We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trummelbach Falls

Trummelbach Falls
3824 Stechelberg, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
0041 33 855 32 32
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Second visit and loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I had visited the falls 10 years earlier during a camping trip around Switzerland. Camping again in the Lauterbrunnen Valley, we thought we would like to visit the falls again. We were not disappointed.

We took the elevator up and then walked to the topmost falls. It can be slippery at places and caution has to be exercised but well worth the exertion. We took our time walking back down and stopping at the lookouts. We ended up by having a beer in the gardens below. It was a great outing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    158
    27
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Swiss Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The trip to Trummelbach Falls was an optional excursion on a recent tour of Switzerland. We are so glad we took the opportunity to visit this stunningly beautiful area. From the valley, water cascades over the sides of the mountains and the valley floor is lush and green. The walk to the falls is an easy meander from the car park - there is also a cafe there for refreshments and a souvenier hut. There are also lovely lawns by a stream where people were picnicing the children playing. Take your time, stop and enjoy the views. There are many steps but also a lift to the top levels. Wear supporting shoes/sandals with great grip as, once you enter the caves, the steps are wet and can be slippery. There are handrailings - use them. Some of the vantage points are small so can get crowded. You may need to take your patience with you but it will be worth it. Stop to look at the falls instead of trying to see as you walk lest you slip. The views from inside the falls, through windows/chasms in the cave, to the outside valley are beautiful. The Lauterbrunnen valley is gorgeous. Hope you enjoy your time there as much as we did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Went by motorbike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were staying in Grindelwald and travelled to the falls by motorbike. There was free parking for the bikes but nowhere to store gear so make sure you have empty panniers or good helmet locks. If you have motorbike boots make sure you have good grip on them as some of the steps can be slippery.
A good half day out but you need to be reasonably fit and able to walk it all. We took Euro's which was a mistake as we got charged more than the going rate to enter so ensure you have Swiss Francs. There is a coffee shop at the bottom serving sandwiches and cakes etc.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Water , Water and more Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great attraction , make sure you get there early. If you get there late morning or early afternoon beware coach parties. Arrive early and you can walk easily without having to worry about people trying to rush around. Wear good footware and step can get slippery if spray starts to blow. Falls are great , you can feel the cold icy water even on a hot day. If you go early you can combine with a trip up to Piz Gloria.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We did the falls, and it was amazing. Ten different water falls and 666 steps down to the bottom. The different spots that you see are amazing. You take the elevator up and then visit the differents sections on the way down. Watch your step, and stop to look rather than walking and still looking, you might miss a step. When finished walk back to Lauterbrauun, a great scenic walk.We had a hangglider land 50 ft. behind us as we walked back. A great scenic walk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trummelbach Falls also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Trummelbach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trummelbach Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.