We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding eating option in Lauterbrunnen.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli

Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli
Weid 406 | Camping Jungfrau, Lauterbrunnen 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
+41 33 856 20 10
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Typical Swiss Restaurant
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding eating option in Lauterbrunnen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had a little trouble finding the name of this restaurant. The Lauterbrunnen hotel reviews frequently refer to great food at Camping Jungfrau. Well, this is the restaurant in the Camping Jungfrau complex. After a cold walk from Hotel Staubbach, it was nice to get inside the Swiss chalet themed restaurant, which also has outdoor seating. The restaurant has a Swiss menu as well as more American-themed entrees. Very gracious hosts. The owner was our server. My wife had a ham and mushroom pizza, and I had a dish called alpermaccaroni, which is maccaroni with a white cheese sauce, ham chunks, potatoes and some other things with a side dish of apple sauce. It was great. I had orderd the child's portion because I didn't know for sure what it was. The child's portion is big enough for an adult. Together with a half pint of beer, our total bill was 29.20 francs. You can investigate the menu at www.camping-jungfrau.com.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was out first visit to Lauterbrunnen and after ready so many wonderful reviews on this restaurant - we headed straight there. We were not disappointed - it was excellant. Well worth the short walk from the train station. Loved the campsite also, and when we visit this area again I will be making reservations at the campsite. Wonderful atmosphere and great food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“The only place we ate in Lauterbrunnen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is our first visit to Lauterbrunnen, staying 3 nights at the Hotel Staubbach, and we ate every night at the Weidstubli. The food was reasonably priced and very good. It was always lively and full of both young and old people, locals and tourists. It seems to be a good meeting place for the Base Jumpers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best restaurant meals we had in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We ate here 3 times during our time in Lauterbrunnen and each time it was lovely. A few minutes easy and level walk from the main street past the Stubbach Falls on the Camping Jungfrau site. The service is very friendly (and English speaking) and the atmosphere of the restaurant very nice. You can sit outside with beautiful views up the valley to the mountains and they provide blankets to keep you warm on cooler evenings or you can sit inside where there is a cosy wood burner. Traditional Swiss wooden building and lots of candles in the evening makes a very pleasant sight. Highly recommend the bratwurst and the rosti. Very tasty and reasonable. We much preferred the food and atmosphere here to the much more expensive Hotel Oberland in town where we found the food overpriced and not as good. Definitely the place to eat whilst in Lauterbrunnen.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great Food! Reasonable Prices. Friendly Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We ate here two nights. It was great each night. They had good size portions and the costs were much more reasonable than the other places we ate at. The wait staff was very nice and friendly! (And they had free water!) We will eat here for all meals next time we are in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.