We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly convenient location, clean hotel with great views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Steinbock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Steinbock to your Saves list
Hotel Steinbock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 3822, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Superbly convenient location, clean hotel with great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very convenient location, supermarket downstairs, close to the train station and cable cars to Murren. Yet so quiet. Noise from the train station is not a problem at all as the frequency of trains reduces significantly after 7:00PM. The superior rooms are in a newer building, about 50m away from the advertised building. That turned out to be even better as it was closer to the train station. The room was simple, but very clean and comfortable. Internet could easily be accessed from the room. The attached bathroom was also of decent size and very clean. Our hotel room and balcony looked directly out into the mountains. The view was beautiful. We were so happy that we could see the beautiful cows in the meadows from the room. Breakfast was delicious with good breads, croissants, cheeses, meats, jams, nutella, honey, juices, fruits, eggs, tea, coffee and milk. Overall, a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The location and dining area, esp. outside was really nice. The indoor areas would have been worn but nice, but the cigarette smoke and its smell was too overwhelming. Food was good. Our room had a fabulous view and a small porch, but otherwise was more like a spacious hostel, everything was threadbare. It seemed like a nice hotel about 20 yrs past its "remodel by" date.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauterbrunnen hotels

Marietta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Very near the train station in Lauterbrunnen. Great dining room overlooking the valley through large windows. Rooms are very comfortable and the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We arrived at the trainstation in Lauterbrunnen and found out that the Hostels were full and that the next best price would be at the Steinbock, right next to the train station. We got a great room and was amazingly surprised that even though we were the room next to the train rail (never used past 7pm or before ?), it was extremly quiet. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, while speaking good English. We ate dinner there and thought it was a pretty good meal as well. There was no internet, but you are up in the mountains of Lauterbrunnen and should not need. We received a free breakfest with our room, and although it was in typical Switerland and EU style, the amount was huge and selection was endless. Good place to save in Lauterbrunnen, if you are looking at 2-3 star hotels.

  • Liked — Good size breakfest!
  • Disliked — No internet possibilities
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steinbock

Address: Bahnhofplatz 3822, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Steinbock 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steinbock Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Steinbock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.