We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Im Rohr

Chalet Im Rohr
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Im Rohr
Save
You added Chalet Im Rohr to your Saves list
Lauterbrunnen 3822 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Elsbeth was such a welcoming hostess! The house has been in her husband's family for hundreds of years. It is almost 400 years old, so of course it has rustic charm. We were so fortunate to have a wonderful room on the second floor with a balcony over looking the falls.
The bathroom was down the hall, and shared, but very clean. The room was comfortable, not luxurious. It had a bed with side tables, a table and chairs and a sink - which was nice. Do bring earplugs because the church bells ring every 15 minutes just across the street.
The shared kitchen and dining hall was fine even though there was a large group using it at the same time. Unfortunately it was the time of the summer when the cows are brought down from the Alps through the town so there were many flies - but that's nature for you!
The price was great! There was wifi in the office. And Elsbeth sweetened it all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The inn is located next to the waterfall. We can see the beautiful scenery in the balcony. The staff is very nice. The inn is a traditional wood house. The shower and toilet are not inside room but it is clean. The view from our room is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Chalet im Rohr, the first being in 1995. We again choose this hotel as its affordable. All other hotels are SOOOOO expensive. I would describe this hotel as rustic. The floors creak, the mattress is a bit soft and showers and toilets are shared, but it's a great location at a great price. Each room has its own basin and table and chairs and is quite spacious, and the quilts keep you cosy warm overnight. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets on each floor and we never had to wait for either during our 3 nights there in June 2012. The owner Elspeth and her husband are welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a sensational view of Staubbach Falls, and there is a verandah to sit on in the evenings to enjoy a well deserved refreshing beverage (brandies and red wine were our choice, but not mixed together of course). Only word of warning is to pack earplugs, as the hotel is right next to a gorgeous church, and the bell in the church sounds every quarter Hour and on the hour. An earplug and a full day up the mountain cuts out the sound. I'd highly recommend chalet im rohr as for the price you can then afford to eat out, although a kitchen is available for guests to use.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. I wish I had stayed longer. The owners were really nice and helpful. The views from the balcony were breathtaking! The rooms were very clean, and it was in a great location. 5 mins from the train station. We rode our bikes and im so glad we did. You get to see, feel, and be a part of the stunning landscape around you. It really is a beautiful place! I wouldnt hesitate to go back. Great place for base jumpers, though personally, I think they are crazy!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place is also called Gausthaus Im Rohr. It is very cheap compared to the hotels in town, but is more like a hostel than a hotel, so if you are expecting a hotel, this is not the place to stay. Rooms/furniture/carpet/lino are old, but clean, and it is nice staying in a swiss chalet rather than a hotel block building. Shared bathrooms have plenty of hot water and power, and are clean. There is a common kitchen (stove, oven, fridge - no microwave or freezer), which we (and everyone else) made use of while we were there as it is so much cheaper to cook your own dinner than to eat out in the village. Lots of pots and crockery, and kitchen is clean.

Many base jumpers staying at the chalet during our 6 nights there, there is a room downstairs where we saw them prepping their gear in the evenings.

It is about a 8-minute walk from the train station to the guesthouse, past many of the hotels. No AC, so if you are going in summer it might be better to have a room without a balcony (!!) if you are paranoid about otherwise leaving your windows open at night. It is also next to the church and the church bells chime every quarter hour.

We enjoyed our time there and would stay there again if going back to Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies I think. We stayed in Room 33 (has a shared balcony), opposite it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Fantastic location with amazing huge waterfall view!!! Great deal for the price. Rooms are decorated in local Swiss style, very cozy. Showers and toilets located outside a room but there was a small sink and a mirror inside the room. This is a great place to stay for both couples and larger groups. Rooms have balconies with breathtaking waterfall view.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Im Rohr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Im Rohr

Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Chalet Im Rohr Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Im Rohr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.