen. I highly recommend this hotel, as it was clean, centrally located, breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really liked the hotel, staff were great. It is pretty simple but really nice relaxed atmosphere. The views of the valley and Staubbach waterfall are just breathtaking from the rooms on the south side (they are a bit more expensive but worth it - I think you can only get these rooms by booking direct on their website). We did quite a lot of hiking and even paragliding - awesome. Will definately return to the Lauterbrunnen Valley on our next trip to Europe.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In a small valley, with Staubbach Fall in your balcony, this is place to be if you want to stay in a small valley of Staubbach. A 5 min. walk from Railway Station, hotel itself is clean, cosy, staff is really great.
Many rooms open with balcony infront of the FALL, at night the Fall is wonderful. If you take a room, a Balcony with waterfall (which charge is extra) it might be noisy for some poeple and completly amazing for others.

Just a few min away is Jaunfrauch camp, the restaurant in this place is just Super AMAZING..Dont MISS the PIZZA here.

Lauterbrunnen can be a grat place to stay as you can take frequent 40' train to Interlaken and enjoy Interlaken itself.

Room Tip: ROOMS with WATERFALL is good, if the second floor, should be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My aunt and I stayed here for 2 nights and this is my most favourite hotel during my Europe trip in Oct 2012. Though the hotel is away from the railway station about 5-10 mins walk. But I think it really worth the walking to it. The splendid view of the waterfall in our room balcony really worth it. It's most relaxed and comfortable place I ever visited. Just imagine after the visiting to Jungfrau and come back to room balcony to have some red wine and the view of the waterfall is just in front of you. I think is everyone dreams of having this kind of experience. And you can have it in Hotel Staubbach. The room is consider spacious for Switzerland hotel and the bed is super comfortable. I slept through out the whole night.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They will recommend us on what to do and where to eat as well. Staying here let's us feel like we are staying at home, the friendliness and coziness of the hotel really let's us enjoyed the stay most.

The breakfast is great. Simple and has few varieties to choose from. And you even can view the waterfall during breakfast. You can also have free flow water, tea & coffee at their lounge area before closed during night time.

For those who can't live without TV in the room may consider it difficult as the rooms do not have TV but you are able view TV in their lounge. There is computers in their lounge as well for free usage. And importantly for me during the trip was that they provided free wifi and the connection is good.

Lauterbrunnen really a place to take a break and relax. And the best place to stay will be Hotel Staubbach!

Can't wait to visit Lauterbrunnen and Hotel Staubbach again.

Room Tip: If you want waterfall view and not near to the church side, can consider Double room balcony west. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a Bed & Breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.