We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in beautiful Lauterbrunnen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Horner to your Saves list
Hotel Horner
Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment in beautiful Lauterbrunnen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very disappointed in Chalet Horner. Very worn and dated for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We didn't stay here but after discovering this pub we ate here 3 nights in a row. Their so called "snacks" are huge cooked meals, very delicious and soooo cheap. We loved the cosy atmosphere and friendly staff especially the lovely Stefi who is always smiling. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family spent a week in Lauterbrunnen staying in Horner apartments 3 and 4 in the building across the pub. The rooms were clean and spacious and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed to cook our meals. Laundry (coin operated) in the building. Everything works. Picture perfect views of the valley and the town from all windows (bathroom too!). Very reasonable prices for the apartments - especially a good deal for larger groups, and also the pub seemed to be cheaper than other places around the town. Special thanks for Angie and her stuff - helpful, easy to deal with, informal and cordial. Will definitely stay here again if (when?) we are back to this beautiful valley.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the top apartment which was big and fully furnished. Everything works here. Inspite of so many gadgets in the apartment, we did not have problems with any oft them. The view from all sides is just awesome. We cooked our dinner at the kitchen and saved lot of money beside having home food. I have yet to find such energetic woman as Angie. She was helpful proactive and dropped us at the station carrying most of the heavy luggages to the car. Lauterbrunnen is the place to stay in Switzerland for its quite surroundings and most of the beautiful tourist places near by. Walking around Laterbrunnen is also worth the time spent. The Staumbach falls which you can see from the balcony adds life to the whole place. The half hour walk to the Tummelbach falls by the stream was also very ncie. Its highly recommended place to stay in Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Top apartment is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was a comfortable place to stay with a superb view of the wonderful valley and waterfalls. Teresa was very helpful and we really appreciated the Lindt chocolates and other goodies she left for us. Very convenient to the station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This was our second time in Lauterbrunnen and we were lucky enough to get a great apartment at a great price just across from the Horner Pub. The Apartment (#3) was clean and spacious, kitchen was very modern. The bathroom was a little tight but had the best view I have ever seen from a toilet. Some of the guests are groups of BASE jumpers which can be a bit noisy at times, but overall we loved our stay and our little piece of Swiss life. Amazing views from every window and an easy walk to anything in town (the town is so small everything is walkable). Horner Pub and Bar is the only thing going at night so its great to be stubmling distance from it. We will be back and we will stay here again. I miss the beautiful valley and it's lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Great location to shoot locations, base jump, ride, whatever! Great little pub, wonderful innkeeper and unbeatable way to feel like your really living in the Alps! The housing units re the way to go with kitchen, HOT water and great views!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horner

Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Horner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horner Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Horner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.