We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rosti was great, and if you're brave enough, you can try horse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Schuetzen

Restaurant Schuetzen
Fuhren 439, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
+41 33 855 50 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Restaurants in Lauterbrunnen
Price range: $9 - $52
Cuisines: Japanese, Swiss, Pizza, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Schützen is a hotel and restaurant situated at the heart of the Bernese Oberland. It is not just the food that makes it a popular venue. The landscape of the Lauterbrunnen Valley - the so-called ?Valley of Waterfalls? - will take your breath away. The restaurant is situated at the foot of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau and visitors can enjoy a wide range of sporting activities and the splendours of the natural environment. The menu serves local and international dishes. There is a particularly good selection of fondues, röstis and raclettes. The railway station at Lauterbrunnen is only a 5 minute walk away and the bus stop is just in front of the building.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Rosti was great, and if you're brave enough, you can try horse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Service was friendly and attentive ( they offered to turn the heaters in outside when I looked cold). Wine was lovely, and the Rosti and bratwurst was yummy but very filling. Wouldn't hesitate to eat there again, and may even try the fillet of rose steak which I am very curious about.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Wasn't bad, but try somewhere else instead of wasting your money. I know its Switzerland where everything is more pricey, but in a valley where they have water flowing from every direction, you should not have to pay 5 francs for a liter of water to sit on your table. Food was fine - had the rosti w/ bacon and egg, but you can get the same combination of ingredients at Denny's in the US for 3.99. Minus the sprinkling of flower petals for the garnish. We sat in a corner table because it was pretty busy, and it was had to get the server to pay attention to us at all, and we're pretty low maintenance. Atmosphere is the best part, just because the atmosphere anywhere in the valley is great.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Manager at Restaurant Schuetzen, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy you stay in our restaurant and we are also sorry that you were here during we were very busy. On one hand it's a good sign for us on the other hand it can be busy and the waiters may not have the time they should have for chatting with our guests. We are sorry about that.
Unfortunately we cannot beat your US-Prices and we also cannot offer the water for free. Everything is costy - also for us! Much more expensive than in your country are the salaries in Switzerland. Serving, cleaning and all the other services which require manpower cost money in Switzerland. Our waiters also do a apprentice-ship of 3 years in Switzerland. Also this cost's money but it makes sure that you get quality of service. In your country apprentice-ships like this do not exist and it is very difficult for the staff-members in your country to learn the basics. Also different is that the salary is included in the prices of drinks & meals.
We are sorry that we were not able to inform you about those differences. You live in a great country! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Decent food. With Freindly and efficient service. Very pleasant meal

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner here on our last night. Serves lovely traditional food at a reasonable price. Can't beat sitting outside in such a lovely area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The food was quite good, although very, very expensive for what we had (pizzas, fondue, etc) and for a family with kids. Not too many options if you are on a budget.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schuetzen also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Schuetzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Schuetzen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.