We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Staubbach to your Saves list
Hotel Staubbach
Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
SG
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel with a view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after checking out the reviews and photos of the room. We booked the superior double room for CHF$160. We got the view of the the waterfall but I was disappointed the interior of the room did not look like new as in booking.com. The room look a bit old and the pillow were too soft. We were given room no 5, on the 1st floor. The hotel has a small lift, not sure if a big wheel chair can get in. 2 persons with bags already filled up the lift,

Staffs were friendly and helpful with information. Hot breakfast is served from 7.30am, earlier you can get cereals.

Location is just about 10mins walk from the train station and COOP supermarket. Certain part there is a slope which may not be suitable for people with mobility problem.

If you are on a budget and not particular about conditions of room, than Staubbach is good for the location, friendly and helpful staffs, nice view room price considering Swiss Hotels is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    174
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
184
404
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great staff. great place. We stayed here for two nights and i feel it was one of the best hotels in Europe .
Thanks Angie (manager) for guiding us during our stay :-)


Regards
pranam

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in Lauterbrunnen during our 20th Anniversary tour of France & Switzerland last July and having been to Lauterbrunnen more than 20 years earlier, I remembered the village to be an idyllic Swiss village at the base of the Jungfrau. Well that hasn't changed one little bit. It is a chocolate box town which is so friendly and beautiful. We stayed at the Hotel Staubbach in a room with a view of the waterfall. It had a balcony where we sat with a bottle of wine and a simple antipasto plate we bought at a local deli and watched the tour buses arrive, the hypnotic view of the waterfall, the charming church in which the bell tolled gently every half an hour (not in an annoying way), parachutist gliding into the valley, and generally watching the world quietly go about its business in Lauterbrunnen.

The hotel was just charming and it was like taking a step back in time but with some mod-cons. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The suggestion to go up the Jungfrau early in the morning was a perfect suggestion as it takes a couple of hours to get up there and the crowds later in the day were even larger than the lot we had! We drove to Lauterbrunnen and we had no problems finding a parking spot right outside the hotel. The walk from the train station is easy enough and takes about 5-10 mins - well worth it though as the views from this hotel are stunning.

There were plenty of restaurants in very easy walking distance from the hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and simply furnished. There was a bath/shower so all bases covered there! The sink is in a separate part of the bathroom which was quite convenient. There was a small wardrobe to hang up any clothes and put excess baggage out of sight.

The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. It is typically Swiss fare and again the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I can highly recommend this hotel and Lauterbrunnen itself. A terrific place to visit which I hope to again & again!

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book a South facing balcony room. The views are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The building is older but nice, clean and with very great/friendly staffs.

If you can, try to get one of the rooms facing the waterfall, it's more expensive but well worth it. You'll get a fantastic view of the valley, mountain and waterfall.

The staff are very helpful with restaurant recommendations and very knowledgeable of the area and hiking trails.

The free breakfast is abundant and with a very good selection.
The kitchen staffs were very nice and friendly... my 15 months old daughter somehow managed to spill a glass of milk on the table and the staffs cleaned up and changed the cloth with no fuss whatsoever.

Furthermore, my wife left her diamond ring on our last day at the hotel.
The room service staffs found it and left it with the manager. She passed it to us when we picked up our luggages after our hiking trip.
We can't thank her and the staffs enough.

Will definitely be back at this hotel (and Lauterbrunnen) at our next trip to the Bernese Oberland area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in room 22 for 4 nights last October and would return in a second. We had a view from our balcony that is our favourite photo. A wonderful hotel with really friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful location.It was wonderful to hear the goat bells and the church bells throughout the day.. not quite so wonderful hearing them throughout the night..but a truly lovely way to enjoy your time in glorious Switzerland. Thank you to all staff for making our time so completely relaxing and helping us to make the most of every day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel was simple, but clean and charming. Great view of the valley and waterfall. Wonderful to hear the church bells chiming throughout the day. Conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, shops, train station. Would return in a second.

Room Tip: Remodeled rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Location was perfect for viewing one of the most beautiful waterfalls anywhere. Great view of falls from our room as well as the balcony off the breakfast room. Phenomenal view of the whole valley from the hotel. Very competitive rates made this the best value for our stay. Nice room. Very helpful Staff secured a wheelchair for our use during our stay. We were able to travel with the wheelchair by train and cable car up to the mountains. It had larger wheels that could traverse gravel trails of the relatively level Mannlichen Walk, which is not to be missed. Breakfast was included ans was spectacular.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room facing the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Staubbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.