We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Mares to your Saves list
Residencial Mares
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Jose Pires Padinha, 134/140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Tavira
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed a week in a room with balcony overlooking the river - lovely view at any time of day. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms appear a bit dated, but in keeping with the local style. Shops, cafes, restaurants, market, and ferry to the beach all within minutes walk. We had read reports that the breakfasts were not too good but had no complaints ourselves.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view overlooking the river. Room 100 has a 2 balconies with this view - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
17
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in Portugal. We were very happy with the service we received and the area that the hotel was in, being close enough to the town centre but just outside so to escape the hustle and bustle. The rooms are fairly basic but had wifi and air conditioning (both admittedly not great) at no extra cost. Breakfast was adequate but at a reasonable price. There is a decent selection of restaurants in the town, just a 2 minute walk away. The staff were also very helpful when organising airport transfer to Faro. A great location and highly recommended for a short break.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were pleased with our recent five night stay at the Residencial Mares. Clean and comfortable room and a great location.The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful and you can enjoy it outside at a shaded table. This hotel is walking distance from the rail station and steps away from the beach ferry. Tavira is a charming town and we were really happy with our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed the river view from our terrace. The hotel itself is somewhat charming. Breakfast was good and eating outdoors or in with a river view is nice. Rooms were dated and a bit shabby, though, and could have used a freshening up. Restaurant was reasonably good. Staff were helpful and friendly and spoke English. Not a far walk from the bus station, if you're taking public transit. Very close to the water taxi that takes you to the beaches. Restaurants all around you of varying quality. A good base for walking around this small city.

Room Tip: There is no lift and lots of steep stairs. Be aware of this if you travel with heavy bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first 2 nights in the Algarve. Parking the car in front of the hotel will cost you €4,- per day(free parking 350 meters away but we liked the idea that we could keep a look out for it). Friendly reception. great shower, ok beds, reasonably clean. small fridge in the room, very handy to keep your beers cold for your visit to the beach. the boat to the beach island departs right in front of the hotel, in 15 minutes your there. if you like a little more peace, walk a little further down the beach and you've got all the space you need. :-)
The restaurant downstairs (same name as the hotel...) is a classic tourist trap, with super annoying "sales-men" walking the streets trying to lure you in. heavily over priced, crap service, less than average food. there is a gem of a restaurant on the other side of the river... see my review.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 210, a few rooms on the second floor have a balcony overlooking the harbor. quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A well located traditional guest house, on the river side in this lovely Algarve town. Quite a charming building (although the charm extends to a lack of a lift/elevator!), with communal spaces inside and up on the rooftop - we had a balcony too. The location is great, with a lot of parking over the road. The restaurant underneath appeared a tourist trap, although they provided hotel's the inclusive breakfast in the morning. I don't think I'd choose it in the evening unless desperate however!

The lady on the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and was happy to knock a small amount off her room rate with a bit of polite bargaining.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a cycling trip through the Algarve. Arrived in Tavira exhausted from a long day and were welcomed by desk manager. She had limited English, but was helpful with stowing our bikes, and providing water ( at a charge). The hotel has NO elevator; normally this would not be an issue, but we had lots of gear and bags and had ridden 50 miles that day! Our rooms were on the third floor reached by a winding staircase. Two sturdy men nearly collapsed after that climb...so be forewarned oh ye of the heavy suitcase! There is no in-room WiFi, although we were told there was. We had to use the WiFi next door in the super friendly sports bar...slightly inconvenient since we needed WiFi for trip related items as well as business. The signal was there, but very weak and intermittent.
The room was fine with a nice balcony overlooking the river. Locally made tiles were used on the floor and in the bathroom-- nice touch. Clean and comfortable, but our air conditioning did not seem to work. Breakfast was adequate with cold ham and cheeses and breads, hard-boiled eggs and some fruit. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. ( It was strangely empty and we wondered why: possibly because the prices were quite high by comparison with other local eateries). We did not have cars, so cannot address parking, but we arrived over the main bridge by bike and rode right up to the hotel, so I think access by car must be easy. Overall, a positive experience, but not in any way luxurious. There is a roof top terrace for sunning. Good value for price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha, 134/140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.