We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Hotel Staubbach
Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely stay with convenient location. Clean comfy rooms. Paper thin walls so bring your ear plugs. The staff were exceptional, especially Angie who is a wealth of knowledge. Good breakfast. Great little find.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back for quieter spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    173
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
402
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Luaterbrunnen is not overflowing with hotels. We stayed here based on other reviews. The room was clean, with a south facing view (waterfall). The room was adequate using American standards. We did have a balcony which was very nice. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to our requests. Breakfast was very good and included with the room rate. It was a good value. The big surprise was this hotel had a lift (elevator). It is about an 8 minute walk from the train station, but not anything that would make it an undesirable location.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room with a view of the falls. We were in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Staubbach. The rooms were very clean and cozy. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The overall feeling of the hotel was very warm and inviting. Breakfast was excellent: eggs, breads, bacon, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea... Didn't mind not having a tv in the room. There are a couple of lovely common areas with tv's where we met some lovely people. The views all around the hotel are amazing!!!! It has a fairy tale setting with the waterfall out front, the alps all around, the river and small scenic train running behind it. Loved the sound of the church bells from the nearby steeple. ( Don't miss the yodeling concert at the church). Conveniently located. It is helpful to have a car as it is a walk to the other end of town. Very convenient parking at the hotel. Hope to be able to return someday!!!

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 and 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location! Clean! Very friendly staff. We always talk to Nikki and Maria. Very helpful can't ask for anything more. We came from 11 days cruise and I always add a side tour and Switzerland was my choice. We loved it! I know we will.. I was more excited than all the 9 countries we visited. By that time we were running out of funds so, we book the attic room with shared bath. It's not bad. But the room since it's in the attic can be really warm. I was told there is a fan, yeah a cute tiny one. We were there August and it was really hot. With the windows open it helps to cool the room by few degrees but be ready with the insects. It didn't bother me that much, better than an oven room. Shared bath is always available. Curtain needs to be replaced. If you have the extra money get the rooms below. Other than that it's all great! Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the room by the falls. Don't get the room in the attic in summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a solo hiker and a newbie to the Lauterbrunnen region, I could not have been happier with the Hotel Staubbach. Each day I was assisted in my planning by one of the extraordinarily kind staff. I received help with trains, restaurants and best hikes for the weather. The rooms were perfectly clean with a charm that speaks of a 100 year old treasure of a hotel. The breakfast room had a wall of windows overlooking the falls and the snow-capped mountains. The two lounges were welcoming. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms have a beautiful view of the Staubbach Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been traveling to Europe over the last 30 years and this is our first trip to Switzerland. We are doing a 17 night Northern Italy, Switzerland, Germany trip with only 4 of those nights in Switzerland, and 3 of the nights at Hotel Staubbach, Room #18.

Our room is on the 2nd floor with balcony, 2 chairs and table, absolutely amazing view of the valley, falls, and snow capped peaks. We can hear church bells and cow bells from our room and we just saw a herd of sheep parade across the street in front of us.

Beds are very comfortable with wonderful down comforters.
The room is not large but functions well and the bathroom is modern and very clean.
Wifi works really well.
There is no TV, phone, frig or coffee maker which is totally fine with us. They do keep coffee and tea available in the common room.

Nicci (from Hungary) at the front desk is very friendly and helpful and made a huge difference in making our short 3 night stay memorable.
Maria in the dining room was very friendly too.

Breakfast is plentiful and very delicious.

We had 2 dinners at the reasonable and lively Weidstubli
at Camping Jungfrau just down the road and enjoyed beers across the street at the Horner Pub.

After seeing Murren and Wengen, we are so happy we chose Lauterbrunnen and the Hotel Staubbach. It was a perfect stay for us.

Below are what we did on our two days:

Monday, Oct 1 - Schilthorn

Cable car to Grutschalp - used Swiss rail pass

change to train to Murren - used Swiss pass

Murren was socked in with fog so decided to keep heading up the mountain

Caught 11:40am Murren-Schilthorn cable car - 1/2 off with Swiss pass so 37CHF pp rt.

Had a brief break in the clouds that afforded spectacular views but mostly cloudy.

Had 2 beers and one salad at the rotating Piz Gloria restaurant hoping weather would clear but it did not.

Cable car back down to Murren and then walked 30 minute all downhill on paved road to Gimmelwald. Weather still socked in. Gimmelwald is really tiny!

Cable car Gimmelwald to Stechelberg - used Swiss pass

Took bus to Trummelbach Falls - covered on Swiss rail pass!

Nicci at our Staubbach hotel recommended this and it was fantastic!

Walked back (about 30 minutes) to Lauterbrunnen.

A great day even through the weather was not ideal.


Tuesday Oct 2 - Jungfrau

We did not get an early start. Left about 10am and returned by 5pm

We did not use a day on our Swiss Rail pass today but used it for discounts on the fares.

Train Lauterbrunnen to Wengen, 15 minutes, 50% off with pass, CHF 3.20 pp

Walked through Wengen to cable car station - nice town - larger than we thought-lots of fancy hotels ( we still like Lauterbrunnen).

Wengen-Mannlichen cable car - 50% off with Swiss pass - CHF 12 pp

Did the walk Mannlichen to Kleine Scheidegg - about an hour - very easy - first part was really socked in with clouds but by the end the mountains opened up!!!

Caught noon train to Jungfrau - 25% off fare with Swiss Rail pass - CHF87 pp - takes one hour

Much of the journey is in a tunnel. We lucked out and had blue skies at the top but were disappointed by how "Disneylandish" the whole thing is. Now we understand why people prefer Schilthorn. We grabbed the 2pm train back down.

We had a wonderful lunch on the terrace of the Grindelwaldblick (less than 10 min walk up from

Kleine Scheidegg train station). Views were really spectacular.

Train Kleine Scheidegg to Lauterbrunnen - we were surprised when they only gave us 25% off on this fare - assumed it would be 50% off - expensive at CHF 21.20 pp

When we returned to Lauterbrunnen at 5pm we finally saw the gorgeous snow capped mountains that have been hidden since our arrival.

We are now sitting on our balcony at Staubbach Hotel with the most incredible view and a herd of goats with bells just paraded by. Truly a beautiful day in Switzerland!

Room Tip: Room #18 on the second floor with balcony is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As part of our honeymoon road-trip through Europe we stayed one night at Hotel Staubbach. It is lovely located near the waterfall that as the whole region is just breathtaking.
The room was very nice as you would expect from a mountain resort, very cozy and clean.
The staff is very friendly and we enjoyed the lovely surprise in the room. We had rose petals on the bed, a bottle of bubbly and a lovely welcome congratulations letter. Excellent touch that made us feel welcomed and valued.
The dinner recommendation was excellent, thank you.
Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.