We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in an amazing location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oberland Restaurant

Hotel Oberland Restaurant
3822 Lauterbrunnen, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
+41 (0) 33 855 12 41
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The hotel Oberland's restaurant is located in the centre of the village just an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. We are open daily from 11.30 am to the evening. Our menu has everything from soups, snacks and salads, pizzas, pasta, meat and fish dishes and of course traditional Swiss dishes of fondues and röstis. Our extensive desert menu has something for everyone from a small ice cream to our special chocolate cake. Relax in our garden with a cooling drink in summer or in our restaurant with a hot chocolate in winter. Free parking is available and a bus stop a few meters away.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food in an amazing location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our meal at Hotel Oberland. It was fresh, delicious, local food with flair. Yes, you can get the usual Swiss Fondue and Rosti which is always delicious, but we were after something different. I had the lamb with asparagus. I don't often take photos of my meals, but was inspired to do so here. It was a warm enough evening in May to sit outside on the terrace, so we were lucky enough to enjoy the beautiful views of the sun setting over the Lauterbrunnen Valley. The waitress was lovely and bonded with our 2 year old, making sure he was entertained with paper and pens. We really enjoyed our evening and would have returned to eat here again, but unfortunately it was our last night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    112
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here one night for dinner. I'd highly recommend a reservation as its quit small and they seemed to have every table booked. The restaurant had a lot of variety on the menu my husband got the chicken curry which the chicken was great quality and I thought was delish. I got a gluten free pizza which in the states I would have said was small for the price but in switZerland it was right on with price and the quality was still great. My hubby tried the chocolate cake which they claim is a secret recipe and he enjoyed it. For two dinners, two glasses of wine and the chocolate cake with a scoop of ice cream it was 65 Swiss Franks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Lauterbrunnen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been eating at the Hotel Oberland for years. My Husband loves the Rosti and I am a big fan of the pasta. The service is amazing! You can get local swiss dishes as well as pizza, pasta and curries. I recommend the Apple strudel to finish off the meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty rösti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Dinner was really nice...I have tried the oberland rösti and it was really good.
The staff is really nice and helpful and they all speak english and indulged me with big smiles whenever I have tried to speak german.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent service and a great view of several villages up above (but only if you sit outside). Tasty fondue:)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Oberland Restaurant also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Oberland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oberland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.