We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oberland Restaurant

Hotel Oberland Restaurant
3822 Lauterbrunnen, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
+41 (0) 33 855 12 41
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The hotel Oberland's restaurant is located in the centre of the village just an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. We are open daily from 11.30 am to the evening. Our menu has everything from soups, snacks and salads, pizzas, pasta, meat and fish dishes and of course traditional Swiss dishes of fondues and röstis. Our extensive desert menu has something for everyone from a small ice cream to our special chocolate cake. Relax in our garden with a cooling drink in summer or in our restaurant with a hot chocolate in winter. Free parking is available and a bus stop a few meters away.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The menu had all the popular Swiss items and priced just like elsewhere in Switzerland. Pizza starts at about 17CHF and fondue costs about 22CHF pp to give an idea. The service was excellent. They were very accommodating to requests. What I loved most was the amount of vegetarian items on the menu that I was spoiled for choice which is rare when I travel in Europe! They have vegan and gluten free items too. If you are planning on having dinner, make sure you reserve a table. A good place to have dinner at least once if you are in the area and even if you aren't staying here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    126
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved their Black Forest Cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was fun to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful surroundings while eating a piece of their delicious Black Forest Cake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy my staying @ Oberland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

the most highlight here is that the food in restaurant is very yummy!make sure you book ur table if you want to eat around 7pm. strongly recok cesar salad and grill pork sausage... =)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Two lovely meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ate here twice while in Lauterbrunnen and had wonderful meals both times! The rosti, a Swiss classic, is very highly recommended. Incredibly flavorful. We washed it down with Swiss lager and the best apple strudel I've ever had. We had the fondue for our second meal, which was also wonderful. We ate outdoors both times, on the charming patio at the front. The service was great. Would love to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely meal - proper swiss fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We sat outside for our evening meal. Both of us had Rosti which was gorgeous, but we were spoilt for choice! The fondu also looked and smelt delicious ! Staff are friendly and the service excellent
There is a really nice seating area to the side of the hotel/restaurant which is covered and has fur over the seats. ideal for pre dinner drinks. Two soft drinks and two rosti worked out to be around £35, which is comparable to other restaurants in the area. Would recommend you eat here one night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Oberland Restaurant also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Oberland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oberland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.