We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality we have ever received!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Hotel Staubbach
Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT and SAVE!
Valrico, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hospitality we have ever received!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This review is long overdue; however, my husband and I are so grateful for the hospitality we received while staying at Hotel Staubbach. Thanks to Angie and the staff of Hotel Staubbach, my husband and I had an amazing time exploring the Swiss Alps, one that we will never forget.
Angie and the staff were extremely helpful in helping us decide what we wanted to do in the limited time we had while staying in the Lauterbrunnen valley. My husband and I have stayed in 5 and 4 star hotels before and never felt as comfortable as we did while staying at Hotel Staubbach.
Due to time limitations, Angie recommended that we take the train up to Kleine Scheidegg, as we would not be able to make it all the way up to Jungfrau. We saw the most amazing views, had a few beers, and met some other fellow travelers along the way. We stopped and had some fondue back in town and proceeded to our hotel room where we sat on the balcony and enjoyed the lovely view of the waterfall. It was so relaxing to hear the falls at night. We woke up the next morning to smiling faces and a tasty buffet.
After reading some of the less favorable reviews posted (there are few) I think that it is fair to point out that if you are looking to stay in a new hotel with a television and other such luxuries, this may not be the place for you. In fact, Lauterbrunnen valley may not be the place for you. In my opinion, spending time here is about re-connecting with yourself and getting away from all of the distractions that we have to deal with on a daily basis, television included. We felt like we were walking around in a postcard the whole time and if we ever have the chance to return, we will be staying with Angie at Hotel Staubbach. Thanks Angie for everything!

Room Tip: Request for a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    158
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
168
364
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Staubbach and just as wonderful the second time around. We were greeted in our room with a bottle of wine because we were returning guests. The staff is super friendly. At breakfast each morning one of the staff will come over and ask "what are your plans for today"? They are full of fabulous suggestions. They know which hike might be too difficult. Having checked the various webcams they will suggest if it's a good day to go to the top of the mountains or not. And, oh, yes, the breakfast!! I've never had such a good "breakfast included.". Meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, rolls, fruit and hot scrambled eggs, bacon and toast with fresh jams. Coffee and tea available all day. Staubbach is a gem I'm so glad we have discovered!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee-Co Louth-Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding area are stunning and should be included in any tour of Switzerland. The view up the Lauterbrunnen valley and of the waterfall from the Hotel Staubbach are wonderful, but do yourself a favour and enjoy them from outside, then go and stay in another Hotel, a good one.
CHF 170 per night for this place is an absolute joke, we have stayed in 5 star luxury at the Chalet Royalp in Villars Sur Ollon for the same nightly rate.
This place calls itself Hotel Staubbach and has the Hotel sign outside but is rated on tripadvisor in the bed and breakfast category, bit confusing but I think it pushes it up the ranking table a bit.

The Pros:
The view from the balcony
Breakfast is just OK
Parking available on site
Horner Pub
Checking out

The Cons:
Room was dull with very basic furniture, and camp beds in wooden frames, one of which was broken. Carpets have seen better days. The hotel interior is dull and dreary with very little natural light in corridors etc. The church bells DO ring all night. The balcony is not private. The sink is in the room. The room and the bathroom were very small, but at least we had a bathroom, some rooms share facilities (in 2012 this is a joke). The staff try hard and don't do anything wrong theres just something missing and we didn't find it very friendly.



We spent very little time in the room and were lucky that the weather was fantastic for the 2 days, I really wouldn't like to be stuck here if the weather was bad. I don't understand the review scores for this Hotel or B&B, or whatever it is. The reviews must be coming from Hiker types that wander around all day getting in the way of cars and don't really mind where they sleep at night, I suppose the Staubbach is better than a tent, if only just.

Lets assume that it's the hikers that are pushing the scores up. Where does that leave a couple touring Switzerland and who want some class and some comfort for their CHF 170 per night. Believe me it is not at the Staubbach. I can't recommend any other establishment in Lauterbrunnen as we haven't stayed at any of them. I just doubt that any can be this bad. Avoid it !

