We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view and wonderful hotel - I'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Crystal to your Saves list
Hotel Crystal
Dorf, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb view and wonderful hotel - I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! My favourite one ever!

The view from the balcony is absolutely stunning. The view even from the toilet seat was better than almost everywhere else I have stayed (looking up towards Wengen).

The size of our room? It was enormous - had a table and another small bed in the corner as well as two singles. There was plenty more space and a large balcony which was on the "main road" (a little old man with sheep went down it one afternoon - although local buses do go past - and can take you to the Trummelbach falls which are amazing - and the bus stop is right outside the hotel). The bathroom was modern and very spacious too - with a hair dryer if you needed it and shampoo/body soap dispensers.

It is situated above a Sports Shop - but you never get any noise from it.

It has recently been taken over by the hotel Oberland opposite and this is where you have your breakfast. Usual continental breakfast - good honest food. But the lunch and evening meals are great here - we liked them so much we took ALL of our meals here. Ok so they are not cheap but this is Switzerland and you'll pay an arm and a leg to eat ANYWHERE.

All of the staff - especially the female manager - were lovely.

I'm sorry but I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. I cannot wait to return one day. My only regret is that I only booked here for two nights rather than two weeks... or the rest of my life!

Room Tip: There's no need - they are all fantastic... but try and get one with a view of the waterfall if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This lovely, modern hotel was nicely furnished and well equipped. The Lauterbrunnen Valley was truly spectacular and a great base for the numerous walks and train trips in the Jungfrau region. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would certainly stay here again if lucky enough to return to the area. Only problem was we couldn't pick up the wifi in the room, but there was a comfortable sitting room downstairs where we could access it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Apparently, the owners of Hotel Oberland have taken over the administration of the rooms at the Crystal.

The Crystal lies above a sporting goods shop, has a small elevator and modern, spacious rooms. If you are a family of up to 5, you can easily fit into one of the rooms here.

We had room number 20 at the top of the building and with a balcony facing out onto the main street with a view down the valley and to Staubachfalle which is lit during the evening.

Lauterbrunnen is a pretty typical Swiss village that quiets down around 22:00 and the windows have special blinds that block out some sound and lots of light, so you don't get woken up by the light in the early morning.

The views from the balcony are unbeatable! The train station is a quick walk away. The bus stop to Interlaken is right outside the hotel and just across the street on the way to the end of the valley.

The room had plenty of space and was very clean. We only stayed one night, so can't comment on the daily cleanings, but I suspect they are very good.

If you want to eat at the Oberland, make sure to reserve a table. The restaurant was packed, inside and outside.

Marianne

Room Tip: Best is a room out toward the main street and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011 via mobile

What a great hotel! Smack in the middle of town, large and spacious room with everything we needed and the view from our window must have been one of the best in town. Mark and Ursula are great hosts and operate the Hotel Oberland across the street as well (which incidentally is the best stop in town for meals).

This Hotel would have to be one of the best in town for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable room in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Crystal for 4 nights. It is centrally located on the main street in Lauterbrunnen only 5 minutes from the train station, and very close to the Oberland Hotel which has a fantastic restaurant.

We were given a very spacious twin room with a private balcony overlooking the valley. The room also has tea and coffee facilities, a tv, a small fridge, and a basic bathroom. It took us a few minutes to discover the roll down blinds on the windows and initially thought there were only sheer curtains - look for the metal poles hanging inside by the windows, bend the poles in two places and you are then able to roll the blinds up and down.

Internet is very reasonably priced at 5 CHF for the whole stay. Breakfast is basic but yummy, with cheese, meat, bread, lovely croissants, jam, yoghurt and juice. The hot chocolate is fantastic. I can also highly recommend the hot chocolate with whipped cream at the internet cafe down the road!

There was only one incident that was a bit negative. Initially the service was wonderful, and the owner very nicely let us use her laptop and hotel printer to book train tickets. We were so appreciative of her kindness. However, we had an unfortunate incident with her a few days later. The breakfast room has an incredible view down the valley to the mountains and waterfalls, but there is only one table that is against the wall and has no view. After being seated at this table twice in a row we politely requested a table with a view the next morning, so we could enjoy it while we were ate. We were given a better table the next day, but the owner also made a sarcastic comment about how we didn't really need a view for the 'half an hour we'd be eating breakfast', and people who stayed longer expected to get the same good tables every morning. This was the only negative and wouldn't stop me from recommending the hotel, but it was a shame.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Crystal. Our room was very spacious and had an excellent view from the balcony. The owners were very attentive and responsive to questions we had or requests (for hairdryer, extra key, etc.) The breakfast was excellent too - the owners remembered individual preferences the next day which was a nice touch. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel isn't luxurious but is very good value for money. The room was huge (lots of space for a stroller and other baby gear). We were able to use the extra twin bed for a changetable (the hosts thoughtfully put a towel down for us). There is plenty of space to hang clothes for a longer holiday and a nice, empty fridge to keep drinks (or baby food) cool. The hotel was nice and quiet as well. The bathroom was huge and the real bonus was a lovely balcony with chairs and a small table to sit on. Breakfasts were typically Swiss - assorted breads, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurt, etc. and the hosts remembered your hot drink selection for the next day so they could ask you if, for example, you wanted hot chocolate again.

A real bonus for us was the high speed wireless internet for only CHF 5 for the entire stay. A baby cot was also available for CHF 10 per night.

This hotel isn't luxurious but good, clean and simple Swiss fare and makes a great base for seeing the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: Dorf, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Annexe, is just 30m from the Hotel Oberland and has 5 spacious and modern twin/double rooms each with 1-2 extra beds, and all with a bathroom with shower or bath and WC, TV, small fridge and free WIFI. Three of the rooms have balconies with lovely views. The Crystal Annexe has a lift and is wheelchair accessible, a sitting area, sun terrace and free parking spaces. There is a sports shop on the ground floor with ski rental. A hearty breakfast is served between 7.30 – 10am in Hotel Oberland on the opposite side of the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.