We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Tatrasport Zampa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vysoke Tatry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Tatrasport Zampa
Save
You added Pension Tatrasport Zampa to your Saves list
Vysoke Tatry, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Vysoke Tatry B&B and Inns
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Pension Tatrasport Zampa for 8 nights and it was nothing short of superb; I had read many positive reviews before booking and yet still it managed to exceed all expectations.

The location is excellent, just a short walk to all transport links (including the mountain railway) with the supermarket practically on the doorstep (but tucked out of the way). The rooms are modern and spacious and were kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The attached restaurant was far better than we could've hoped for - usually on holiday it's our mission to go off exploring for good food, but at Tatrasport Zampa there really was no need. Every meal we took there was excellent (including breakfast) and there was plenty of variety in the menu to keep us interested over many nights.

But what makes this place really special - a cut above the rest - is the staff. Throughout our stay we were looked after (unobtrusively) at a level appropriate to us. We made plans ourselves before we went, but these were enhanced with insights and tips that made each day pretty much perfect. It was great to have these little chats with someone who just genuinely wanted to make sure we had the best holiday we could - it really made all the difference.

A special mention also to the restaurant staff, who were utterly charming, a pleasure to deal with and very generous in putting up with my limited attempts to try a bit of local language. It's fair to say they all speak far better English than I speak Slovak! :)

During our 8 night stay there wasn't a single negative experience at the hotel, not even the most minor thing. The place is simply run by great people doing an exceptionally good job, and all with minimal fuss. Add in the wonderful location and this just becomes the perfect accommodation. If I get the chance to go back to this beautiful region I will absolutely without question return to Tatrasport Zampa.

Room Tip: The 'standard' rooms are excellent, really spacious. If you want a 'superior' room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed there early may 2012 and it was just amazing. The room was very clean and spacious with beautiful views of the mountains. The girl at the reception was very helpful and friendly. She provided us with information about the different walks we could do on the short amount of time we had in the mountains. She also helped us with train schedules for our return to Budapest. On the day we were leaving, she even let us keep the room until about 4 pm so we could take a shower and change before we had to leave. We wish we could have stayed there a little longer! If we ever get the chance to go back to the beautiful Tatras mountains, we will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Throughout the duration of the stay we were all more than satisfied. The staff was very friendly and willing to advise you where to go for a walk, on a trip, etc. The room is spacious, modern, tastefully furnished.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you are looking into visiting Vysoke Tatry, don't hesitate anymore and book this one. Perfect staff, modern place, easy to find, great food. I can not emphasize enough how satisfied we were, but it was our 4th visit here and I think that says it all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I was very pleased with my experience with this pension from the very start. Martina was very responsive to emails and everything was perfect upon my arrival.

location was excellent, across the street from the bus stop and a very short walk from the train station. Stary Smokovec was well connected to local transport, both bus and rail. There are regular buses from Poland that go all the way to Poprad as well as the Slovak buses. Service to Poprad is quick, especially helpful when you have to catch an early train.

The pension itself is very new and was designed very nicely. I had a deluxe room, a large double bed with balcony and sitting area. flat screen tv. furnishing was more modern but worked nicely with the surroundings- was aesthetically pleasing and very comfortable. Plenty of closet space was available. The bed was large and very comfortable. the pillows were a bit too soft for my taste but no big deal.

the bathroom was excellent..modern and of a design like an expensive hotel.

Martina would greet each guest and was a wonderful host. She helped suggest good hiking routes and was most helpful with train and bus schedules. All hotel staff was very nice and very responsive to requests. staff made an excellent pension even better.

the restaurant had a nice view, good food at more than reasonable prices.

wired internet was available in the room and wireless was only in the ground floor where the reception and restaurant were.

The pension was an excellent value for the money. I loved the design of the room- it was spotlessly clean, well lit and comfortable. everything worked perfectly. Breakfast was very nice, you chose from the menu. On the day I left a to go breakfast was prepared for me and i was surprised by how generous it was. I recommend this pension without reservation and would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: I very much enjoyed the balcony and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in Pension Tatrasport Zampa very much, the quality of the accommodation is superb - equivalent to a 4 star hotel - and the staff very welcoming and helpful with tips about the area. The pension has a good restaurant/cafe' and provides bykes rental. The location is only 2 minutes walk from the bus station and 5 minutes from the train station and from the tram taking you to Hrabienok from where many mountain trails start. Stary Smokovec is a a very pleasant resort (the best in the Tatra mountains in my opinion as it's got more charm than the more modern and built up neighbouring resorts) and an ideal base for many hikes in the area or indeed day trips by train or buses in the Tatra region as it's very well linked by public transport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Although Tatrasport Zampa is classified as „penzion“ or bed&breakfast (since it has only 10 rooms), it is a modern facility fully comparable to four star design hotels, with very friendly and attentive staff ready to help you or to give you advice, spacious rooms made of quality materials with modern design. Even the cheapest room provided enough space, sitting area with table, flat screen TV and very nice bathroom of style that you usually find only in design hotels. Free parking, internet and complimentary bottle of water in the room are also worth mentioning. Location of Tatrasport Zampa is excellent as well – in a quiet area, but still within the major and central settlement of the High Tatras, Stary Smokovec, which is the best base to explore the mountains, with funicular that takes you to Hrebienok – starting point to many walks and hikes. Stary Smokovec has superb rail and road connection to Poprad, major city in the valley and also to other settlements in Tatra area. Tatrasport Zampa has own café, restaurant, sport shop, ski and bike rental (guests get discount), but you can choose from many other restaurants (e.g. excellent pizzeria Montanara nearby, also worth mentioning are jazz evenings in Café Hoepfner near the railway station), shops within walking distance. My experience with Tatrasport Zampa was really the best, and the price was very reasonable compared to quality it offered. I’ve been to many other hotels in the area in the past, and this is my best experience so far, and really an impressive one. Tatrasport Zampa sets new level for hospitality in Tatra region.

Room Tip: no fridge in economy room; otherwise excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vysoke Tatry
0.0 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
0.0 mi away
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
#1 of 2 in Stary Smokovec
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#5 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Dr. Szontagh
Villa Dr. Szontagh
#6 of 14 in Poprad
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Tatrasport Zampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Tatrasport Zampa

Address: Vysoke Tatry, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Vysoke Tatry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Vysoke Tatry
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pension Tatrasport Zampa Slovakia/Vysoke Tatry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Tatrasport Zampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.