The Horner Pub has taken a lot of stick on this site, probably from Hiking types trying to sleep at 9 pm so that they can be up early to get in the way of the cars again. We found the Horner Pub to be a great place for the evening, friendly people, and great food at good prices. Yes it's a little bit noisy now and again, but this is a holiday village and people come here to enjoy themselves, so get over it. Wherever you end up staying in Lauterbrunnen visit the Horner, its a breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: We supposedly had one of the better rooms, I'd hate to think what the rest are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is an amazing value for the area. We loved coming back at the end of the day and sitting on our balcony looking out from the valley to the mountains. The staff at the front desk were knowledgeable about the many walks and hikes in the area, as well as knowing train times to get to nearby sites. They also gave us up-to-date weather forecasts to help us choose our activities for the day. Our bed was comfortable and the shower was strong. Lauterbrunnen is convenient to Murren/Schilthorn, Jungfrau and Interlaaken. We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed the hearty, hot breakfasts two mornings as well as the early breakfast option the day we set out early. Our room was small, but they made good use of shelves to maximize available space. Also, there is both a library and living room on the first floor for guests. We liked the location within Lauterbrunnen: great view and short walk to the train station. I agree with others that this is a NICE 2 star. Maybe it is 2 star because it does not have A/C or the rooms are small? We liked that the staff was extremely helpful, the bed was comfortable, the view was beautiful, as well as small touches like ice, coffee and tea available throughout the day.

Room Tip: We had a south-facing small balcony double room which enabled us to have a great view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay to explore the Berner Oberland area. It is a short walk from Lauterbrunnen station, has good parking facilities and the room we had overlooked the main street and adjacent waterfall, but was very quiet. Thoroughly, recommend.

Room Tip: This is an excellent place to stay to explore the Berner Oberland area. It is a short walk from Laut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Had we known what we know now, we would have skipped our two nights around Lake Geneva and headed straight here. We booked on advice of Rick Steves travel guide and were not disappointed. It's a small hotel with charm of a bed and breakfast. Nicole and Angie at the front desk were so helpful and friendly. A heat wave (which no one anticipated) was occuring during our stay and hotel had no airconditioning, but Nicole came through with a small fan for our room. In my email to the hotel, I mentioned we were bringing our mother for her 90th birthday and my husband was celebrating his birthday as well. We were surprised with a bottle of wine, ice bucket, wine glasses and a personal birthday card for them! What a personal touch! Balcony offered beautiful views of the valley of Lauterbrunnen in the alps and a waterfall...postcard perfect. Of course, the bells of the church ringing every 15 minutes and the celebration at the Horner Bar sometimes interrupted the peace, it was expected because of the travel guide. Maria in the dining room offered wonderful advice on hikes and sight seeing. Also appreciated by these Americans was a small ice machine in the dining room! Definitely would recommend this hotel and would return ourselves. Did not realize the hotel was given 2 stars! What a mistake! The hospitality and friendliness was 5 stars.....breakfast - 5 stars. Thank you, Hotel Staubbach.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the celebratory atmosphere at the Horner Bar across the street and the church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had three nights at the Hotel Staubbach. We went there because of the great reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. Those people were all right. It is a charming hotel (Don't be put off by its 2 star rating, it is a great place to stay). Our room was comfortable, although the ensuite was only small. We had a view of the falls and it is definitely worth trying to get a room with a balcony. The view up the valley from our window (it is what we woke up to each morning) was stunning, indescribable. The breakfast was lovely. But the biggest plus of the Staubbach is the staff. They were simply outstanding. Helpful, attentive and cheerful. They had great knowledge of the local area and were full of information and helpful tips about what to do and where to go. Out stay in Switzerland was a highlight of our European Holiday, and the stay at the Staubbach was a good part of the reason for that.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Mainstreet, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a Bed & Breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.